runt just stay with your football training and you’ll do the 10k no problem. i would forget about doing specific training for it as it would not be good for football. Football is more stop/start fitness/anaerobic while 10k is aerobic.
I’d surely need to a few long runs under my belt beforehand though?
any lad playing a reasonable level of football would have the general fitness to do the 10k.
I suppose the only thing I would need to work on is my pacing? I would probably have a habit of haring off at the start and could end up bollixed after 6 or 7 km.
What is a decent pace for 1km? Is my mates average of 4.7minutes per km a good target?
thats a good pace. if you feel comfortable after 5k , you could always kick on a bit. A good guide as to whether you are running too fast is if you cant hold a conversation while running.
I’m tending to side with Runt here Fenway. While a decent club footballer probably runs 7-8KM in a traing session anyway, even throwing in a couple of 5KM’s strights runs might be no harm. But recovery and rest would be paramount as well. You need to lengthen the muscles somewhat for the longer runs, the power running/sprinting involved in Football shortens muscles. After the 10 KM Runt you’d want to take 2-3 days off minimum and do alot of long passive stretching. Download the Ryan Giggs Yoga Video, its absolutely the perfect companion for what you are trying to do.
fenway is right about Anaerobic/aerobic differences, but as a modern wing forward Runt you’d be in a better position than most to do the longer running.
I’m a more old style half forward.
My zone is between there 65 and 45. Fuck that tracking back shit.
fair enough kev, but i was under impression that runt just wants to complete the 10k rather than setting PBs. if this is the case he should be fit enough to do himself justice. if on the other hand he wants to do a good time then he will, as you point out, have to some long runs etc.
Anytime I run for the 10k will be a PB
I would like to run a decent time and would obviously like to better the 47minutes for bragging rights.
Its actually the return to football and avoiding injury i’m concerned for him about, not a PB or anything. Right now if me or Runt or any of the lads who still play walked out the door, did a warm up and started running we’d do 5-8 KM without too much bother. Its after that the legs would struggle. It may be in the lungs, but the muscles wouldn’t be ready for it. If he gets injured during the run (which could happen no matter what the pace) then he could be niggled for the year.
If Runt is small in stature and fast as is suggested here then his may not be best suited to long distance running, and his size and muscle length could be the reason he’s quick. But this doesn’t mean he’d be able to run long distance that easy. I know some speedsters who really struggle with anything over 400 metres, literally anything.
Just trying to make him aware anyway. It should be no hassle.
your right about recovery. i was in bits for a good week after ballycotton 10, primarily because you tend to go much faster in a race condition (you find the race taking you along so to speak). My legs were very sore, as i did not do any warm down (big mistake).
I’ll probably win the fucking thing
dont run out anyways
Warms ups are fairly important, but over rated at the same time. For running you could run into the race slowly to warm up. I believe the warm is more about the mental side. Of course if you are going for a PB or race seriously then a warm is more important as you’d want to start well.
the warm down is the key, way way more important than a warm up, for running or football.
you’ll be grand
any lad who claims to be fit should be well capable of 10 k
last 2-3 k could be interesting if you don’t hold off at the start and burn too much energy
maybe a few longish runs (say 6k and 8k) just to have you in the right state of mind to finish off the race strongly.
try for yer man’s 4.7/km and see how that suits you
you’ll have to run at least 6k to get an accurate feel for what it takes out of your legs
plenty calf, hamstring and quad stretches in the meantime (Kev’s yoga idea is a good one, just the right sort of stretches required to get your muscles ready for medium distance)
maybe try and get someone on a bike to trail behind or set up a playlist of fairly similar stuff (tempo-wise) to maintain a decent rhythm
should have little or no impact on your pace or footballing ability (keep training for about 6 months and you’ll notice a difference alright, having the turning circle of a truck was the straw that broke my camel’s back)
Runt
47min for 10km is a decent clip
Generally anything under 50 is alright, under 45 is good, under 40 is very good and 35 and under is elite. Having said that you’d find most of the field finishing from 45min back in a typical 10k race
If you have a decent level of fitness you’ll finish 10k no bother, maybe not in the time you want but no problem getting around. Pacing in long distance is crucial- even 10 secs a km too fast really adds up over 10km and leaves you completely bollixed. A few long runs will get your body used to running for a decent period of time at one go- one a week at race length or a bit longer for a few weeks prior to the run will give you an iodea of what you are going to be faced with.
Depending on your age and fitness level 47min could be very easy for you. I’ve no idea. It took me the guts of 4 months training to get my time sub 50 min but I’m probably older and was certainly coming from a zero fitness level.
Beir bua
adrenalin will be help for last couple of ks
Do you get it in tablets or is it an injection?