Things That Are Wrong

[quote=“chewy louie, post: 818463, member: 1137”]Lohan, the greatest dog the world has ever seen has been diagnosed with congenital heart dissease. 6 ounces of fluid were drained out of his midriff during the week. It doesn’t look good, he is on antibiotics but the vet says his days may well be coming to an end in the near future:(

The homeplace is very sombre at the moment. I suppose these things happen to dogs as well bred as him. May he go peacefully when he finally does go[/quote]

you should change his name to Loughnane…

A mate and former colleague of mine was killed on Saturday in Brisbane. Truck hit him while he was triathlon training on his bike. 40, 2 kids. He was a very good bloke, an absolute gentleman. Fucking hell.

Sorry to hear that Fitzy.

That’s horrible @Fitzy, sorry to hear that

Sorry to hear that, mate. I hate hearing about cyclists dying. You’re at the mercy of other people sometimes. On Wednesday evening I went out for a long cycle and nearly came to grief twice.

First one was along Santry Road near Omni Park shopping centre. There was a lull in traffic but there was a taxi parked along the kerb on my side. As I was just about to pass it, the driver suddenly veered out in front of me for a u-turn. I had to suddenly and dangerously swerve right across to the far side of the road to avoid him.

Then later on the same ride I was cycling along Rush Main Street when a driver opened his door in front of me, and I had to swerve again and very narrowly avoided crashing into it.

There was a 26 year old female cyclist mown down and killed by a truck on Frascati Road in Blackrock the next morning, I’ve cycled past that junction many, many times and had done on the Tuesday.

sorry to hear that Fitsy

That was in Fairfield a few minutes from here. People were talking about it today.hate hearing about cyclists being killed

its always seems to be trucks that hit cyclists…:mad:

yes, ive heard a few incidents here alright involving trucks

more trucks here and a bad attitude towards cyclists is a bad mix

Sorry to hear that @Fitzy

Only recently started cycling a bit in Dublin myself recently. Wouldn’t be a fan of it and stick to the cycle path along the canal as much as I can. Great way of getting around but far too easy to get clipped and for something bad to happen.

Yeah - you’re right there. Wasn’t there a lady killed last week out around Blackrock direction cycling and colliding with a truck?

Sorry to hear that @Fitzy.

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 819727, member: 24”] Wasn’t there a lady killed last week out around Blackrock direction cycling and colliding with a truck?

Sorry to hear that @Fitzy.[/quote]

There was indeed Farmer, Sidney referred to it on this thread about 6 hours ago. Keep up.

Condolences to Fitzy, tough for the lad’s family to see him killed at 40. RIP.

[quote=“Boxtyeater, post: 819730, member: 246”]There was indeed Farmer, Sidney referred to it on this thread about 6 hours ago. Keep up.

Condolences to Fitzy, tough for the lad’s family to see him killed at 40. RIP.[/quote]

Relax Boxty. Just because Gerry Butler’s lads are looking to move to Eslin don’t take it out on me.

:wink: Will ye win the Intermediate do you think? B’more’s exit opened it up nicely.

It has. Dromahair are the ones I would be wary of. They have been without Kevin Conlon and Paddy McGowan so far and they have reached the semis.

I can’t see us winning it. I don’t mean to be hard on the lads but without Conor Berine we seriously struggle. If someone can half get to grips with him, like James ‘Stooley’ Keane did for Leitrim Gaels in the Junior A final couple of years back, then we are in big trouble.

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 819748, member: 24”]It has. Dromahair are the ones I would be wary of. They have been without Kevin Conlon and Paddy McGowan so far and they have reached the semis.

I can’t see us winning it. I don’t mean to be hard on the lads but without Conor Berine we seriously struggle. If someone can half get to grips with him, like James ‘Stooley’ Keane did for Leitrim Gaels in the Junior A final couple of years back, then we are in big trouble.[/quote]
Conolon’s playing in NY at the minute and wont be eligible till the final if they make it

The pic doing the rounds from Slane of a young wan blowing a chap with people looking on. Looks like it was outside the men’s urinal. Rumours she is a minor so he could be in bother, he’s standing with hands up in the air as if he’s the king of the world, your wan, on her knees, looks out of it but is going at it with two hands.

Mbb posted it somewhere last night

It would want to be taken down as it could be deemed child pornography.

The modern Croke Park “match day experience” :mad:

Sterile, bland, corporate manufactured bullshit.

Half time in the match yesterday. Seeing the other team well on top after the first half is bad enough and then you’ve to contend with shit generic pop music blaring, those awful “I am hurling” ads on the big screens coupled with repeated warnings about the evil that is pitch invasions, zorb racing (whatever the fuck that is) and worst of all having to endure that UUCOAM Hector screeching at the top of his lungs for about ten minutes. FOAD.

Word has it that its not in Ireland at all now.