Low Key this is not.

Fingers crossed for Barney and his band of brothers

Get in!

That’s taking the piss, how easy he won. Absolutely taking the piss

#EasyMoney

Fantastic :clap:

Superb:clap::clap:

Yet when JP pulls a stroke you’re first in to criticise :rolleyes:

[B]Blarney Curley[/B] ‏@Yellowsam1975[/URL][URL=‘https://twitter.com/Yellowsam1975/status/426061090427260929’]38m
As Gerry Adams said once “we’ve not gone away you know” That’s me retired lads!

Is this his real account? Some stroke all the same from Barney, fair play to him.

Huge gamble in the last at Kempton too, Castillo Light was as big as 16/1 this morning, 11/10 now, Kirbys up too, don’t think it’s one of Barneys though. Barney and his troops must have been planning that one for at least a year, probably two or three. Can’t wait to hear the craic when he comes for his Preview night in Salthill. You can be certain a huge chunk,(assuming the bookies pay out) will be going to DAFA

Winning trainer John Butler, a former assistant to Curley, denied any knowledge of the coup. “It is all speculation,” he said.

“It is three years since I was with Barney, who was good to me at the time, but we have gone our own ways. When I woke up this morning and looked at his price, I couldn’t believe it - it was a ridiculous price. I don’t know about betting. The horse was entitled to win.”

I doubt much was one. William Hill said that they paid out more on Sire DeGrugy on Saturday. Coral jacked the prices and laid nothing. Stan James put up the shutters once the liability hit 100k.

Powers and bet365 the ones with early prices so most prone. bet365 would have detection systems for midweek racing you’d imagine and with no shops would be limited. Powers the main ones exposed through shops but doubt much was lost despite what their press release will no doubt say.

One of the horses was trained by the wife of the former handicapper. How the fuck does he get away with it? :smiley:

Leading bookmakers were quick to downplay any claims of a “multi-million pound bloodbath” after four horses with some link to legendary gambler and former trainer Barney Curley obliged across the country on Wednesday.

The bookmaking industry had been on red-alert from early morning after latching on to the well-backed quartet, all of which were returning from lengthy absences and struck at Lingfield, Catterick and Kempton.

David Williams of Ladbrokes said: "It was a bad day at the office, nothing more and nothing less. We dodged most of the early morning frenzy but you can’t stop moving trains and we got caught up in some of it as the day panned out.

"Suggestions of a multi-million pound bloodbath are probably wide of the mark so we’re not going to lunge for the violins just yet. Our decision not to price the Kempton races up until as late as possible helped protect us from the worst of it and we certainly weren’t exposed to any of the overnight business where most of the fancy prices were snapped up.

“We are satisfied that the systems we have in place at our end are sufficient to protect us as best we can from circumstances like today. Ultimately we have a responsibility to keep on top of the rumours and trade accordingly, which we managed to do.”

Coral’s David Stevens said: "Although we avoided laying some of the larger prices overnight, we did see a number of multiple bets featuring these four horses both online and in shops, and throughout the day this number increased as word of the gamble that was taking place gathered momentum.

"Once the name Barney Curley was put into the mix - although there is no official confirmation he was involved - there is no question a lot of the bets placed would have been from punters with no knowledge of any plot but who were simply joining in the gamble.

"Victory for all four horses has cost us a six-figure payout, and based on our losses we would estimate the industry has been hit for something in the region of ÂŁ2million, which although still costly, is perhaps lower than some claims.

“As bookmakers we will take this on the chin as it goes with the business we’re in, but we would also look at the bigger picture, racing’s share of the betting market is decreasing, and while some punters will have profited from these winners, plenty would have bet against them in good faith, ensuring it’s not just the bookies who pay the price on days like these.”

First up was Eye Of The Tiger in the 32Red Casino Handicap at Lingfield, eventually going off at even-money and cruising nine lengths clear under Shane Kelly.

Now trained in Newmarket by Des Donovan, Eye Of The Tiger was a German Group Two winner but had not featured in seven starts for Curley, the last of which had been when finishing last of 13 at Haydock in September 2012.

Donovan said: "He’s had very bad problems and he won’t run under a penalty. I used to work for Mr Curley and I’m in his yard. No-one wanted to buy him and he said ‘do what you can with him’

The Lingfield stewards held an inquiry into the apparent improvement in form of Eye Of The Tiger.

Officials heard from Donovan, who stated that the horse had been in his care for seven months having previously been trained by Curley and its absence from the track was due to back problems and a near fore tendon injury.

Having heard his evidence, and received comments from the handicapper, the explanation was noted and Eye Of The Tiger was ordered to be routine tested.

Like Eye Of The Tiger, the Sophie Leech-trained Seven Summits was a former Curley inmate and made no mistake in the yorkshire-outdoors.co.uk Handicap Hurdle at Catterick.

Off the track since finishing third in a novice event at Fontwell in June, the seven-year-old travelled well throughout in the hands of Paul Moloney and while long-time leader Copt Hill pushed him all the way to the line, the 9-4 favourite was on top at the post.

Leech’s husband, Christian, told Racing UK: "He’s bandaged in exercise and when he’s in his stables and we just have to mind him very carefully, that’s why he’s got so few miles on the clock.

“I didn’t (have any money on). Someone just said that (there had been a gamble). He was 7-2, 4-1 in the paper anyway and Tony Carroll’s was very well fancied and that was a non-runner, so I’m not sure about that. I don’t know.”

Indus Valley, also trained by Donovan, landed the third leg of the four in the perceived gamble in the kempton.co.uk Handicap at the Sunbury track, but the 4-6 shot had to work hard to collect.

Seamster was three lengths clear going into the final furlong but Kelly produced a power-packed drive to get the seven-year-old home by half a length on his first run for 700 days.

Donovan was also interviewed by the Kempton stewards, stating that Indus Valley had been trained on his own following a year’s break, as he was known to be a hard puller in his previous races, and was better suited by being dropped back to six furlongs. The explanation was noted and the gelding ordered to be routine tested.

All eyes were on Low Key, trained by Curley’s former assistant John Butler, in the final leg, division two of the Kempton For Weddings Handicap, and the seven-year-old made no mistake on his first start since finishing seventh of seven over two miles at Southwell last February.

Sent off at 4-7 and racing in a first-time visor, Liam Keniry’s mount was always travelling with real purpose in the mile-and-a-half event and cruised up to take a gap at the quarter-mile pole.

Our Golden Girl ran on late but Low Key was a length to the good at the line.

This one won as well. Went into evens then drifted out to 3s. Think it was 2/1 for a finish

Will be see some bookies riding bicycles tomorrow I wonder?

Barnet what a fucking legend !!!

More embarrassment and shame for the horsey community.

[quote=“Mac, post: 891444, member: 109”]Yet when JP pulls a stroke you’re first in to criticise :rolleyes:
Huge difference to what JP is at Mac and I trust you know that too.

That’s bookmakers for you, always thinking of the punters

Black Hercules is evens for bumper tomorrow. That looks more than generous. The Tyner horse was impressive lto, but it was only a Cork bumper.

Double him with Zaidpour. Just under 2/1.