Tipperary GAA 2022

He starred at wing back for that team, his first opportunity in 3 years to play facing the ball.

It led to him playing at 5 for the 2022 season.

He was the player of the tournament.

I was away all weekend and out of the loop.

God rest that young fella and provide comfort to his family and friends. Nobody should go out to play a game of ball and not come home.

May he rest in peace.

The piece of sod from Semple Stadium where Dillon drew his last breaths was outside the Quirke family home tonight at the removal and will be buried with him tomorrow. A lovely gesture from the Thurles Sarsfields Club.

Would break anyone’s heart to see it but the crowds who travelled to Clonoulty tonight from all over the country will hopefully give the family some solace.

24 Likes

Biggest send off the County has seen I’ve been told.

May all belonged to him take comfort in the respect of others.

It’s only Monday yet.

Thousands upon thousands.

I’d be very surprised if there’s ever been bigger.

The whole piece. The title is enough to set it off. I could recall reading it sometime.

To an Athlete Dying Young
BY A. E. HOUSMAN

The time you won your town the race

We chaired you through the market-place;

Man and boy stood cheering by,

And home we brought you shoulder-high.

Today, the road all runners come,

Shoulder-high we bring you home,

And set you at your threshold down,

Townsman of a stiller town.

Smart lad, to slip betimes away

From fields where glory does not stay,

And early though the laurel grows

It withers quicker than the rose.

Eyes the shady night has shut

Cannot see the record cut,

And silence sounds no worse than cheers

After earth has stopped the ears.

Now you will not swell the rout

Of lads that wore their honours out,

Runners whom renown outran

And the name died before the man.

So set, before its echoes fade,

The fleet foot on the sill of shade,

And hold to the low lintel up

The still-defended challenge-cup.

And round that early-laurelled head

Will flock to gaze the strengthless dead,

And find unwithered on its curls

The garland briefer than a girl’s.

:broken_heart:

Ah lads. Make you wonder what you’d be giving out or worrying about. The bed of Heaven to him and please God his family and friends find some peace and comfort.

You never feel as mortal as when you see a young fit lad just drop dead.

I was told today that Shane Kingston of Cork who swapped jerseys with Dillon after his final game for Tipp returned that Number 5 jersey to the family last night.

So much kindness and thoughtful gestures on show these past few days. People are very good.

29 Likes

Clonoulty now playing Moycarkey and Kilruane playing Nenagh this weekend instead.

Huge credit must go to Nenagh & Moycarkey who have facilitated this.

If Clonoulty and Kilruane win both will be through so I’d doubt they’d play their game again.

Is there not a chance of C/R withdrawing from championship?
I’ve heard the players are strongly considering this.

I didn’t hear anything but I think for themselves and their community they should get back on the horse. I cant speak for Dillon Quirke but that would be the last thing I’d want in that scenario. Go out and honour his memory and take inspiration from his legacy.

It’s a tough one. Would not be surprised if some lads have a touch of PTS. Your heart would go out to them. Winning a match will never seem as important again for many.

Not to be reductive and speak about Clonoultys chances in betting terms but I see they are 25-1 to win the senior hurling championship. In the crudest of terms it goes someway to explaining what Clonoultys chances were like with him and now without him.