The schools

Our kids NS is back the 27th but will finish the 20th June and appears to be a response to the trend of people taking their kids from school earlier and earlier each year to get a cheaper foreign holiday

Cc @TreatyStones

Schools start earlier as it allows them to take ‘roll back’ days later in year. Dept dont like it and it will be highlighted if the school gets a whole school inspection.

Is it done to suit the teaching staff then?

That does appear to be it. Schools should not be back before 1 September. Reality is many parents are tied in to August only holidays.

There should be proper policing of all of this from the Department of Education and this practice of taking kids out of school during term time for holidays. I know from talking to my sister who lives in Munich that school attendance is rigorously enforced in Germany. The practice of taking kids out of school in June or the like to go on school holidays simply wouldn’t happen. She tells me that if a kid of school going is in an airport during school term, the authorities are all over it like a rash.

These week long mid-term breaks in February for teachers to go on ski trips are an utter farce.

I was actually interested. It’s certainly made things more awkward for my pal who is having to relocate his daughter 10 days earlier than anticipated.

Basically, it is voted on in most schools. Staff giving option of 1 roll back day, 2 roll back days or none. The latter would result in schools back on 26th. All schools must have a minimum of 167 tuition days.

Cat has been let out of the back since Covid. These strict timetables are a thing of the past whether it be work or education. Even crèches can decide to close on a whim cc @Bandage

We are heading to Mallorca at the end of August. Its half the price. Fuck the Germans.

Tuition ends the 26th of May or whenever those tests are.

June is a farce but it’s grand.

Fuck the Germans indeed.

My lad’s school isn’t reopening until Monday, 2 September, & I was wondering about the disparity in dates the schools were back until reading this thread. However, the crèche/afterschool/summer camp place my two attend is closed this week for staff holidays. I did the Viking Splash Tour with my lads yesterday morning & was back at the desk in the afternoon to discuss accrued interest some more.

I don’t know what a roll back day is?

When I was in school we finished at the very end of June and started back at the very start of September, now it seems to have gotten earlier on both sides

My youngest fellow is back in primary school on Monday, 2 September. From what I can ascertain it seems to be largely the secondary schools that are going back in August and as early as Monday, 19 August.

Haven’t heard of any primary school back in August. An admittedly small sample of 5-6 local primary schools.

I hope the camping went well with the young fella Dan. August only holidays are a thing of the past in the new world of flexible working and climate change. The young lady is starting first year tomorrow and i think is in pretty much every day from then, albeit for a couple of hours most days for the first week. Embrace the change and book yourself a little week of winter sun around the new february bank holiday. Worked wonders for us.

My eldest is starting in Juniors this day week.

That’s it. Who gives a fuck if the kids miss a day here and there or even a week of school. As Spidey said covid changed all utterly and I certainly wouldnt give a shite now about mine missing a bit.

@backinatracksuit a ‘roll back day’ I presume are the discretionary days primary schools can take. I think they have three a year and any day in August worked is another one. Allows schools extend bank holiday weekends or Feb mid term. If there’s plenty of notice of this I can’t see the problem. Every school still does the same amount of days.

I don’t have a problem with kids missing days here and there. Issue this year is, daughter is stating secondary school in first year this Friday. She’d ordinarily be only too happy to miss the odd day here and there. They all want to be in first day in secondary school though so we have to traipse hike earlier than we would have had. Friday 23 August or Monday 19 August is scandalously early to be dragging first years into school.

:clap::clap:

What do we think of Norma’s crackdown on phone use in secondary schools?

Whats the argument for what the crackdown is a bad thing?

To be a contrary bollix and be against things?