The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

Read the edit chiefšŸ˜‰

So youā€™re telling me she broke the promise? Women. Cannot be trusted.

jesus i dunno kev
there was a fella who did that at home in 2010, ok he was suffering from depression but definitely not controlling per se, also we had the same thing last christmas where a man killed his wife and daughter and then himself, mental stuff, stabbed them 3 days after christmas, he was also seriously depressed
id never have thought either of these men would have done such a thing but they were clearly very ill.

for random killings, like fellas killing their parents, Brendan Patrick O Donnell stuff, this usually seems to be paranoid schizophrenics, but im led to be believe very few paranoid schizphrenics ever marry, and there are too many cases where men in the 20s- 40s have murdered those closest to them, ie their elderly parents as a result of this illness

yeah
our breaking point was when one night after a huge row, i was so sick of it i just slept on the couch by choiceā€¦ we never recovered from that i think
christ, she was utterly humiliated, a mess lads

Well technically she didnā€™t. Weā€™ve always laid down together. I just tend to snore after a few pints.
I think in fairness the only time she did break it was the night of the 2013 Munster final. I got back home about 8 and headed straight for the pub. Got a text about an hour pr later telling me that the spare room was ready. In her defence I had the Monday off and she had given the planning permission. Plus it wasnā€™t a pretty sight the Monday morning

Oh donā€™t get me wrong chief. Thereā€™s been more then one occasion where Iā€™ve gritted my teeth getting into bed.

Iā€™ve already secured planning permission that in the unlikely scenario where Limerick do get to the holy grail at senior level, I have a weeks pass.

I negotiated similar before the 2012 and 2015 finals. :sweat:

Just make sure that shots carry.

Remember that oneā€¦not that they are all " memorable", but the photos chilled me.

I donā€™t think its one oarticular way thpugh. There are a few obvious ariations it seems.

Anecdotally cops seem to think its a bit more common than we would like to think.

oh it was mental
she utterly fell apart, all the honour was gone you know, ud be there putting up with the grief for years , making excuses, apologies, etc
there was a fella up the road from us and my ma often said that one day " heā€™d head for the hills"ā€¦ its some feeling of resignation , that was my moment, but christ you can leave some trail of destruction in your wake

Do you still love her?

He hasnā€™t even left her yet @harry ffs sake. Keep your mickey in your pants.

My mickey is taken.

Is this a cultural thing with your wifeā€™s background? I imagine most of them (women) would get over that pretty quick.

Does she go weeks without talking to you?

Thereā€™s an awful lot of shite advise given on how to maintain a relationship through thick and thin. The one that really gets my goat is ā€œstop before you say something you might regret, take a deep breath, donā€™t say the first thing that comes into your headā€ horseshit. Iā€™m not advocating a lifetime of shouting and roaring, but there are some occasions when it is just best to let the abuse fly, as long as you are prepared and able for the return of serve. A good clear the air, no holds barred, swear riddled row does wonders for a healthy relationship. ā€œBetter out than inā€ is the best possible marital advise, preferably followed by a bit of sizzling in an out (not the burger chain).

That tactic wouldnā€™t work out well with all the one armed waiters around here.

Spot on. The irish way of bottling it up andkeepung a lid on it is destructive. If its out in the open and ye can then get iver it and on with it i would argue it.makes you stronger. If ye Cnā€™t then ye are not suited. And as long as there is a bit of maturity from the adults kids will always be better off with happy single parents than hateful together parents.