Id say you meet the most interesting people at these ones
Farcical stuff. You still have to do the test, even though it’s half a test. You won’t get a cert though, so your car might be roadworthy and might be legal to drive. And pay the full whack too
Yeah - and with a big self-righteous attitude on him and approaching it like they came up with a great solution.
Fellas with names like “Grant” can’t be put in charge of important stuff like this
When do they expect to be back fully operational?
Q1 2022.
Seems like a long time but ok.
Not a priority. We’ll have the health and housing problems sorted by then. NCT not really a priority any more seeing as we’ll be all cycling by then.
Not sure one impinges on the other but ok.
Be some craic trying to get a second appointment when everyone’s going back. You can’t get the first one as it is
So, when will this issue be resolved do they think?
They have no timeline.
It will be done when it’s done.
I caught a bulletin on the radio in the car and there was a snippet from some fella (no idea who) going on saying “No it’s OK, you will get a cert saying half of your test is done and you are still waiting to do the second half of the test, so you will be fine from a legality point of view, everything is grand”, completely ignorant of the hassle it is to have to go to the testing centre twice. Maybe the cunts can fix their fucking testing equipment first.
This is gas news altogether & a complete over reaction.
The Lifts which caused the issue up North has visible cracks on certain welds which is not good but not in a million years would a car cause one to buckle imo.
A work colleague sent in a car last week for Test. It was checked over comprehensively the week before with following defects noted,
- Both front shocks wanked.
- manifold exhaust pipe cracked
- airbag light on dash
Owner says they‘ll let it through as the test was booked but was consigned to the fact the car would need to be upgraded.
In goes the car and low & behold it passes. The tester winks handing over the paperwork saying the exhaust manifold pipe needs attention.
The shocks & airbag light are glaring defects but they passed the cunt of a yoke.
That’s a pass with the NCT, the equipment they use only measures the imbalance between both sides, if it’s over 30% it’s a fail. If both shocks are “wanked” as you put it, then there’s no imbalance and it’s a pass. Strange, but true
The NCT boys are flat to the mat these days. No need to charge people an extra few quid
A change to the test is about to be brought in to address this specific anomaly.
The parents of a girl who died in an accident caused by faulty shocks (which had just passed the NCT) led a campaign to get it sorted.
Any of the Limerick posters know if they are doing full tests in the Eastway centre, or are the lifts still out of action? Website seems to indicate that LK would be one of the first ones addressed but can’t see any definitive status.
I was getting tyres today and the man said they are still out of action in Limerick and not due back until possibly April.
FFS sake. I was looking at an article there from the 5th of Feb saying it was one of the test centres they “hoped to have back operational this week”