Things That Are Wrong

Rubbish drivers. Example:

This morning I was on my way to work. I came out the apartment gates and gave a glance down the road and there was nothing in sight so out I went. I was about ten yards down the road and suddenly I noticed a car right up my arse. This car was doing some speed obviously so away I went doing about 30-40mph with this car on my tail.

I got to a set of pedestrian lights so I stopped. The single lane now split into two lanes, a bus lane and an ordinary lane and later on up the road the bus lane truns into a straight ahead lane and the ordinary lane turns into a right turn lane. Normal practice is for cars to use the ordinary lane and then turn left into the straight ahead lane when the bus lane stops. It is also the law. The bus lane also allows that little bit of leeway to your left as buses in the opposite direction can be pulling out and often cross the white line on the road.

Anyway the lights went green and away I went. The car behind went straight into the bus lane and took off. I saw it in my mirror but also there were buses and stuff indicating out in front so of me so I nudged into the bus lane partly to give them space to pull out and to block the car that was completely breaking the law. Anyway the usual ensued, the car beeped, I beeped back. In fact I was really infuriated and start waving my fist expecting to see some boy racer but it was some muck ugly fat bird with a kid in the front seat beside her.

That is what you are up against…

Driving tests. All wrong!

I’m still angry here.

That fat mess thought she had the right to beep me when she was blatantly breaking the rules of the rule…

Fooking disgrace…

Calm down there. You’ll be having a heart attack before you’re 30 at this rate.

totally with you there Farmer, I fcuking hate useless drivers, especially the cunts that dont know the rules of the road and then beep at you as if you are in the wrong.

I’d say only about half of the country actually knows how to use a roundabout. On Ray Darcy a while back some young one texted in saying she was having an argument with the fella over it. On a 2 lane entry, one lane exit roundabout, she wondered what lane to be in to go straight on. She said right, he said left. And of course everyone in Darcys studio was divided over it. how people still dont know rules and cant do things is beyond me.

I had one stupid bitch blow the horn at me at a roundabout one time. Again, 2 lane entry, one lane exit. I was turning right, so was in the right hand lane indicating as such. This bitch was in the left lane, and as I was going around, noticed that she was still going and was turning right too. Then as I was turning off into the exit, the inevitable 2 cars into one exit doesnt work, and she blows the horn at me! I stopped and looked back into the mirror at her, and I just couldnt believe how stupid she could be.

People taking ‘racing’ lines going striaght at roundabouts too, when you are turning right and if you dont stop then you’re fecked.

This country has some amount of useless drivers. Roads are bad, but the drivers are really bad.

Thats a diabolical story G. Taking the fooking left lane to go right defies belief.

Try the Walkinstown roundabout out for size. I’d say about 1% of the population know how to use that.

Just to put a little bit of balance on this, I was a passenger lately with Farmer driving from Dublin to west Cork and back and he made some schoolboy driving errors. I didn’t say anything at the time as I was relying on him to get there and back and didn’t want to cause an argument or scene.

[quote=“Flano”]Thats a diabolical story G. Taking the fooking left lane to go right defies belief.

Try the Walkinstown roundabout out for size. I’d say about 1% of the population know how to use that.[/quote]

thats a fair confusing roundabout alright, 3 lanes in, some with one and 2 exits, and 3/4 lanes going around it, but still shouldnt be too hard to manage, but as you say, majority wouldnt know what to do.

I’ve an uncle who lives just outside London, and from Luton to his house, there is a big roundabout junction that has 8 mini roundabouts around one big central one. Must try find a picture of it. He says it was confusing at first, especially seeing cars coming at the opposite direction to you, but once you get used to it, easy enough to use.

My driving was exemplemary that day Bandage. I would like to know what criticisms you came up with that day so as to allow me to improve in future. In all your three driving lessons you muist have a lot of experience to share.

Roundabouts are a source of a lot of my rage Gman. You get fookers that, when going straight ahead, go into the right hand lane either out of sheer stupidity (and beep you when you cut inside them correctly on the left) or in an attempt to pass you out for some reason.

Flano - Walkinstown Roudabout is a jungle. The only way to approach that
(unless taking first, second or last exit where its obvious) is to go into the middle lane and crawl around it. Cars coming from all angles and in worng lanes - expect the unexpected…

How many turn-offs on that? Seven or something?

