The Pretend Fitness Thread

I’m gonna head out for my first post holiday jaunt in a few minutes… I drank a few beers 4/5 of the 8 nights but no more than four on any night and never got drunk…I drank plenty of water every day so I shouldn’t be too bad.

Listen, pal…stay away…it is a recipe for sure disaster and I’m being 100% genuine here…the concept of crossfit is a total joke and goes against any common sense and sporting/scientific knowledge…you can’t do Olympic style lifts as cardio…youd be better off doing your own body weight routine a couple of times a week and doing one heavy total body weight workout every now and again.

Who holds the record for the fastest mile here again? @Tassotti is it?

No i am in 3rd position.

@Rintintin
I think he recorded it running from the guards in clonmel

The one I go to does about 20 mins warm up, twenty of a technical weight, and twenty of the awful stuff at the end. The max effort bit sometimes doesn’t use weights at all, the last day it was 250 row, and 5 handstand pressups, repeated every three mins for seven rounds for instance. If the max effort bit does use weights, I try to keep them light enough and focus on the technique.
Is the worry about damaging your back/knees/muscles due to poor weight technique, or is it actually bad for your cardiovascular system? It is very difficult to push yourself so hard if someone isn’t shouting at you. Having said that, I largely do it for the weights, to try and keep my back strong as I get older.

Did the Burren Half Marathon this morning. Would recommend it to any of the running folks here. It’s completely different to any marathon experience and more akin to an adventure race I would say.

Starts with about 4-5km on the road, was tipping nicely there, keeping it around the 4.50 mark per km. Then it hits the Burren itself (with a spell on road in middle) with some nice big climbs and rough terrain. Big descent then (which is slow cos of the terrain and people in front - 6.30 min kms like) and back on the road for the last 4.5km where i picked up the pace, doing that last segment in approx 20-21 mins. Finished at 1’51 (was estimating 2 hours), enough to get me well within the top 40.

It being in Clare, there were also a fair share of roasters and lads in GAA shorts, jerseys (there was a lad in a Tipp jersey as well in fairness), and the GAA sock was very much evident throughout, with fellas thinking they might work as compression socks. There was also a lad I passed earlier on in a GAA jersey and a pair of tracksuit pants. It was a warm day out. Another fella was slugging a bottle of Lucozade (not Lucozade sport but the original stuff) at the starting line). I did see a nice looking young one with a Liverpool jersey on, with Henderson 14 on the back.

A great day all in.

My wife and 9 year old did the 10k, said it was a beautiful course, 1 hour 27 mins.

Fair play to both of them. The 10k was all on road with lovely scenery. The half is about 50/50 between road and trail. Some cracking views out there.

At least I’m not a short ass cunt.

Indeed I have while driving and cycling. Running not so much.

Great body weight workout this morning…followed it up then with 5 hours walking around sticking flyers in doors for princess new business venture…bolloxed after it.

I think I got one of them in my letterbox! Scenes!

I’ll know more when I download it but 160km with 2,000m climbed down in Kerry. EPIC day, went out on the lash after it so fucked right now. But delighted to survive it.

Viva le Tour

Well done, pal.

That’s some nice climbing too

A “recovery” 3 hour spin on the bike this morning. Started with fog, ended with sunshine. 84km, fairly flat roads with Shallee Hill stuck in there.

Feels great to be alive lads. I’ve just two bottles of Peroni in the fridge and herself is on about going to Tesco. Gonna get some cold bottles into me later and rehydrate properly

I feel like a fraud lads, this is from my Strava feed. Apologies for leading ye all on :pensive:

That’s good going. How was the weather?

Perfect. Not a puff of wind going up Coomanaspig on the Skellig Ring that had me sweating like a peodo in a Barney suit. Missed any rain going up Ballinasheen and again not a breath of wind and sweating so much it stung the eyes. See below the last few climbs we did. I’ve no pace on the steep stuff; I’m too big to do any damage.