Tom Humphries thread

We know he was outspoken for getting a proper set up put in place for his county team and took no shit from the authorities.

We know he was courageous in coming out out as the first publicly gay player in the GAA and an advocate for equality.

What is in his character to suggest he doesnā€™t deserve the benefit of the doubt?

zzzzzzzzzz

How does any of that suggest he deserves the benefit of the doubt? All that suggests is that heā€™s courageous which he clearly is. You can be courageous and a cunt at the same time

By using the phrase ā€œthe benefit of the doubtā€, youā€™ve anwsered your own question.

We donā€™t know enough about his character to know whether he deserves the benefit of the doubt or not

Your pinning everything on the end resultā€¦ Any sane person would agree no one deserves to be raped. Iā€™m talking about actions prior to putting yourself in a dangerous or compromised positionā€¦ Iā€™m not saying just because you did you deserved to be raped but the simple fact is millions of rapes happen every year and will continue to happen despite all your internet shite talk. None of them deserved it but many of them could have made better choices. Not all of courseā€¦ But by fuck if I ever had a daughter Iā€™d raise her to expect the worst and to stay safe and not throw herself at anything that moves.

That was a weird segment with Paul Kimmage on Claire Byrne Live.

Utterly surreal .

Care to expand pal

None of that relates to personal responsibility for a criminal act.

Going back to a strangerā€™s room under the influence of alcohol has everything to do with personal responsibility. Irrespective of what happens in that room, you are putting yourself in harmā€™s way.

How can you be personally responsible for a crime you donā€™t commit?

Pleas for ā€œa conversation about personal responsibilityā€ are pleas to mitigate the blame for crime by dismissing the personal responsibility of the only person who is to blame - the perpetrator, and to apportion blame to the the victim.

Strangely enough, this type of nonsense almost always comes from self styled ā€œlaw and orderā€ types who often complain about the raw deal victims get.

Except when the crime is rape.

There was an Anthony Foley doc on RTE earlier tonight apparently so the lead in was about that and it moved onto his values and the values Kimmage wants to see in sport and life. He raged about win at all costs and mentioned the horror of the thrown GPS device in the All Ireland Final again amongst other things.

Then he was asked about Tom Humphries and spoke about Tomā€™s ā€œdreadful mistakeā€ and ā€œactā€. 16,000 texts to a kid to groom her before defiling her is a bit more than a mistake and it was multiple actions rather than an act but how and ever. Said he visited him in the mental institution after a suicide attempt but he hadnā€™t seen him in 3 (three) years. 2017-3=2014. Started shouting ā€œwhat am I meant to do on Twitter about thisā€ and stuff.

In keeping with this threadā€™s trend of comparing things that arenā€™t related, it seemed really off to me that he went from seething about Lee Keeganā€™s and Dublin forwardsā€™ cynicism and railing at how that signifies everything wrong with life today to using words, whether intentionally or not, that didnā€™t show any of that same opprobrium for a convicted child sex offender.

@Sidney being battered about the place like a fish in Lahinch today.

A character reference is, by itā€™s very nature, in direct opposition and conflict to the victim of the crime. A child in this case, who was sexually abused. Yet his current crusade is against victim blaming. Fucking hellā€¦

@Bandage So, using Sidneys logic hereā€¦Lee Keegan is pro-Hook?

If you know somebody closely, itā€™s a human reaction to go and see them if they have attempted suicide, even if they may have committed a serious crime.

It also doesnā€™t imply that the person doesnā€™t think that perpetrator should be brought to justice, isnā€™t 100% to blame for the crime they have committed or isnā€™t horrified at what they have done.

I thought Claire Byrne was a bit mischievous in almost trying to put words in Kimmageā€™s mouth that he clearly hadnā€™t said.

Unreal. Some of oirelands crusaders for truth at all costs journalists fobbing it off almost when its one of the lads. What is it with child abuse and the irish psyche. Arguably the most despicable crime so widespread and tolerated.

Itā€™s almost surreal. If thereā€™s one issue that should unite Irish people, given their horrendous history of failure on the subject, itā€™s protection of minors from sexual predators. The lengthiest prison terms for sex related crimes should be reserved for those that target minors, and yet we have arguments being put forth for leniency.

Kimmage is well able to mind his own corner by now and hes well used to using that same trick himself

Big bad Clsire, tricking the poor helpless Paul Kimmage, this thread has it all :smile: