Things That Are Wrong

Bicyles on the road is wrong.
(I know exactly what you’re going to say back to me Ben so this will be my last appearance on this thread)

[quote=“Flano”]Bicyles on the road is wrong.
(I know exactly what you’re going to say back to me Ben so this will be my last appearance on this thread)[/quote]

Bicycles are wrong on the footpath aswell Flano, where the fuck are we supposed to go? At least we are making an effort in cutting down Dublin’s pollution and traffic problems, everybody working within 4 miles of their home should be cycling imo. It would totally cut down Dublin’s congestion.

Luas Drivers waiting for people to wait to get their ticket of the machine and lock the doors. You can get the ticket and get on without the change or wait for the next luas but richer? I have a Smartcard so no longer have to suffer this dilemma.

The lack of intergrated ticketing for Dublin’s Public Transport system really pisses me off. I’ve an Oyster Card for my London trips and it does me for trains, tubes, buses and trams, brilliant piece of technology. I can’t understand why they don’t just cut through all this red tape shite in Dublin and just get a proper smart card issued. There’s no incentive for people to cycle or use public transport in this city, none whatsofuckinever!

Agreed

Assume it is to do with the fact that Luas is run by a private company and Dublin Bus by semi state, also they are in quasi competition.

I used to see the same fookin eejits queueing for luas tickets every morning, buy a monthly or an annual ticket gobshite.

Things that are wrong

Cork bringing Cyril the fookin sombrero man up to sing the Banks in the middle of the Munster final presentation. Never seen it before, did they think the victory was so momentous it deserved it??!!? The Kerry boys were having a fag an a few cans in the dressing room laughing Id say

Remember in the early days of the Luas getting on just as they were closing the doors, hadn’t time to get a ticket. Anyway around Ranelagh this big black lump of a ticket checker got on and came relentlessly down the carriage towards me. Thank fcuk just as he was getting to me we came to a stop, I barged through him with my headphones on and when he challenged me, I shouted as if I was listening to Megadeth, “WHAT? THIS IS MY STOP, I’M GETTING OUT HERE” Thank fcuk he didn’t feel my collar.

Its a good system alright in London. Saves you the hassle of having to have correct change for buses etc. I only need to get a Luas so the smartcard is handy for me and can top it up when I’m not in a rush which suits.

Thrillseeker

Living life dangerously there SS

you must have nerves of steel

Luas customer service people as they are offically known. Its a real battle of wits. When they get on they dont always stay on the Luas. If a punter gets off too early and the luas people follow you back off it then you are fecked. You either have to buy a ticket or walk away from the stop letting on you are going where you should be and hope they clear off so you can slither back to the stop.

I’d be in the SAS only I failed the medical, MGG.

[quote=“dancarter”]Agreed

Assume it is to do with the fact that Luas is run by a private company and Dublin Bus by semi state, also they are in quasi competition.

I used to see the same fookin eejits queueing for luas tickets every morning, buy a monthly or an annual ticket gobshite.[/quote]

That’s basically the reason, the fooking stupid Department of Transport (DoT) don’t help matters either as they basically set out to destroy Dublin Bus’s business in areas the Luas serves, as Luas “cannot fail” or else the Governement would look stupid.

For example it’s rumoured that the DoT refused to allow Dublin Bus have a bus lane on the Naas Road because it might make the bus faster than the Luas, even though the buses running along the Naas Road serve the likes of Clondalkin, Newcastle and Rathcoole none of which are served by Luas!

The buses connecting Heuston with Connolly are actually faster (to O’Connell Bridge), believe it or not, and more comfotable than the Luas yet Dublin Bus can’t seem to be able to market this niche for some reason, I wonder why?

After 2000hrs most buses are far faster than Luas since they don’t have to negociate such stupid junctions and can accelerate a lot quicker and only have to stops where people are getting on or off. Yet most idiots will pay the extra for Luas because it’s shiny and new looking. Dublin Bus services in Tallaght where the Luas goes are old and vandalised, coincidence?

I wouldn’t want to be sharing a ticketing arrangement with a company that seems to get “special” treatment from the regulator, so in a way I can understand Dublin Bus’s attitude towards it.

I’ll stop boring you all now

[quote=“BenShermin”]

I’ll stop boring you all now[/quote]

cheers

[quote=“BenShermin”]Dublin Bus services in Tallaght where the Luas goes are old and vandalised

[/I][/quote]

Because Tallaght is full of knackers.

Buses serving the Ranelagh and Sandyford areas are fine.

[quote=“BenShermin”]That’s basically the reason, the fooking stupid Department of Transport (DoT) don’t help matters either as they basically set out to destroy Dublin Bus’s business in areas the Luas serves, as Luas “cannot fail” or else the Governement would look stupid.

For example it’s rumoured that the DoT refused to allow Dublin Bus have a bus lane on the Naas Road because it might make the bus faster than the Luas, even though the buses running along the Naas Road serve the likes of Clondalkin, Newcastle and Rathcoole none of which are served by Luas!

The buses connecting Heuston with Connolly are actually faster (to O’Connell Bridge), believe it or not, and more comfotable than the Luas yet Dublin Bus can’t seem to be able to market this niche for some reason, I wonder why?

After 2000hrs most buses are far faster than Luas since they don’t have to negociate such stupid junctions and can accelerate a lot quicker and only have to stops where people are getting on or off. Yet most idiots will pay the extra for Luas because it’s shiny and new looking. Dublin Bus services in Tallaght where the Luas goes are old and vandalised, coincidence?

I wouldn’t want to be sharing a ticketing arrangement with a company that seems to get “special” treatment from the regulator, so in a way I can understand Dublin Bus’s attitude towards it.

I’ll stop boring you all now[/quote]

bang on the money ben. dublin bus has improved loads in recent years but the hype has to go elsewhere or they wont be allowed privatise our bus services.

The Tallaght Luas was shite last time I used it, some stops are within about 200 yards of each other which is ridiculous. Then there was the farce of yielding to traffic on the Red Cow roundabout, at least they’re fixing that now. Sandyford Luas is much better I reckon.

Seen some sights on the 77 bus though I must say!

The Luas out to Sandyford is the job for going to the races. Hop out in Sandyford and a shuttle bus waiting to drop you to the gate of Leopardstown. Same thing going back. Out in Stephens green and into Shanahans for a feed with all your winnings*

(*This is what I’d imagine I would do if I ever left Leoparstown with winnings)

The lack of a rail link of some description to Dublin Airport is wrong. Very wrong.

Fellas wearing sunglasses on top of their head acting like some poser D4 bird. Wrong.

People standing on an escalator in a group not allowing people to pass.

Example: I was in the Beacon Court in Sandyford yesterday and there is one of those long flat escalator things at a slight angle leading from one floor to the next. Anyway these things go at a snail’s pace. I hopped on it and there were three people directly infront of me, two side by side and one auld wan behind them in the middle with both her arms on the side ensuring there was no way past.

Should be like the Tube in London where you are told to stand on the right hand side of the escalator so if people want to walk on it faster then they can…

-blokes who wear 3/4 length trousers. Are expecting a fuckin flood pal?!
-blokes who wear flip flops.
-birds who wear split skirts and then go along holding the split thus depriving the pervy amongst us the flash of a bit ‘o’ gash. so selfish !
-blokes(usually from rural areas,sorry) who wear really cheap suits but walk around town as if they’re wearing made to measure saville row. get up outta that!

as you can see my sartorial eye is always on the lookout.
i’m trying out for the fashion police