August, pal
Cycled Doi Suthep in Chiang Mai yesterday. A brute and only got halfway up. 7km at on average 7%. Only thing that I have done which compares to it is Passo del Ghisallo which is sometimes in Giro but Doi Suthep was significantly harder. Will be back in few months to cycle all the way up.
Great accountability in road cycling up mountains. No place for hiding. By far and away the most enjoyable form of getting fit for me.
It’s not 7k at 7% then. Are you sure of those figures?
Starting CrossFit this evening to see how it goes. They do some fundamentals course to make sure that you don’t fuck yourself up too much.
Have heard mixed reports so far and the only thing I’m sure about is that I’ll be suffering tomorrow.
Stay away. The concept is a joke and is one of the biggest causes of injuries around.
Have you got stats on that or are you just offering your opinion?
I’ve done my research obviously and if you’re careful you’ll be grand.
The first 7km of the climb average around 7%. Some bits steeper, some bits less steep but all uphill. Heat factor makes it very hard on top of punishing gradient.
You’re doing olympic style lifts to high reps… Those lifts are all about form, high reps knacker you, the two don’t go together. And no, I don’t have stats because crossfit is unregulated and no real data collected on it. I’m giving you my opinion and the opinion of people I know in fitness and injury business. Good luck with it.
Thanks dude.
It’s OK if you have the mentality to ignore the competitive nature and use light weights correctly. There will be lads throwing big weights about and strutting around. I used to use the ladies recommended weight with great care on form, and it was fine. It’s your body to look after.
Yeah I’ve been warned about that as well. The six fundamentals classes should sort it out sure.
They are full of shit
If you are careful?
You won’t be. You don’t know what you are doing, so how do you know what careful is?
They mistly won’t know either.
The research done by independants ssys Crossfit matches field sports and worse for high end chronic injury.
Its a scam. Although going on your recent posting, i’m not surprised. The money for it is hilarious.
Kev is something happen to you in the last few months that has turned you into a complete joyless cunt or what?
I used to enjoy your posts and the discussions that they brought about but lately you’re just bringing an amount of anger and hate to the table and little else.
I’ll be careful because I’ll be a careful, I didn’t get to almost 40 years of age by not doing that. I’ll listen to what the instructors say, I haven’t heard of there being any fatalities from their centre so I should be ok if I ease myself into it and see how I’m getting on at it. I played field sports for long enough, with rubbish instruction and managed to avoid injury there as well.
What’s with the personal digs thrown in at the end, this wasn’t like you in the past. How moving home changed you?
I hate irosh people for a start.
But other than that you are the kinda reactionary character who needs confrontational discussions and plain talking. I have no doubt you will eventually listen to the good advice but wouldn’t dream of telling us we were right.
What you are doing today is;
Ignoring someone with a real S&C Degree, 20 years of coaching and physical preperation experience and then everything else
To listening to someone who can train you in incredibly complex lifts (which take months and years to master) with a 6 week weekend course. The actually Olympic Weightlifting Cert itself takes longer, way longer. The one i did was essentially a full college module and took 3 months straight. The entire Crossfit qual is done i think now in 6 saturdays and half day sundays. Thats everything.
I’m only looking out for ya.
And by the way, this is easily the most content i have been in my life.
Fine. Don’t be such a grumpy cunt then.
I’ll see how I go. Plenty of people seem to enjoy it and get benefits from it and maybe I’ll be one of those. Maybe not.
You’d nearly be better off doing a beginners S&C course where they will at least teach you about proper form… Just remember this thread when you are paralysed.
Post reported.
Ya thats the message. They are brilliant at matketing, superb at team building and excellent at telling you they are the best and this is the future etc.
There are a handful of decent ones around the world, i saw a list once. Where they break Crossfit rules and do warm ups and mad stuff like that and also regularly have really qualified people with them. The closest i have read about is Bath in the UK.
You will never hear about the injuries.
2 examples locally.
Last year Nemo did crossfit, they lined out in the county final down 9 starters. 4 of them very serious injuries.
This year Mallow have done it, 3 very serious injuries.
Id you are injury prone anyway you are fucked. The ones that survive are the ones who are freaks anyway.