The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

[QUOTE=“Sam Swarek, post: 1094409, member: 2293”]Thanks lads - not many people knew we were expecting, holding out for the 12 week mark and all so it’s hard to sort of go through it all without saying anything to anyone.
Mrs Swarek is out for the count here beside me but it’s been tough on her and we saw and went through some things last night that wasn’t nice to see.
All we can do is try get on with things I suppose![/QUOTE]
I went through this sam, a couple of times, and we’ve quite a few healthy bouncers now. Hopefully you’ll get there…
And when you do, its good to mark this time. I always forget, my wife always has a little cry remembering what could have been.
So if you can somehow mark this date in your head, terrible as it is, you can be supportive…I am not good at it but somebody else might be better and it means a lot to the women who went through all the pain and relives the memory each year

[QUOTE=“Kid Chocolate, post: 1094793, member: 553”]I went through this sam, a couple of times, and we’ve quite a few healthy bouncers now. Hopefully you’ll get there…
And when you do, its good to mark this time. I always forget, my wife always has a little cry remembering what could have been.
So if you can somehow mark this date in your head, terrible as it is, you can be supportive…I am not good at it but somebody else might be better and it means a lot to the women who went through all the pain and relives the memory each year[/QUOTE]

good post that

It happened us as well. Never forget it. Friday night the week after we lost Munster in 2001. Would have been the second kid. I left my wife in the hospital and went home. I was just in the door and my brother was on the phone telling me he was expecting his first! I said nothing. Didn’t tell anyone for years.

No, just mad in the head.

[QUOhattythehurdler, post: 1094687, member: 1170"]Happened to us late enough that we had to have a funeral. Lean on each other and you’ll be alright in the end.[/QUOTE]
Did hospital let ye deliver the child yerselves? Did with us and was prob right thing to do

Did hospital let ye deliver the child yerselves? Did with us and was prob right thing to do[/QUOTE]
No, the poor little mite was already dead, so herself had to be induced and delivered in the normal way. A full labour for her knowing that the baby was dead. It wasnt pleasant. Compounded by the fact that it took two days to get into a delivery suite after we knew as all the hospitals were full. They had to do a post mortem and then we had a funeral. I couldn’t fault the care we received. I remember us leaning on each other in the front row, and funnily I remember how surprisingly consoling it was that family and friends came. I remember walking to the grave when behing the hedge a grave digger said to his pal, “Jaysus pass the shovel quick, they’re coming”, in the broadest Galway city accent you’d ever hear, and saying to janey that at least she’s being buried by a galwayman. Most of all I remember standing in the childrens section of southern cemetery in Manchester as the coffin was lowered, and wondering how if you actually knew the child as a person you could keep breathing. That is my overwhelming memory.
It brought us closer though. I could put my arm around her in the church and draw strength. I don’t know how else to put it. Enough now. @Sam Swarek its not nice, but I promise that good can be gleaned.

That matches.

Theory is that ciotogs are the remaining one of a pair of identical twins. Identical twins will have a right handed and a ciotog.

[QUOTE=“ciarancareyshurlingarmy, post: 1095220, member: 464”]That matches.

Theory is that ciotogs are the remaining one of a pair of identical twins. Identical twins will have a right handed and a ciotog.[/QUOTE]
Would that not be mirror image twins? Have 2 sets of twins , youngest pair are identical and both are right handed.

No, the poor little mite was already dead, so herself had to be induced and delivered in the normal way. A full labour for her knowing that the baby was dead. It wasnt pleasant. Compounded by the fact that it took two days to get into a delivery suite after we knew as all the hospitals were full. They had to do a post mortem and then we had a funeral. I couldn’t fault the care we received. I remember us leaning on each other in the front row, and funnily I remember how surprisingly consoling it was that family and friends came. I remember walking to the grave when behing the hedge a grave digger said to his pal, “Jaysus pass the shovel quick, they’re coming”, in the broadest Galway city accent you’d ever hear, and saying to janey that at least she’s being buried by a galwayman. Most of all I remember standing in the childrens section of southern cemetery in Manchester as the coffin was lowered, and wondering how if you actually knew the child as a person you could keep breathing. That is my overwhelming memory.
It brought us closer though. I could put my arm around her in the church and draw strength. I don’t know how else to put it. Enough now. @Sam Swarek its not nice, but I promise that good can be gleaned.[/QUOTE]
Of all the God-awful things anyone should go thru, everyone deserves a pass from this one

