The Sobriety Thread

64 days without alcohol. Longest since I was around 17 I’d say. I’m hoping that by the time the pubs open they’ll all have Guinness Zero on tap :crossed_fingers:

Did you make a choice to go dry or is it an occurance of the current situation?

Fair play to you none the less I’ve had 1 drink since Christmas. Herself wanted to make cocktails so I had one for sake of

Was tipping away over the Christmas and thought I’d take a month out. But at the end I said I’d go for another one/wan as I could really see the benefits to it. The hangovers kill me and even with a small drop I’d be tired and emotional in the mornings. So will keep going for another while, see how far I get.

Fair play. Pubs reopening likely to turn your head? Or reckon could stick without it even when open?

I have it in my head that once we have pubs open so that we can walk in and have a pint I’ll have one then. But like I say, if they can offer Guinness Zero I’d be happy out. I hear the taste isn’t too bad.

Would be something very positive to come.out.of covid if maintained. Fair play

I’m the same, definitely handier than I thought. But pubs closed obviously play a big part.

Biggest thing I’ve noticed for me is sleep is generally better.

I wasn’t drinking 7 days btw. Just a blow out Friday or Saturday.

The anon lads were fierce alcos

I drank over Christmas every day alright but maybe 2/3 bottles a day with one good lash off it I think. I’d say I’d have a blowout 2/3 a year at this stage (10 pints or more) but the thought of that definitely doesn’t really float my boat anymore.

I exaggerated there by saying blowout, probably between 5-10 drinks Friday/Saturday. Definitely not 10+ pints every time :sweat_smile:

I’m gonna break my duct in 2 weeks though for a day of Cheltenham but I’m gonna go off it then again.

It’s been interesting enough to see what it’s like without the routine of drink though i have to say.

Where the AA gets its name from

Had a can of Guinness Zero there.

Not bad.

@Locke I hope you’re back on the sauce by now?

I am Tank but not too much. Had five (5) pints on Friday evening and they were noble.

Anyone had a pint of this on tap?

I’ve seen the advertising for it in a few supermarkets now but never seen the actual cans. I don’t know how much I’d be bothered with cans but a halfway decent pint of draught would be a gamechanger.

Decent tasting zero alcohol beer is the holy grail of the brewing industry

It’s still a can in the pubs.

The seriousness with which this lad is doing this test is giving me ire.

A keg of the Zero-Zero would be interesting.

I’d give you more money next year if you went on a week long bender instead of a big cycle.

I hadn’t a drink from mid November until early August. Not really a conscious effort, but not a huge amount of opportunity to go on the piss in the intervening period. I’m either fully on the piss or couldn’t be arsed with very little middle ground. So in the last 6-7 years I’d probably only drink once every month or two.

Streak was broken by barely half a glass of Father in law’s home brew cider. Which was a lot nicer than I expected. A small reward for a few lads helping to clean up a local graveyard which has been falling apart. Had a few drinks the other night at a neighbourhood party for some crowd who are selling up and moving home to Kilkenny. :sunglasses:

That’ll probably do me until spring. :man_shrugging: