Things you love about Ireland

Great observation and so true.

Cunt of the year thread

How every nationality around the world seems to love when they hear you’re from Ireland

How we’ve built one of the most successful tourist industries in the world

The variety in our regional accents.

The way you can bypass local authority planning regulations for necessary homeworks like gable end extensions if you know the right person.

Guinness.

St Stephens Green on tit Monday.

A good pint of Guinness. Fuck your craft beer shite

The countryside.

Our coastlines.

Our food.

Our national games.

When the main lights in the pub go out, the doors are locked and the ash trays come out.

The jeer

Other countries fail to grasp the paradoxical nature of a group of lads, sitting in a pub for half a day, slagging eachother for the duration.

Drinking all the day in old pubs where fiddlers love to play

Slagging isn’t uniquely Irish mate.

Fuck away off with yourself.

The thread title is “Things You Love About Ireland”, not “Things You Love That Are Unique to Ireland”. You got that, motherfucker? Huh? Huh?

I’ll bate the thick Monaghan head off you.

I’m a motherfucker all right. Your mother to be precise.

Edgy

Wouldn’t bait eggs ye cunt.

Our hatred of misers is also exemplary. You can be a lot of things in Irish society and get away with it; an adulterer, a chronic gambler, gay, black, a blueshirt, but if you’re a miserable cunt with deep pockets, your reputation proceeds you wherever you go.

Meeting a stranger and finding within seconds a mutual acquaintance.

The nicknames and how in many cases they, or variations thereof, get passed down the generations.