running a marathon or an ultra is a sign of a real man, I have absolutely no respect for lads who do half marathons and that kind of thing. All this bolloxollgy about it taking years off your life, where is the evidence? I know lads that have run 10 marathons in 10 days, I got passed out by a lad who was 76 in a off road marathon last year, its absolute bullshit peddled by people with an agenda
Buy a skipping rope mate
I’d be fearful of wear and tear around my ankle area.
My ankles are banjaxed as well. Skipping far less painful for me than road running anyways
Cycling
Pal that’s the inspiration I needed to get over my slump this weekend. I’ll take a few days off, get some guidance from my physio and be back watching ultra trail marathon documentaries before the week is over
Glute & ankle mobility and foam rolling is key for you so.
The IT Band is not even facia so its a waste of time rolling it
Big time. Came on me last week and was doing a lot of work on calves and glutes all week. Going to see physio on Tuesday to confirm it’s it band and what action I need to take.
Some people are genetically suited to it, around 1% active and probably somewhere around 10% of the actual population.
The injury lists at the physios, the hip replacemwnts, knee replacemwnts etc.
Then consider any invasive surgery is expected to knock years off your life.
Excessive running kills strength and bone density. This can lead to poor mobility as you age. Poor mobility means more likely to hace falls etc.
How many people do you know that have a fall and go downhill quickly from there. They break a hip or a bone. Excessive running puts people more into that bracket. Esoecially when they get injured and fight thru it. And have poor technique (probably 99% of runners are poor runner biomechanically).
Strength training, martial arts and running combo i would suggest. Maintain running sire, but don’t excessively train for it.
Also use Cardiac Output Sessions. Very handy for low imoact aerobic develooment. Run on grass, do field tempo running etc.
Mix it up. My marathon runners do only 1 long run every 14 days
???
To what?
Krav Maga or Judo. Great stability, very disciplined, you will be able to defend yourself. Great for fitness in general.
And quite confronting, especially Krav Maga. Doing a bit of it with Ju-Jitsu myself now.
For the middle aged TFKer, shorter distances and pumping iron to build muscle is the way to go:
I’d say he has a blackbelt in paper pushing already.
Okay flatty. That’s not a nice post.
I agree. I withdraw it unreservedly.
As an aside, your pal should definitely have a go at sports writing/ reporting.
cringe