The Pretend Fitness Thread

@Bandage don’t dream about the sub 25. Train for it.

Forget speed work. You need more endurance which means more runs. Try and get out 4 times at least. Just easy runs i.e. should be able to hold a conversation easy. At the end of one of these, do about 8 strides i.e. 20 second sprints. They help form.

I know mate, but it’ll only be an hour, I’ll survive.

I was inspired during parkrun yesterday by the blind man with a cane and chaperon, the over 60s ladies’ marathon runners and of course the buggy pushing dads. I’m determined to finish ahead of some of them next week.

We used to always try and beat this blind lad doing a series of 6k trail runs back in the day at someplace called Haigh Hall (iirc) near Bolton.
We finally beat him after a year of trying and were delighted until someone pointed out that he may just have had a different guide (he used hold a rope attached to the guide)

Can anyone give tips to help your toes during long runs? My big toes are in bits these days. My runners/trainers/strides are grand size wise

Some people put plasters on their toes. Your feet may also be swelling so you could look at going up .5 size on your running shoes. Try a few different types of socks first.

First proper distance spin this year done. 95km done (29km avg. but a grand group of 14). Have been atein’ all round me since.

Make sure to wear good socks, 1000 mile or stance are available from the edge, go up half a size in shoes if you haven’t already

But mostly it’s about suffering through it for a while, was my biggest problem for a long time and still troubles me, is it the ‘bottom’ of the toes where it meets the main foot?

I’ve found that those 1000 mile suit me. But definitely try a few different ones. You would want to be nailing down your race gear by start of October @Locke. Make sure everything has been worn and washed a few times.

Normally wear my Specialized socks that I have for cycling! FML, didn’t think socks could make a difference. Will look into those brands.

At the top of my toes, under the nail. Left foot is worse as it’s a bit bigger than my right foot. Left big toenail is fairly battered, right big toe nail is quite red under the nail. I’m afraid to use plasters

Oh clip the nails before a run as well!

I lost four big toe nails in about two years but it was all from playing Astro turf football FFS. When you start running trails properly (as I know this will be your next move) , you might need to go up half a size as the foot pushes forward when you go downhill.

Different problem to mine so by the sound of it, I’d still consider spending a bit of money on good socks, stance are my favorite but the 1000 mile are really good as well, they’ll prevent blisters in any case, you’d be talking about 12-15 euro a pair
I’m like a child in a sweet shop in the Edge on Kinsale road

Have left ‘000s behind me there ffs

@Locke Vaseline around toes does the trick. Also 1000 miles socks are worth the investment when you are doing marathon mileage.

Running, cycling or swimming lads? I’m thinking 3 times a week. I’m fed up of the gym and don’t like so many people around me.

Swimming

Two cycles and one of the others in spring/summer

Reverse for winter

What type of push bike would I want starting off?

Get yourself a racer mate .

Can you get a bike to work?