A gentleman and a scholar
That was a great piece, John Oxx as always is so modest and unassuming, a class act.
What happened to Oxx poost STS? He routinely had top class horses before STS came along but nothing at all afterwards. If anything you would have thought it would have springboarded him to the real big time
It was too late in life to go larger-scale when STS happened, if he would have been that way inclined in any case
No more worlds to conquer.
Virus in yard
Any word on him getting a tenant since he retired?
It would be sad to see a yard like that go derelict.
Did not hear.
I broke down crying listening to that podcast.
John ox is a gentleman to his very core. What a race horse.
Listened to half of that there walking the dog. Yer man Walsh has a grand unobtrusive style of interviewing
Only getting round to listening now. Bang on about the Arc being the greatest commentary, Dawn Runs GC is the only one that even compares
That was beautiful. I was welling up, I don’t know if John Oxx understands how much STS means to the people of Ireland
Two aspects, I think the way horses are being trained for Classics has changed and yokes with 2yo form seem to be winning more.
If you’re not going to be a factor in a classic, its hard to get the best stock from owners. Aga Khan thing killed him as well.
Now, the main reason, he never got on the gas.
Great trainer, has a better big race CV than even Weld. No mouldy Aussie cups and secondary breeders cup races, he won the real races, undiluted stallion making races, English Guineas, Epsom Derby, King George, Arc. Spring, high summer, autumn. The real stuff.
I love Weld, but he shouldve won the Arc with that filly last season. I compare them because they were both brilliant trainers. Weld for longevity and numbers, Oxx for quality.
Kinnane was toying with him there
my claim to fame, i threw that newspaper in the air