The Pretend Fitness Thread

Have all the gear.

Shower in work.

Have locker for suits and shirts.

Hammies rarely an issue from the cycling itself, more from over development of the quads, which can then then lead to imbalances. So specific Hammy strengthening exercises would be a help.

You wouldn’t need alot though. Set up on a bike is critical, saddle height etc.

Please change your avatar to Indiana Jones.

I can feel my fitness coming back slowly but surely and I smashed it last night after getting home from the cup final:

There’s absolutely no doubt in my mind that I can go below 23 minutes for 5km.

cc @flattythehurdler (and son), @Breaking_my_balls

Well done mate,

Remember the difference between Try and Triumph, is just a little bit of UMPH

well done. A very flat route but a decent pace for an evening jog. You can do anything you set your mind to.

Don’t have your bike in the biggest gears. A nice handy gear that you can spin will do the job. Even a fixie.

I’m doing a 10k on Wednesday. I ran about 5 miles last weekend and I ran for about 20 mins on the treadmill once a week for a few weeks before that. I meant to do a run yesterday but I was upside down after three days of a music festival. I’ll do 40 mins on the treadmill this evening, it will be grand.

Run in the dark, mate?

that is sub 8 minute milling, that would be an incredible achievement

Metropolis, bro?

Excellent. My young lad did 24 10 on Saturday and is also aiming to break 24 this coming weekend. What is great to see is how encouragement works. He is at a school where an ordinary sort has little chance of getting picked for anything as they hand out sports scholarships etc. (it’s a bit like DIT)
They threw his whole year out on a cross country run and he came in about 20th, but at least ten or more lads ahead of him were busy with their sports, so, by process of that, and others not wanting to, he got picked to run for the school. Since then, in three successive 5ks, he has knocked at least three successive minutes off his time.
Hes not the most talented, but he can hurt himself, that’s the key.
Excellent @bandage. 23 something is good going, and fuck what anyone else says.

Damn the improving little shit. Beating 24:10 is now my next target.

Indeed. I had to give the little fecker a tenner.

Yup

And, yup

I did that, but after he sued his pal, I figured there were more worthy charities.

I didn’t know that. Someone in work roped everyone into doing it, if I’m signing up for a run in doing the 10 at least.

Any good, pal? Many howyas at it?

I thought it was great mate. It wasn’t sold out but was busy enough. RDS a good venue for a festival, nice mix of areas and being indoors is good. Crowd was pretty sound, more younger ones on the Saturday but not too many. Having planned after parties with DJs from the festival in select clubs around Dublin with most of the tickets free or on sale at discount at the festival was a good touch. Dublin bus had buses from outside the gate into town after which was handy. Line up was fairly dance music heavy but was decent.

Grace Jones on Saturday was probably the best show I’ve ever seen cc @Fagan_ODowd

first time out there since Dublin this evening, 5k easy in 24 minutes, I wanted to open up my legs and express myself as I was feeling good, but held off