[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Cold due to south east winds.
I thought that they are the best kind of winds - warmest.
North I can understand but south east?
What have we done to the world?[/quote]
It is my understanding that:
the weather is cooler over land than over sea in winter time (probably due to heat capacity of water etc and other things more scientific)
So when you go eastwards to the continental land mass of Europe you get more snow
Also the weather arriving from the west is influenced by the gulf stream so it’s milder.
The weather usually arrives via this prevailing wind from the south west but we’re experiencing high pressure at the moment which is preventing the new weather fronts from the south west from arriving
the weather is cooler over land than over sea in winter time (probably due to heat capacity of water etc and other things more scientific)
So when you go eastwards to the continental land mass of Europe you get more snow
Also the weather arriving from the west is influenced by the gulf stream so it’s milder.
The weather usually arrives via this prevailing wind from the south west but we’re experiencing high pressure at the moment which is preventing the new weather fronts from the south west from arriving[/quote]
Also in some freak event the Gulf Streams path has been altered by the weather conditions and has now joined up with some Stream from Greenland/Arctic. This is not good apparently.
The english are just as badly hit as we are with the weather but there doesn’t seem to be half the rush to hang the politicians for some reason.[/quote]
Glibiddy globiddy goo, I dont want to hear from you.
Glibiddy globiddy gee, I am a killer of ye.
I don’t know. That’s just what I was told as a young fella. If you went to bed with a hot water bottle you could get chillblanes! I never questioned the it. Could be something to do with the bottle being hot and then going cold during the night?
Snow was general all over Ireland. It was falling on every part of the dark central plain, on the treeless hills, falling softly upon the Bog of Allen and, farther westward, softly falling into the dark mutinous Shannon waves. It was falling, too, upon every part of the lonely churchyard on the hill where Michael Furey lay buried. It lay thickly drifted on the crooked crosses and headstones, on the spears of the little gate, on the barren thorns. His soul swooned slowly as he heard the snow falling faintly through the universe and faintly falling, like the descent of their last end, upon all the living and the dead.
James Joyce, The Dead.
Jesus lads, looking at this from afar, its unbelievable. Someone recorded -17 last night in Tullow. I feel for yis, I don’t know how I’d cope in that weather. My oul fella is over with the brother in Boston at the moment, thinking he might stay a bit longer, as its warmer over there! Still, at least you have the Robinson’s to keep a warm glow in the heart.