The Pretend Fitness Thread

There is such a thing as the transition, there is 2 of them in fact in a triathlon. I have seen lads having them taped to their water bottle at the 1st transition.

The more serious guys of course wouldn’t be bothered as they’d be too worried about getting in and out and such fucking around would cost them time.

Of course you can get waterproof ipod covers as well now if it reallys means that much to you. But it would be ridiculous in the madness of a triathlon swim.

fair point, but not limited solely to iPod wearers
those park runs are a bit of a mess, just far too many punters
i overtook 4 auld wans who were walking while linked arm in arm (in that weird way only girls do, a bit like the Monkees but with more swagger) in one of those races, took up half the road.

BHAA races now tend to frown on it also. i always have the iPod for training runs, but there’s usually enough going on around me during a race to occupy the mind. i tend to spot a well toned arse and follow her for a few miles.

Excellent tactics.

I’m blue in the face from saying it, but if you want to meet some real totty, join an athletics/running club.

forgot to say it earlier, but you’re spot on as regards the snobbery element
know plenty of club runners who give the disapproving look at the sight of an iPod
anytime i’ve brought it up in discussion the response tends to be along the lines of not concentrating on the run, pace, breathing, etc.
which may have a grain of truth to it

there is the argument about crossing lanes but that’s less of an issue in a marathon or cross-country where the field thins out quickly.

The smartest tactic of the lot. The only problem is if she comes under pressure and reduceds her pace it can be fierce hard to side step a bodhran arse and leave it behind.

Discipline I suppose.

10k run today in 45 mins exactly. both achilles sore but felt good otherwise. as mentioned above, this is great weather for running, plenty of totti about B)

Good man FP, you well well on track for that with your 7 minute mile pace in Ballycotton.

Get a bit of advice on those Achilles before you do any damage.

[quote name=‘Kinvara’s Passion’ timestamp=‘1303914463’ post=‘482724’]
Good man FP, you well well on track for that with your 7 minute mile pace in Ballycotton.

Get a bit of advice on those Achilles before you do any damage.[/quote]
i had stability runners when i got my orthotics. while the orthotics cleared up my knee trouble i started to develop achilles pain. went into runways today and had a chat with one of the staff. they reckon that the stability runners combined with orthotics were putting too much pressure on achilles, hence the pain. i invested in a pair of nike neutrals as a result. probably should’nt have gone for a run but i was mad to try them out B)

Good running Fenway
Make sure you have the correct runners for your gait- I’m not a 100% believer in gait analysis but I reckon there’s more right than wrong in it

Running after a nice arse is indeed a good way of getting around a course however the further up the field you go the less women and nice arses there are. The only bad thing about running better times.
Reminds of a comment my nephew made to me before the start of a race this year: we were walking to the start line and I came across Mary Cullen- I knew that she had been out injured for a while so I had a bit of banter with her. After the conversation the nephew had obviously twigged that I knew her from somewhere and said to me: “Who’s she? In the beginning I thought you were only talking to her because she had a nice arse”. He’s a good lad

Fucking hamstring and quad on the left peg are tight as fook after the match tonight, I guess thats the price you pay for not kicking a ball for 3 months and then going back trying to kick the leather off the ball only a couple of weeks before 'hampionship. What can ye recomend me to do so ill be ready and right for next week?

hot bath with epsom salts is great for legs.

Let someone else take the kick outs - you’ll be grand.

Aren’t you a…

http://newspapersafrica.com/img/Algeria_Goal_Keeper.jpg

Goalie?*

*with tracksuit pants.

Fenway i’ve never done this, do you find it really good ya?

Another option if not too far away is to hop into the ocean and wade around for a while, the salt water is good for the muscles.

Also add alot of stretching and maybe some body weight squats.

great job kev

RTT we’ll go for a paddle in the sea in Ballybunion on Saturday evening. :pint:

Is 47 minutes good for a 10k run?
A mate of mine from the soccer team who hasn’t trained in about 2 months due to a shoulder injury ran in a race at the weekend and he said that was his time with no training at all done for it.

Without being an expert and being just a bit of a hacker when it comes to running it does sound good for no training.

I’ve decided I’m going to do a 10k in July. It’s for a charity event so may as well give it a go.

Would you see training for that as detremental to football/match fitness and sharpness?

We wouldn’t have a game until 3 weeks after it.