The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

I think @briantinnion is feeling a bit broody today

Firstly congrats on the circa. 4 likes I gave you as I caught up on this thread and secondly congrats on the new arrival.

Unfortunately fatherhood still looks like a fucking nightmare to me and despite my advancing age I have no plans to take the plunge any time soon.

Youā€™d need the use of a womb as well anyway if you had a mind to.

@TreatyStones

Is the new baby home yet? Are you getting some quality ā€˜Runtyā€™ time these days with herself in hospital?

I expected some updates on other fathers you may have befriended during the past few days, some photos of dodgy shoes even?

The maternity is a conveyor belt. All was good so we were all home again on Tuesday. Less than 48 hours in there. Had zero interaction with any other fathers.

Herself is taking very well to the new arrival in fairness to her. Although she has fired a few teddies into the cot for him to play with .

No fear of anyone playing with your fanny anytime soon Iā€™d say.

Sent the wife off into town for a bit of shopping while I looked after the two little ones. Was in supreme control , got to watch most of the football and had a roast lamb dinner ready for when she got home.

Iā€™ve given that a ā€œlikeā€. Not only great parenting but an example of being a brilliant partner/husband too. Well done, mate.

Did we sneak in a couple of cans as well?

Iā€™ve been told I should see if "any of the lads are around for a few pints " :clap:

She either wants something or has done something. Like the Greeks, be wary of wives bearing gifts

Living the dream. God bless Tipperary.

Tell her youā€™d be happy out chatting to your internet friends with a can of beer

Happy to send that into nice post land.

Just back from a nice swim in seapoint with madame. Sheā€™s getting much better at swimming, she wanted to swim over to howth in her ring, but I managed to talk her out of it :smiley:

Myself and @fran are on the way

@TreatyStones , @Mac thinks yourā€™'e buying him pints.

dont leave it too late is my advice tho if u intend giving it a shot some day by accident
i look at fellas my age (35) now , some of them have kids who are 12, by the time heā€™s 42 43 that kidā€™ll be in college, my fella will be in schoolā€¦ when i was 25 i was there. jesus imagine have a child at that ageā€¦ now i see the advantages as the cunt of a child will be on his own then and ure done.
jesus ud be knackered there like, dunno if id like to be up at 4am in my late 40s with vomit on sheets ( a 2 year olds , not my wifes ) and having to go work at 8
i think there is a cliff thoā€¦ mid to late 30s to me is make or break time, u defintly are more responsible i feel at this age, plus it puts a lot of stuff in perspective like just having a job is enough, work is not a source of stress either, its a breakā€¦
had a mental weekend, yesterday we were running around a field at half 8 in the morning, playground then, managed to get him home to sleep for an 2 hours at 12 ( great for a bit of lunch ourselves) . the went off down to dun laoire, in between him almost jumping off the pier a great day was had in the park chasing pigeons , dogs and eating food in the sun, fking brilliant fun tho, missed all the GAA but fk it, in a few years we; ll go in together
. at half 9 last night i had 2 cans of lech, read saturdays indo ( that was my weekend), ill save the sunday game for tonight
ah shur its great craicā€¦ but ud be worn out

Iā€™d have a mental breakdown if I was to be going through this stage in my forties. 35 now and just about able for battle with two toddlers.

I was 38 last week and I have 3 girls under the age of 5. If you told me I had to take on this battle again at 43 or 44 Iā€™d weep openly in front of you all.