The Pretend Fitness Thread

The Garmin is a gamechanger alright. I was about to stop at the 0.9 mile mark yesterday and a quick glance down told me one final push would get me to the finish.

I must try a mile flat out, that was in the middle of half when I recorded that

Half a yoke? (yolk :joy:)

1k jog to warm up

single leg squats hops - (4 x5 on each leg)
Bench hops x 40 (4x10)

50 pull ups 5 x10

Clap push-ups off bench 4 x 10
bench mountain climbers 4 x 10

Jumping squats 4 x 10
Bench step-ups 4 x 10

10 hill sprints

1k jog home cool down

I think I’m suffering from route fatigue for my weekly 5km. I can definitely go quicker but it’s almost ingrained in me to run the same split times at this stage. I was telling myself to open my legs up this morning but there was another voice telling me not to empty the tank. I need to plot out a new route in my mind if I want to break the 24-minute barrier.

Run it backwards ffs.

I’d look like a right eejit running backwards, pal.

You might have to look at your diet mate, a few adjustments could see you break that barrier, or maybe employ a sports physiologist?

Head out strand road and back through Sandymount village. Or go for Herbert Park and back via Dodder pathway

Have you tried running it with your thumb up your arse?

After seeing this and having ran twice in the previous 2 days I decided for a short run. I’d give it a go just to see how I’d get on. Jogged out a mile slowly to warm up . Turned reset the watch and raced for home.
Had a few beers last night so pleasently surprised.
A completely different type of running. I was pumping sweat.

Unreal. You could be a watch model.

You have a lovely dainty wrist

You need nimble wrists for dehorning 3 month old charolaise.

we won at the weekend lads by a point
2-06 to 3-02
i played half back, corner back and then just ran around the place as the game disintegrated after 45 minutes
two of our lads were threatened with “the line” but the ref then asked them to be substituted as he didnt want fellas missing the championship which was sound, we had no subs tho
i was clotheslined at one stage out around midfield, in rugby parlance i suppose it was during the breakdown after a kickout broke about and there was a ferocious rucus of handpassing, disposeessions, blockdowns and fellas embarking on solo runs when surrounded by multple players
Great game tho, ran loads, knackered now tho, 2 days later

Great for Calving cows too.

That’s good running you big hairy ape

Impressive, safe to say breaking 6 minutes is achievable there. I’ll be doing some track workouts and tempo runs over the next few weeks to increase speed and I’ll see then if I can push my p.b. closer to six.

I’m going out in a few short hours for a 5km and i’m really going to open that mother up. It’s five days since I’ve been out for a run and i really seem to fall off the wagon between runs. Once Thursday comes around i’m very liable and likely to start boozing, and it could continue two or three of those nights until Monday comes back again. Monday to Wednesday then i’m getting two runs in or maybe one each day on a good week. Then Thursday to Sunday booze takes over again. There’s nothing like seeing this thread bumped though and the updates within to motivate yourself to just get out there.

So you are more likely to be drinking than not?
You have serious issues.