The Pretend Fitness Thread

Something else moves inside you on the fast downhill descents too!

Back from a 30km run this morning. Pace wasn’t great (5:25/km) and struggled a little but one of the lads set up a nice route with a lot of country hills and then a forestry loop. We’d about 320m elevation going around. Of course, the same fella who set the course mugged us off with the flu this week so we are going to go back next week and do it faster

I went down to the gym tonight for a bit of stretching, I suppose you could call it a little of tradition of mine on a Monday night

Claire Byrne discussing supplements on her show. Ray Shah on supporting supplements.

Good Christ these supplements. Some guy on the show listed off about 10 supplements he takes.

Latest doc I’ve watched on the Western States @Tassotti

https://youtu.be/uLY51A6XeoU

This is a lad when an itch he needs to scratch. Was surprised to see musician Ben Gibbard as one of his pacers. Gibbard gave up the booze and riding Zooey Deschanel for ultra running.

Ah lovely, I must watch this now, I remember Jurek carried him over the line and he got disqualified

That’s the fella. I’ve become obsessed with the history of this race. The woman who won it last year went around the course with a smile on her face for 18 hours; some spirit

Did you ever read Born to Run and the race described in it towards the end?

No pal. I must get it

20 tough miles today the last 5k really laboured. I hope I’m not overcooked for Manchester

Does Fintan ever be there at the endline? Some buzz I’d say

Poor Fintan

Jesus Christ I am fucked today

+1, might be signing out of the fitness thread and into the injuries thread. Physio Tuesday :frowning:

Dont say you wernt warned

Gobshites running the years off their lives

I know . I mean the to cc yourself and @caoimhaoin. What a fool I am with all this road running lark. I’ll be crippled in a few years

Crazy game.

I program for a number of distance runners but the first thing i ask them to do is give it up. They say no so then i simply try to make it as easy going as possible for them. damage limitation essentially

What’s a safer / better form of exercise for an older man who’s fond of running and would like to continue that to the extent possible?

Big time. Only started doing a bit of running less than two years and found I was enjoying it more than I expected. Have been very lucky to date injury wise, but have my first (and probably only) marathon in five weeks time and the IT band is giving bother. Said from day one that I’d never put myself through a marathon but I got suckered into it