The Sport of Kings & Equine Matters šŸ

What did he do wrong Pukey? Didnt see the race but from the reports I read Kauto hit a lot of fences on the way around. He had no chance with the fall in fairness.

Thought he got him way too close to the third last and then was riding him far too hard after a good jump at the second last which ended up with kauto overextending at the last and falling yet there was plenty of ground between the last and the finsishā€¦Didnā€™t think Tamarinbleu was going to stay and he didnā€™t and thomas should have been a bit more patientā€¦Thought the horse never looked settled throughout the race as wellā€¦Donā€™ think ruby would have made the same mistakesā€¦

Sam Thomas is certainly not to blameā€¦ KS just didnt jump well and the fall was inevitable. Best horse in training my hole.

As flagged in the early part of this thread, Oligarch Society won a maiden hurdle in nice style (and at a nice price - 6/1) in Gowran on Saturdayā€¦ Looks a smashing little mare.

Fair play to you for that HB. Gus Macrae was due to run in Cheltenham last week but pulled out. Mullins had Seamie Heffernan up on him which I thought was a strange one. Another one to watch Iā€™d say.

Would have to agree with you HB. Nicholls said in his post race interview that the horse was never travelling well.

Puke looking for a scapegoat?

Mac, Gus Macrae is part-owned by Coolmore, running in Paul Shanahans colours, so that is probably where the Heffernan appointment came from. JP Magnier rode him in gowran in his forst bumper and gave him a coont of a ride.

Magnier is probably the worst horseman to ever get up on a horse

Fact.

Iā€™ve never heard that happening before :rolleyes:

Harsh on young JP. His brother Tom was twice as bad.

Ah cā€™mon SS**, its hardly that harsh. Although Iā€™ll always remember the ride he gave Rhinestone Cowboy to win the Aintree hurdle in 2004.

Mac, I think itā€™s harsh to call him the worst jockey of all time when his brother was worse than him.

Pardon me, and apologies to JP, but Tom probably was worse

Sorry SS**, I was following up on HBā€™s point rather than Fran. Wouldnt say he was the worst of all time but have seen him ride a fair few stinkers in his time on fairly decent horses. Other lads with 3 times his ability never got a chance to ride a horse half as good as some of his average horses due to not having a daddy as rich as him.

Tis a tough one SS**ā€¦ It would be interesting of race on 3 equally rated horse over 2m 4f bumper trackā€¦ JP, Tom and 10stone of spudsā€¦ The spuds would proabably find it hard to keep the horse on course, but still should have enough in hand.

Jesus Tom was woeful, I remember some of his rides on Kilcash Castleā€¦ deary me. A bit of a bollix too. JP is actually a nice fella, but no good to ride either. A bad amateur.

We had JP lined up to appear at a college race night a few years back with Barry Geraghty, Paul Carberry and Ross Geraghty. Once word got out that JP was coming we had to ring him and tell him not to come cos a crowd of lads were planning on turning up to heckle him and make a general fool out of him. Weā€™d to tell him the night got cancelled at the last minute!

I assume though itā€™s being taken as a given that Barry Connell is far and away actually the most useless jockey of all time.

I know there his horses and he can do what he wants with them but fookin hellā€¦

exactly runt, they are his horses and you know what you are getting when he is upā€¦ He is probably better than Tom though.