The TFK Hiking Thread

@PhattPike

On a whim a few of us have decided to do Brandon tomorrow. Never done it before and going to do the Faha loop.

Any tips? Any spots where you could fall off?

Free solo is a great watch. Now there is a chap that is punching.

I did it last year and really enjoyed it. It’s a tough enough slog in places.

Give the Alpinist a go if you haven’t seen it. Great show.

You should be fine. The climb at the end of the paternoster valley is a slog but nothing to be overly worried about. Weather doesn’t look mighty tomorrow so you may not see a whole pile.

Keep an eye out for bits and pieces of WW2 planes strewn about. You say loop - are ye planning on coming back via PĂ­aras MĂłr or just back out the same way ye went in?

That was a savage hike.
Very enjoyable. Much more preferable to Carrauntohil

There’s loads of better hikes that Carrauntoohill but it’s still top dog because it’s the biggest

Coomsheengaun in the Comeraghs is a great hike

This was the route

:heart_eyes: :heart_eyes:

Magic.

Fucking unreal

The finest days hiking in Ireland. Ye got grand enough conditions in fairness. The route up via the paternoster lakes is magical.

I haven’t been in that valley on the North side of the Faha ridge in about 15 years, did ye see any plane wreckage?

That route is unreal. Magical is right, a very surreal place. Then when you get to the top of the gully and the whole of slea head is stretched out before you.

Some plane wreckage

Are the planes from the war?

It’s the most scenic part of Ireland (pains me to say as a child of Connemara😄)

We just booked to go back for our now (it’ll be the second year) annual jaunt to Dingle/Slea Head

Did you stay below in Dingle?

No, was back home for 3

I did that on my recent hike to Glendalough. Normally we’d be out for pints to catch up but we had breakfast in my house at 7am off to Glendalough and was back home by 1

I can see why aul lads used to play golf as it’s a a nice way to hang out with pals

Surreal is right, I think it’s something to do with the way the mountains close in around you… Ah I set out to explain it, but I can’t really.

Yeah, there’s a four or five of them crashed in various locations near Brandon - a few RAF and one Luftwaffe I think.

There was a couple of flying boats I think. One was heading to Foynes from West Africa.

Remains of a German Condor which crash landed on the Faha Ridge. Another engine outside the pub in Cloghane.