The Sport of Kings & Equine Matters 🐐

[quote=“Mac”]Looks like the kind of day to follow Willie over a cliff

Edit - would love to see Solwhit blowing the Hurricane away but unlikely[/quote]

im strongly of the opinion that the 2mile novice division was very poor last year, with the supreme being the worse renewal in years. For that reason alone its hard to know what to make of hurricane fly as he has being beating pretty inferior animals albeit very impressive on the eye. solwit definitely has the better form from last year as his win at aintree over 2.5miles was one of the best novice performances last year in beating the older horses. also his win over punjabi was no fluke and shows that he has the pace for two miles.

Hurrican fly could easily prove to be a monster but at the point in time there is more substance to solwit.

definitely a watching brief for me today.

[quote=“fenwaypark”]im strongly of the opinion that the 2mile novice division was very poor last year, with the supreme being the worse renewal in years. For that reason alone its hard to know what to make of hurricane fly as he has being beating pretty inferior animals albeit very impressive on the eye. solwit definitely has the better form from last year as his win at aintree over 2.5miles was one of the best novice performances last year in beating the older horses. also his win over punjabi was no fluke and shows that he has the pace for two miles.

Hurrican fly could easily prove to be a monster but at the point in time there is more substance to solwit.

definitely a watching brief for me today.[/quote]

Today won’t be a true reflection either I’d say given the bog they’ll be running in. That could turn things in Solwhits favour.

as an aside some of those mullins novices will be turned over today. willie takes a softly softly approach with his novices as compared to his bumper horses.

definitely, no pace what so ever in race. in all probability it’ll turn into a sprint and the fly will win. Shame as a true run race would be very revealing with muirhead giving the form a solid look.

Balls, backed Moore’s there in the Greatwood after following “Nige” all autumn. In fairness, he said in the RP yesterday he’d win.

NTD always says they are going to win:thumbsup: Was right time to catch kyber kim. Best fresh and in a bog. wont win another race timm this time next year.

Nice performance by solwit there mac. Showed a great turn of foot and serious champion hurdle contender after that especially as he stays that extra half a mile. Just confirms how poor those novices were as a whole last year.

Nige is very positive alright! But he made cogent arguments for his horse which he fails to do when he says stuff like Ollie Magern has a big chance in the Gold Cup! Solwhit superb there, a serious tool, a stayer with a turn of foot.

he’ll be a good runner up to binocular in march:thumbsup:

I’m not a huge fan of Binocular, a flat track bully who’s possibly starting to think about the game imho.

its all about opinions ss. Binocular is the best hurdler since istrabraq in my opinion. As stated on this thread earlier he missed 2 weeks of work in run up to cheltenham due to weather. in his last piece of work in a racecourse gallop at kempton he barely beat his workhorse the polomouche.

This makes his performance in champion hurdle all the more remarkable. AP was fuming afterwards and was adamant that with a prep he have won as he had a huge blow after race. He definitely acts at track. he was second in supreme as 4yo. first time ap had ridden him and if he rode the race differently he might hae beaten captain cee bee. nothing was finishing faster than him up the hill last year and he might well have got up in another few yards. He was only five and should show more improvement from 5 to 6 as punjabi did last year

Viable excuses last year alright and as near to winning as made no difference the year before. I still think he’s seen to better effect on a flat track and I wouldn’t necessarily agree that he’ll improve again this year. He never struck me as a scopey individual, starting to get warm in prelims now too. Could see him doing very well again this winter and still getting beat at Cheltenham.

your right hes not scopey, but he’ll definitely be a stronger horse. i remember well chief getting beat in a triumph but got stronger physically to win arkle the following year.

anyway roll on the trials, plenty to look forward to and keep us warm over the winter.

Jump Racing - things that ae right:thumbsup:

Feel free to bump this thread in March when he inevitably powers up the hill! :smiley: I will say this for him, his technique over hurdles is as close to Istabraq’s flawless technique as you’d see.

BTW What do you make of JP’s recent policy of sending NH mares to Sadler’s Wells? Mayasta, Aunt Aggie and the dam of Cardinal Hill whose name escapes me to name just three. A rather decadent and wholly unsuccessful pursuit of another Istabraq ?

whats the crack with this bumper today in punchestown lads?
im getting tips left, right and center for a yoke called frawley, think its trained by john kiely and his youngfella claiming seven is on board…
any of ye hear anything??

[quote=“mickee321”]whats the crack with this bumper today in punchestown lads?
im getting tips left, right and center for a yoke called frawley, think its trained by john kiely and his youngfella claiming seven is on board…
any of ye hear anything??[/quote]

john kiely has no kids, so thats not his youngfella. thats about all i can tell you about that bumper mickee.

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER**”]Feel free to bump this thread in March when he inevitably powers up the hill! :smiley: I will say this for him, his technique over hurdles is as close to Istabraq’s flawless technique as you’d see.

BTW What do you make of JP’s recent policy of sending NH mares to Sadler’s Wells? Mayasta, Aunt Aggie and the dam of Cardinal Hill whose name escapes me to name just three. A rather decadent and wholly unsuccessful pursuit of another Istabraq ?[/quote]

I like JP but i do hate the way he buys horses in run up to chelt just to have a contender in big races. Karabak and miss serene spring to mind last year. personally i would not feel the same satisfaction as one i had from day one.

sound
based on that info
the quality of the tip has dropped dramatically

Agree 100% re JP’s purchases. I suppose his buyers of young stock are so useless they have to buy a few ‘off the shelf’ individuals to save face at the festival. If you randomly bought horses you’d surely buy better than what they’ve bought over the years.

As regards the bumper, it’s not like John Kiely to get it so, so wrong like that.

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER**”]Agree 100% re JP’s purchases. I suppose his buyers of young stock are so useless they have to buy a few ‘off the shelf’ individuals to save face at the festival. If you randomly bought horses you’d surely buy better than what they’ve bought over the years.

As regards the bumper, it’s not like John Kiely to get it so, so wrong like that.[/quote]

Berry went through a period of just buying practically every bumper winner in ireland at inflated prices. i think it was the success that wiley had with purchases off the flat and latterly success of french breds with nichols has resulted in a change of buying policy. nicky henderson is after getting a couple of the high profile french purchases this year, names escape me.

looking forward to seeing if lidar lives up to its tall reputation in this bumber at cheltenham. always an informative race.