Myown belief is that there is a bit of snobbery towards the use of Ipods etc from “real” runners, particularly the older brigade. This being a danger to another runner is a smoke scene and a load of bollix IMO.
[quote=“Kinvara, post: 63468”]
I have never raced a 10k so I’d be happy enough that on a given day with a decent crowd, a bit of race planning and having the head straight I’d be able to cut the time down to 45 min something. Under that requires faster than 2 back to back 5ks of less than 22.30- my 5k PB is 21.5 something so under 45 ain’t happening until I get under 20 for the 5km.
Speed training- Interval, Fartlek & Hills will shave minutes off your time- its the old train smarter not harder adage.
I’ve done a few sessions with a club recently- I push myself way more in a group than when I’m on my own. One interval session nearly killed me- I’d be hopeful that after a while of this type of training that the race times will come down.
IMHO consistent speed is much easier to handle than slower to faster. Any pacing done at the big races is done at an even speed. I’d find it easier to go out fast and then hold on like a drowning man over the last km or 2 than go out slow and bring it home fast. I’m always suspicious of lads that are sprint finishing at the end, I reckon they’ve too much energy not to have left lots of time behind them on the course
Under 40 min for 10km is a serious milestone, KP, your buddy must be a good operator- he’s no Declan Moffett anyway
Would disagree there Kev
You’d often be trying to pass somebody that’s wearing an i-Pod and they’d wander out in front of you, the Dublin series in the park is a killer for this, the big crowds mean that you are passing people right up to the end and they have no clue of their surroundings. Also some of the smaller events don’t have road closures and wearing an i-Pod isn’t conducive to minding yourself in traffic.
id agree with WB here too.
Fair enough, ye have the experience here. I have done triathlons, but never with ipod or anything. Never saw anything though that would suggest they were a danger, but guys had them for the run.
im assuming this is a typo :unsure: if not :lol: :lol:
Did 6km on Sunday, 5km last night and just under 5km this evening as well. Averaging anything between 5 & 6 mins per km which is slow enough but hadn’t run more than 2km at once in about 15 years! Aiming to get a duathalon done next week and do at least 2 more before end of the summer and try and fit a 10km race in along the way somewhere as well. Usually hit a wall after about 5k at the moment - what’s the best way to handle this and try and get passed it?
mac, you need to gradually get miles into your legs. You need to do one long slow run a week. Start at 6km and increase by 1km per week. this pace should be 1m and 30 secs slower than you normal pace. Other days do your normal 5km runs and make sure to have a rest day, possibly day before your long run.
Cheers fenway, if I went any slower I’d nearly be walking! Will give that a shot. Have a 5 mile road race at home in June as well on the agenda so if I get through that alright I’d reckon the 10km should be an easy enough target by July.
dont worry about the pace. as you get fitter the pace will come. follow that training plan and you’ll do that 10k no problem.
Mac, you need to get miles into your legs, fast! You need to do at least 4 fast paced runs a week. Start at 12km and increase by 3km per week. this pace should be as fast as you can go. Other days do your normal 5km runs and make sure not to be tempted to have a rest day, especially not the day before your long run.
What worked for me when I was starting out was just stopping and resting a few moments before ploughing on. Started off doing the same tough 5 mile run a few days per week and needing to stop about 4 times during it. But always finishing it. Gradually I got so as I didn’t need to stop at all. It just takes time to get the miles into the legs.
Reminds me of a story George O’Connor told about the '96 AI panel.
Dave Guiney was pissed off at not being able to get on the team and all the glory his brother Rod was getting. He asked George one day was there any extra training he could do to improve his chances of getting on the team. Without missing a beat George said he should do 1000 press ups every morning, and possibly the same every evening if he had the time as that’s what George used to do when he was first breaking into the Wexford team. Thinking no-one could be that stupid George thought nothing more of it. A few days later he got a phone call from Dave asking him how many days did it take before the pain in his arms would start to subside
would you do much running during the week thrawneen?
How do ye know what mileage ye are doing? Are there special watches or something that can be bought that will tell you that?
garmin watches dunph.
I used to live in southside Dublin and had a phenomenal 5 mile run which included a mile of difficult uphill going up the Vico Road in Dalkey. Long enough run for stamina and tough enough for fitness. Was doing that around 5 times per week and pissed through the DCM 09 without much extra training. Moved to the city centre not long after and it’s been disastrous for my running. There’s nowhere fun to run, there’s too many cars, people, roads to cross, I hate it. I go out a few times a week and probably get about 15-20 miles done on average per week but many days I won’t bother, especially if I’ve been cycling during the day (most days) as I’ve no zip left in my legs and nothing to look forward to once I get out the door except the ugly realities of city living.
Probably best that you haven’t, could have been dangerous on the swimming leg.