Youāve to be wired a bit differently to go to those extremes alright. Some fellas have signed up for The Race thinking itās totally doable without taking into account the terrain and climate up there.
I disagree, thereās people out there that like a savage challenge, that like to be out of their comfort zone the whole time, Thereā a savage natural buzz out of it, you canāt bate it, hitting the wall in a marathon or ultra marathon and having the balls to overcome it, thereās nothing like it
Thereās a serious buzz from being at one with nature and hammering away up a mountain, giving it everything and testing the body. I wonder about those who run 100 milers though - some of them seem well adjusted, whereas others have somewhat addictive personalities. For example, a good few swapped boozing for running (no bad thing). Thereās a fella from home who qualified for UTMB but didnāt make it in the lottery. One of the lads said that whatever he was into (basketball, cycling, etc.), he went in full steam and became absolutely consumed by it.
No, its on the list for me, Its meant to be unreal. I have London and New York this year along with a few others. I have to say i thought Manchester was good, apart from the state of the roads, they were like something youād find in Ireland cc @flattythehurdler
My first marathon is the end of this month pal. Iāve had to reassess my time goals after a few injuries. Looking forward to a few bottles of Guinness at the finish line.
Youāre not leaving long to recover between Manchester and London? Fair play! Iād love to do London but hard to get an entry. Have ran Berlin last 2 years and it was very good. Perfect conditions and great course.
al that recovery stuff is in the head, its a load of shite if you ask me. I ran a brutal off road marathon two weeks ago and was grand after it,it really stood to me in Manchester
A fella who ran a 2hour19 indoor marathon the week before Barkley failed to finish the first loop in the designated time.
He ran another marathon race the next day.