There’s 6 turn-offs. Growing up just down the road from it helped me out with knowing how to deal with it though. Taxi men have no idea how to handle it at all.

found a diagram of that roundabout outside london I was talking about

http://www.hemelweb.demon.co.uk/images/magic.gif

and here is a shitty picture of it:

http://www.hemeltoday.co.uk/custompages/GetImage.aspx?ImageID=20856

Imagine how some of the stupid fooks in our country would be there.

Fooking hell…

I imagine that it is well signposted etc…

Oh good christ almighty. That does not look pleasant at all. Thats madness. Extreme road planning that is

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Rubbish drivers. Example:

This morning I was on my way to work. I came out the apartment gates and gave a glance down the road and there was nothing in sight so out I went. I was about ten yards down the road and suddenly I noticed a car right up my arse. This car was doing some speed obviously so away I went doing about 30-40mph with this car on my tail.

I got to a set of pedestrian lights so I stopped. The single lane now split into two lanes, a bus lane and an ordinary lane and later on up the road the bus lane truns into a straight ahead lane and the ordinary lane turns into a right turn lane. Normal practice is for cars to use the ordinary lane and then turn left into the straight ahead lane when the bus lane stops. It is also the law. The bus lane also allows that little bit of leeway to your left as buses in the opposite direction can be pulling out and often cross the white line on the road.

Anyway the lights went green and away I went. The car behind went straight into the bus lane and took off. I saw it in my mirror but also there were buses and stuff indicating out in front so of me so I nudged into the bus lane partly to give them space to pull out and to block the car that was completely breaking the law. Anyway the usual ensued, the car beeped, I beeped back. In fact I was really infuriated and start waving my fist expecting to see some boy racer but it was some muck ugly fat bird with a kid in the front seat beside her.

That is what you are up against…[/quote]

I’ll have to agree with Bandage here. I’ve seen the big man park his car in a smallish car park and the difficulties he encountered were ridiculous. Much the same as we all would now have trouble sitting on the chairs we used in naonra, Farmer has to try to operate the controls of a car clearly too small for his stature(a tractor might suit you actually, Farmer-big steering wheel/slow pace etc). Folding himself into an illfitting focus also must create some of that rage we see online daily.

From the above post I shall single out three causes for concern re the driving of ‘loathing from Leitrim’…

1. Stating he GLANCED down the road prior to exiting his drive- this exudes the presumption of correctness, a lazy driver. A glance is not enough, Farmer LOOK. As you might have seen the car which would be right up your ass in ‘about ten yards’.
    -I will accept that Farmer’s vision may have been obscurred by the roof of his own car if his head was pressed sideways against it to fit in.

2. ‘I nudged into the bus lane…and to block the car that was completely breaking the law’. Holy vindictive vigilante terror. Maybe being the big man induced fear in the schoolyard Farmer, but straddling the lanes of a national road to extract some vigilante ‘justice’ from the mother of a small child is sickening. You are neither the law nor an enforcer of it. Playing high stakes chicken on the roads of Ireland disgusts me.

3. ‘the usual ensued’. This is a REGULAR occurrance. The enraged one obviously becomes embroiled in these onroad duels with alarming regularity, endangering ALL of us with his wild, feckless attitude to the safety of others. Like an old school cop whose face no longer fits, he drives the highways and byways of our fair land railing against perceived infractions, seeking to settle scores.

This thread is a testament to the rage he contains*. Farmer I urge you to get out of the car and cycle/ walk/get the train. It’s for the common good.

*International research has shown that road rage is often caused by unhappiness in other facets of life, and particularly in males, perceived inadequacies.

Nice one Juhniallio - good attempt at a wind-up.

1. You never saw me park my car.
  2. I am a deadly driver. You are bum.
  3. I looked on the way out of the apartment
  4. Yep - it was road rage. What are you gonna do?*

Nothing compared to your rage on the football pitch though where you can’t keep that fat mouth of yours shut it appears…

• PS - liked that shite about the mother of a child…

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Nice one Juhniallio - good attempt at a wind-up.

