The Official TFK Local and European Elections Thread 2024

A not inconsiderable problem for Mary Lou McDonald is that Michelle O’Neill has considerably outshone her.

https://x.com/Keithisi/status/1797006672625320366?t=e9SRJ1FkQZ3n4WDjeWjG3w&s=19

This is very funny

Racist mocks low level volunteers?

I think the lads are racist too :smiley:. Ah I just watched it again there the frozen face on the lad in the pink shirt. Is that a Waterford accent on your man?

Both Boylans on the Dublin ticket will be elected

His pro saville stance a vote winner?

Where will Niall Boylan get his transfers from?

The Soc Dems and Labour will have to look long and hard in the mirror if they can’t win a seat in Dublin between them.

It will be a real shame if Cuffe doesn’t get back in although he will be a strong candidate in a General.

I’ve no idea, I just know he’ll be elected.

Clonmel

Simon Harris down on Porto beach there about 15mins ago. He had a garda escort. The labour contingent didnt require one.

He’s the fucking Taoiseach

You mean 25% of what vote they’ll get surely ?

A Labour head not appreciating the need for security around a Government leader is pretty funny.

To be fair to @Juhniallio its a long long time since anyone were Labour were relevant enough to raise enough emotion that they might need a security detail. Harmless enough these days.

FG support Climate change

Anyone here ever been a “tallyman”?
I’d say an interesting few hours

I have. At the locals. Good craic. The first count is the all important. A decent tally man will be about 99% accurate on 1st pref and will be about 85% on second preference you hit a rhythm and it’s a bit of an oul game. There’s a bit of jostling for position but there’s good craic and banter with other parties usually. Most take the view that the hard work is done and that this is an enjoyable part of the democratic process. SF were the exception in my experience. Shoulder chipped cunts. I’d imagine that’s changed a bit now that they are mainstream populist flipflops. Banter and absolute respect for the counters is all important. They’ll even slow down or go back a few for you once or twice if required.
It’s also pretty interesting watching the difference between the boxes.
After the first count it all slows down and gets a bit less interesting as you have a very good idea where transfers will go and it’s slow oul work for the counters from then on. Breaks for the counters and them wanting to get as much work as possible out of it come into account i think. Go for it if you get a chance.