The Pretend Fitness Thread

Tuesday is my tempo run day. I did 1km hard x 4 this morning (with 45 seconds break in between each km where I did athlete things like raising my arms above my head, stepping forward in big steps and tilting the upper half of my body from side to side). I’ll lift some weights on my balcony later if it’s not too slippy.

junior football training tonight at 8pm
the time was chosen to ensure lads have had a good dinner and helped out with bath, homework , etc before setting off
we had 17 players for our match last weekend
i started half back but found it to be a bizarre position, its impossible to read the game, and there’s no real structure, might ask to play midfield, but of a problem as im only 5 ft 7 but the fitness is getting back, problem is if we play some crowd who decide to put their u21s in the middle im bolluxed, corner back might be ok, but there was some ferocious belting going on in there last weekend, u could get fking killed
tonight im donning all weather pumas, club socks, club shorts and my glentoran jersey , the type that Michael Halliday was wearing in the 2001 Irish Cup final… im not wearing gloves

dropping a lad in half-back or half-forward who has never played there before can freak them out. Much easier to go 6 or 11 where there is some structure and you can get away with less up & down running.

BTW the following boots are seasonal favourites for GAA 2016

ud need some football tho to play there?
i stopped playing gaelic when i was 19 and was at soccer till now
ah its some crack , we had a lad try and do an over head kick last weekend when he meant to catch the thing and score an over as TASE would say…
in general we huge men down the middle, our keeper and center back played for kildare yonks ago
i got murdered jumping for kickouts last weekend, fucking knees in the back, fucking ferocious football,

Corner back is a cunt. Avoid it like the plague.

75% of kickouts break back towards the kicking goal in a narrow arc. Position yourself 15 yards off the jumper and run in to that space, you will pick up lots of ball at junior B. I doubt the keeper will be doing a cluxton impression with short &wide kicks or placing it into a runners hands on the outside.

i second this.

The worst place to play on the field, a thankless fuckin job.

Even if you win 75% of the ball you could still be roasted. Also if the team is being destroyed out the field and they have time to pick their passes there is fuck all a corner back can do stop it. In addition corner forward is always full of nippy young fellas.
Give me half back any day.

After years as I forward, i was demoted to corner back, via a stint at half back and I have to say I find it a brilliant position. Half back in a cunt of a spot, too much stuff going on either side of you. Corner back you are pretty much concentrating on just one thing, having a bit of pace probably helps an awful lot though.

our goalkeeper hits the ball a ferocious punt
he fucking drives the thing out to their 65 getting huge air on it
cunt loves getting the ball soloing to the 21 and pummelling a huge funt of a kick out the field in no general direction, the ball would be going out for a throw in half the time, an absolute eejit of a man

Is that a proven fact?

Corner back is a perfect spot. You get an odd belt but nothing too nasty as long as you stick tight. Aim to play in the right corner as there are very few left footed lads about and you can push your man out onto his weak foot. You get a good bit of recovery time too. Over here, small pond that it is. If you are an elderly gent, you can simply go down on one knee at a break in play and the ref will usually politely take account of your age and hold up.play for a nonspecific reason til you get your breath back. Marking u21’s is just a penance to be avoided. There is no upside.

Facts Shmacts, of course it is

FFS, any corner back worth his salt should be the one dishing out the belts.

Well if you’re marking a lad the same age you might. If its some young fella I wouldn’t have it in me unless he starts. I play for the ball as much as possible. I sometimes miss, but I show equanimity when I get rattled so I expect them to do the same. The main thing is you don’t have to run about as much.
Bar Saturday where the young lad I was marking in the first half decided to try and run the legs off me for twenty minutes. I loped around after him up and down and side to side. He got bored or tired just after half time and I was marking two different lads in the second half who had been slowed a bit by the heat.

Yes the worst in either sport. If you’re marking a shit lad you’ll get fuck all ball, and if you’re marking a good lad you’ll probably get roasted

Mickee, refer to my post here about the one and only time I played the half back position which signalled the end of my club career. A cunt of a position indeed if you’re just thrust into it.

What’s this?

Corner back is a horrible position if you are getting slow. @mickee321 sounds like a relatively fit lad for that level and has a bit of an edge to him so it could be his perfect position.

At junior b, distribution of the ball from midfield is a random affair.

brilliant training tonight
was very wet and got dark early

• random kick around till 8 20 as lads moseyed on up
  • 3 laps
  • some form of hand passing and footpass drills
  • a bit of shooting
  • game of backs and forwards, then we switched and the forwards went as backs
    (no one was talking it seriously by this stage, lads more interested in the score from the west ham game
  • 50 pressups and situps- no one completed more than 5 of each, random banter about wanting a woman underneath ya, etc…
  • some sprints
  • a penalty competition