1. You never saw me park my car.
  2. I am a deadly driver. You are bum.
  3. I looked on the way out of the apartment
  4. Yep - it was road rage. What are you gonna do?*

Nothing compared to your rage on the football pitch though where you can’t keep that fat mouth of yours shut it appears…

• PS - liked that shite about the mother of a child…[/quote]
  1. I’ve seen you park it more than once in the small car park where tfk used to play in Sandymount. My attention was drawn to your driving in much the same way as I wonder how those ships are fitted into the bottles when they clearly can’t fit in the end(my grandad used to have one, it was gift).
  2. Your posts on this thread prove otherwise. You are an over confident, uncareful rage merchant on the roads. I am currently gainfully employed.
  3. You glanced. You said it and your unobservance is underlined by the fact a car appeared
    ‘suddenly’.
  4. I have on pitch rage issues. It’s a healthy outlet for my anger. Beind the wheel of a two tonne death machine with the blood noiling is not. I’m currently trying to work through my ire issues as opposed to shying away from them. I’ve only been sent off once for mouthing ever. It was in a five-a-side with a vindictive ref who singled me out before the game for some of his treatment… Last week was for a tackle apparently…

[quote=“Juhniallio”]1. I’ve seen you park it more than once in the small car park where tfk used to play in Sandymount. My attention was drawn to your driving in much the same way as I wonder how those ships are fitted into the bottles when they clearly can’t fit in the end(my grandad used to have one, it was gift).
2. Your posts on this thread prove otherwise. You are an over confident, uncareful rage merchant on the roads. I am currently gainfully employed.
3. You glanced. You said it and your unobservance is underlined by the fact a car appeared
‘suddenly’.
4. I have on pitch rage issues. It’s a healthy outlet for my anger. Beind the wheel of a two tonne death machine with the blood noiling is not. I’m currently trying to work through my ire issues as opposed to shying away from them. I’ve only been sent off once for mouthing ever. It was in a five-a-side with a vindictive ref who singled me out before the game for some of his treatment… Last week was for a tackle apparently…[/quote]

1. Missed the last part of that.
  2. Posts on a thread on an internet forum prove the ability of a driver now. Jaysus someone get on to the Goverment and get those waiting lists down…
  3. Glanced… looked… I had a clear view of the road for about 200 yards and there was not a car in sight
  4. vindictive ref… singled me out… for a tackle apparently…
    Always someone else’s fault. You were mouthing at the ref in the first half. The ref was there thinking ‘right this guy is a mouthy little fook’ (he’s right) so when you hacked yer man down he said ‘I’ve had enough of this tubby little coont’ and yellow carded you. Then you kept roaring at him from the line at which point he told you to shut up or you would be gone for good. You then proceeded to shout again at him when you thought the fine minutes were up so as to let you back on the pitch!

Not slagging you for your performances on the pitch seeing as I am hardly Lionel Messi but you clearly have no right to slag me for rage…

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]1. Missed the last part of that.
2. Posts on a thread on an internet forum prove the ability of a driver now. Jaysus someone get on to the Goverment and get those waiting lists down…
3. Glanced… looked… I had a clear view of the road for about 200 yards and there was not a car in sight
4. vindictive ref… singled me out… for a tackle apparently…
Always someone else’s fault. You were mouthing at the ref in the first half. The ref was there thinking ‘right this guy is a mouthy little fook’ (he’s right) so when you hacked yer man down he said ‘I’ve had enough of this tubby little coont’ and yellow carded you. Then you kept roaring at him from the line at which point he told you to shut up or you would be gone for good. You then proceeded to shout again at him when you thought the fine minutes were up so as to let you back on the pitch!

Not slagging you for your performances on the pitch seeing as I am hardly Lionel Messi but you clearly have no right to slag me for rage…[/quote]

Farmer, this is about your driving, not my rage on a football pitch. You have blatantly refused to address the issues I have raised, merely seeking to caution me over my non road related rage(something I’m quite content talking about in the correct forum). I only hope that deep down you can accept my points and that this ‘big man’ persona is a charade.

As an accountant you should be capable of simple maths. If you can see two hundred yards down a road, how fast does a car have to be travelling to be up your arse within ten yards?

While Farmer is not the quickest or most technically gifted driver in the world {22 second fastest lap at recent go-karting event was considerably slower (1 or 2 clear seconds) than anyone else} he drives with caution and has a conservative road nature from what I have seen.

Fair enough Larry, although I feel justified in discounting your comment completely, as I think we’d both agree that the last time we shared an automobile(a 4.5 hr journey) your observation was appalling.