The Ultrarunning Thread

This lad played hurling for Cork for a year or two. Former (well, on career break) Garda

Was a savage hurler.

Yeah I remember him play against Tipp in u21s in 2003 up in Thurles. Hugh Maloney gave a tour de France at wing back the same day

I know Paul most of my life and heā€™d tell you himself he was never a savage hurler in the traditional sense, he was a superb athlete as a hurler though and now heā€™s a superb athlete in every sense,
Could dominate games underage but didnā€™t have the hurling for senior inter county, are you his age?

I seen plenty of him. He deffo had it. Great attitude but was never going to displace o connor and kenny midfield. I would be much older.

https://www.britishultrarunningpodcast.com/?p=133

Wexfords (Galbally really) Paddy Oā€™Leary is currently taking part in the Ultra Trail Mont Blanc 170km race. His first time taking this distance on. He was in around 30th place but has slipped back to 41st now. Has 112km odd done and forecasted to finish around 2.30 local time.

Youā€™d want to be mad in the head to be doing this type of running from what I can make of it.

Crazy stuff altogether. Had a look at the profile and getting to the top of one of those mountains would be challenging enough. Think he set the record for Wicklow round few months back.

He did. It was then broken a few weeks later. His family is steeped in running. His Dad was involved with Bree and Wexford athletics for years, still is I think. Paddy is cut from a different cloth though. He played Lacrosse for Ireland and has run a 2:20 marathon without training for it. Ridiculously level headed and down to earth too, while half cracked behind it all.

One of my best pals growing up is the top 24 hour runner in Ireland, the maddest cunt I ever knew by a distance, was the best u14 hurler in Cork by a distance and packed it up overnight for no particular reason, crazy fellas alright.
Iā€™m just in the door from a 17 mile run meself though :muscle:

17 mile is my aim for tomorrow, 2:45 is the time aim

2:23 just now

Massive pace :clap:

What pace? 8.25m/m?
You are in good shape

Iā€™ve had some correspondence with Paddy in the past in relation to a bit of work to do, and he seems to be a sound fella. His Wicklow Round was beaten by a few minutes 8 days later by a Cooley man, who was subsequently beaten about a month later by a lad from Dublin. UTMB is a great event and thereā€™s full coverage of it online. I watched the first half hour of it yesterday. Pau Capell took the lead about 5km and ran the rest of it on his own. Heā€™s got about 5km to go to win it. Paddy seems to have dropped back a bit but according to his Instagram heā€™s had a few stomach issues (puking etc.) but is still moving forwards.

Eoin Keith?

Aidan Hogan, I suppose the accolade of best 24 hour runner in Ireland isnā€™t that straightforward :grinning:

He wouldnā€™t be the best mate but not far off it. Iā€™d go with the record holders. Keith is in early 50s at this stage actually
https://www.athleticsireland.ie/competition/statistics/mens-ultra-records/

A few seconds slower than that but Iā€™m doing grand, probably need a good taper to give my best