The Public Transport Thread

How much would it cost to make it work alongside the Dart North?

Would it be more or less than 10bn plus whatever Dart North is costing?

Why would you want a line from Swords joining dart north?

What about connectivity from the west, making them.go to glasnevin and then getting the metro is.much better than connolly

With the money saved from not spending 10bn on a ridiculous vanity project you could build many rail systems

But this is Dublin we’re talking about here, and the Dubs don’t give two shits about what happens outside the Pale.

Our tax subsidises you guys mate

Let JP build it.

'Hey, you’re not taking that into the lift?" asks an astonished Jimmy Rabbitte, to which the boy replies: "I have to, the stairs would kill him!

The EU reunification of Ireland fund will cover that

Some kind of light rail going from UL to Raheen industrial estate would be great, cutting through the city. Will never happen.

There was incredible posts on here on a few years back about lads getting the bus to England 30 years ago. This might bring back some memories.

@Tassotti will be in floods of tears when he sees this

Ennis from outside the old Burren cinema to Victoria Coach station in about 15 hours, great value

70 quid??? IIRC it was 25 quid back in the late 90s/early 2000s. 300% inflation

Agreed. Put two in cork instead

Bit less, you’re not converting from punts to euros.

We got the bus to Liverpool while in College for the Grand National one year. Twas savage craic. You get all sorts of weirdos travelling on those buses. Fairly sure that bus was heading from Liverpool down to London as well. We were let off in the centre of Liverpool around 3.30am which was a bizarre time to be letting 20 drunk lads loose on the streets

20 punts: 25quid

Still seems very low. Bus Eireann return from Limerick to Dublin was around €15 in 2001 I think.

it was 11 pounds from dublin to letter kenny in 93

It isn’t a fraction of the price. You’re adding on costs in your post alone.

A DART line in an empty field to the airport on a congested line will of course be far cheaper.

Why do people have such an issue with capital expenditure by governments? The only thing you can be sure we are leaving for the next few generations. Nobody will be complaining about the National Children’s Hospital once finished, they’ll be moaning about something else.