The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

Is the teacher aware of the issue?

Ah she probably is, my wife would be very proactive, but thereā€™s 31 in the class so Iā€™m sure itā€™s no joke and itā€™s only a small thing in the grand scheme. Like i said today was a breeze for her, sheā€™s fierce bright, my eldest two are brilliant at school and sheā€™s more advanced than them for her age, she went to a brilliant montessori school.

do they have a teachers assistant? they should be all over it

I have a similar situation and fears

Ah sheā€™ll be grand.

I would make sure the teacher knows the score. It definitely helped with our. The speech therapist actually gave us some literature to give to the teacher with some simple guidelines on it.

Anyway it sounds like she will be fine.

Is there too much worry about kids lads?
Parents seem way too over protective these days.

There is a name for everything now, some issues needed highlighting, others seem like people just want special treatment for their little darlings.

Not talking about anyone here. But for instance some psychiatrists are now rejecting alot of the mental illnesses that have been made up in last 30 years.

Thoughts?

This has since been followed by, in no particular order,

Talcum powder, olive oil, shampoo, vasaline, toothpaste, porridge and Weetabix.

When I try to give out I just get informed ā€œItā€™s not bold, itā€™s funnyā€ then she gives me a hug and laughs.
Women are so damn manipulative.

No SNA but she will have resource hours, if your kid is in speech therapy make sure to get a report and look into the resource at the school. As binky said, the report from the speech therapist will help the resource teacher to work on specifics but it is important to do it at home as well.

Yeah agree. Everything medicalised. ADHD diagnosis are increasing exponentially.

Our older lad was sent to a child psychiatrist at about 3 or 4 - montessori were concerned. My view was he was bold and needed discipline but they refused to as was against ā€œtheir ethosā€. His mother took it very seriously. I was not as concerned. He went to a few sessions, had to monitor what he ate, behaviour etc and keep a log. In the end psychiatrist who seemed sensible enough said no issue.

Once he was in primary school with a structure and discipline no issue. He has been diagnosed now with hyper mobility and poor fine motor skills but not dyspraxia. Again I donā€™t see it - he plays guitar and PlayStation but he doesnā€™t colour neatly or write nearly. I never did either. Never held and still donā€™t hold pen in the way you are taught to.

In some ways it is good but my concern is some of these conditions donā€™t really cause problems but diagnosis can lead to self limiting behaviour.

Have you no cupboards in your house or something?

Key point.

His kitchen sounds like something @Rocko would be proud of

Great examples.

Is it really as silly as not being able to stay inside the lines? Iā€™m nearly 40 and last week at captain americas with a few kids i had awful trouble with it.

You anecdote sounds insane.

If he was perfectly within the lines he would be assessed for OCD. Cant win

Or at least ask your missus to put that stuff up on the high shelf.

Winner rating :grinning:

I will be watching runt in battle against the pallastinians this evening. looking forward to it.

Thatā€™s serious pressure to be putting me under.

Other issue I see is lawnmower parenting where everything cleared out of a childā€™s way and they are pulled out of things before they get a chance to fail.

real reluctance to have kids uncomfortable in any way

Iā€™d agree to a point. The likes of behavioural diagnosis like what TUM describes Iā€™d agree with and the necessity to diagnose ADHD too rapidly. On the flip side though I see people moaning about kids being diagnosed with Autism or similar cases like aspergers and the like. There are a number of schools with specialised units for Autism so that kids can go to a mainstream school get the interaction with other kids but also have their own special rooms where they can advance themselves. The complaining people do and talk of it not being real and people just faking it is just utterly ridiculous. Moaning about the size of the newly built units or the cost of the specialist equipment and how its just needy parents diagnosing the kids. When it is anything but. I have had a lot of dealings with some of the units and know a lot of the goings on in ASD units and it is far from a bed of roses for the teachers and everything set up there.

There is definitely a case for parents these days being far too protective of their kids, something I see in coaching a lot. Whilst you do your best to give everyone as much game time as you can, some parents will moan because their little Johnny was taken off or whatever. And even worse, I am still seeing with players who are 18 and their parents are going mental and ringing coaches. They have to live their own lives at some stage.

I played with a fella for 20 years who would be described as a stalwart of the club. Key player for years. We got a new coach then one time who didnt rate your man. Dropped him once, well yer man lost it, fucked off from training in a huff!!

His old man wrote to the club expressing his disappointment at the way his Johnny had been treated after all his years of service, and pointing out all the players that he was better than that had been selected ahead of him. His Johnny was 34 years of age at the time and coaching several underage teams :joy: