The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

youd think a PHD would know that hurl is both a noun and a verb

Once you get to 30 are you allowed make up words?

40 mate

You canā€™t beat a bit of bonding time with the daughter on Sunday morning while Mam has a lie in. Child full of smiles and curiosity. Great times at this age (3 months today).

Sounds lovely mate, enjoy it. You wonā€™t be fit to get the remote control off him any day now.

And it all kicks off over a fucking make up brush

The 3yr old told her Mother ā€œ she was wrecking her head ā€œ.

ffs.

Mrs J is out, the 2 kids are in bed, Iā€™ve United on while I do a few emails. Bliss.

Where did she hear that phrase?

Youā€™re easily pleased if you find watching united ā€œblissā€

Madameā€™s been really struggling in school so weā€™ve had her assessed and it turns out sheā€™s dyspraxic and dyslexic.

Seems to be a shedload of supports available now so hopefully it wonā€™t hold her back.

It wont art. My eldest is dyslexic and gets a 10% automatic mark up in the leaving

It wont Art. I will pm you a presentation by a member of our resource dept which outlines strategies to use with specific learning difficulties like dyspraxia and dyslexia.

My older lad has dyspraxia. Uses a laptop and iPad instead of writing in school. Getting on grand. Heā€™s very sensitive in terms of his socks have to be on right or they annoy him, clothes tags annoy him - sensory thing I suppose.

Younger lad has dysgraphia - he is also starting with the iPad and keyboard

I never could hold my pen properly. Still donā€™t. I probably have something or other myself.

Sheā€™ll be the finest Art.

I know someone teaching at third level with dyslexia.

There are some excellent supports out there, and make sure she avails of them, even if she doesnā€™t want to herself.

4-0 at the moment with a scintillating second half. Ole is driving like a fuckiing nutcase tonight.

What is dyspraxia lads?

https://www.dyspraxia.ie/dyspraxiaDCD

Itā€™s very much a scale too. We never told our lad he has it as he would use it as an excuse not to do things. For him it manifests itself in poor fine motor skills, writing, sensory sensitivity, gets tired doing physical stuff

@artfoley - i posted before about the bike riding. I thought he would never ride a bike and it would be beyond him but we enrolled him on a HSE bike ride course during summer where occupational therapists show them and he was riding a bike after two of the four weeks and he cycles to the shop on his own now (brings a backpack to carry what he buys home as he would not be confident to carry it in his hand :grinning:)

Look out for that course if you need it

He would hate to drop Dads bottle of Jameson in fairness