[QUOTE=“Raylan, post: 1095227, member: 2891”]No, the poor little mite was already dead, so herself had to be induced and delivered in the normal way. A full labour for her knowing that the baby was dead. It wasnt pleasant. Compounded by the fact that it took two days to get into a delivery suite after we knew as all the hospitals were full. They had to do a post mortem and then we had a funeral. I couldn’t fault the care we received. I remember us leaning on each other in the front row, and funnily I remember how surprisingly consoling it was that family and friends came. I remember walking to the grave when behing the hedge a grave digger said to his pal, “Jaysus pass the shovel quick, they’re coming”, in the broadest Galway city accent you’d ever hear, and saying to janey that at least she’s being buried by a galwayman. Most of all I remember standing in the childrens section of southern cemetery in Manchester as the coffin was lowered, and wondering how if you actually knew the child as a person you could keep breathing. That is my overwhelming memory.
It brought us closer though. I could put my arm around her in the church and draw strength. I don’t know how else to put it. Enough now. @Sam Swarek its not nice, but I promise that good can be gleaned.[/QUOTE]
Of all the God-awful things anyone should go thru, everyone deserves a pass from this one[/QUOTE]

my thoughts as well
thats a very important post from @flattythehurdler tho, very well articulated also

Horrendous stuff here. Sympathies to any of ye that have gone through it.

Very Good friend of mine lost twins quite late on when my wife was expecting our first. For various reasons that was their only chance of kids.

I gave my two lads their names as Middle names and send a card each year to remember them. We don’t really speak about it. It’s a simple gesture but they told me this year it means a lot to them.

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1095259, member: 2272”]Very Good friend of mine lost twins quite late on when my wife was expecting our first. For various reasons that was their only chance of kids.

I gave my two lads their names as Middle names and send a card each year to remember them. We don’t really speak about it. It’s a simple gesture but they told me this year it means a lot to them.[/QUOTE]
That is way way worse than our small story. Fair play to you for caring and showing you care v

It is a really tough time, particularly for the women as many have already articulated. Happened 3 times to us, the first time she went in for her 2nd scan and they told her there was no heart beat and sent her home to wait until she miscarried. I can safely say that was the longest week in my life, barbaric what they used to do.

Tis a funny world. Our number two came along 18 months after the miscarriage. I was driving him down to the football club this morning at half seven because he is off on a training camp for a week. If our original #2 had made it, that lad might not have been born. All you can do is make the best of things and go forward.

This is it exactly for me too. Hopefully @Sam Swarek[/USER] , and [USER=1586]@feck it and all the others had , or will have it turn out just like this. It’s exactly what I think. Herself sometimes shakes her head when number two is running wild and says that she knew the one we lost would have been a nice quiet girl. Onwards and upwards is the only way though. You just can’t dwell on such things or you’d go mad.

It was indeed. They were different times completely. Despite all the changes though, sometimes a stiff upper lip is the only and best thing for you both.

same with us, went in for the scan ,told no heart beat

happened a 2nd time too went back a week later as nothing has happened and they found a heart beat-ffs

Folks was out looking at prams today or travel systems as they are called. Anyway this isofix car seat base is this for all cat seats or just for the one it comes with? My head was spinning with all the different pram types and all the different parts.:frowning:

[QUOTE=“The Selfish Giant, post: 1095366, member: 80”]same with us, went in for the scan ,told no heart beat

happened a 2nd time too went back a week later as nothing has happened and they found a heart beat-ffs[/QUOTE]

:eek: :clap: