as i said fowler played for 1 decent club
henrik scored 12 goals in 1 season fowler scored 15 in his career - not many differecnes in games played either
larsson got 2 crackers in the uefa final too
how about we make a deal - i wont discuss hurling if you stay out of soccer threads?
when he was at rangers he was well hyped- moreso than gattuso arteta tugay etc (scottish media being biased played a big part) but he was good, he ran the show for scotland against england at wembley - went to blackburn , got injured but played well - blackburn were desperate to keep him & newcastle & everton wanted hom so I woildnt say he was a flop in england- no doubt that he is a good player
[quote=“Bandage”]Just lost a similar post to this due to a shit broadband connection in Wexford but you covered one of my main points. It’s being suggested by some that work ethic and longevity are the main reasons for Larsson being deemed stronger than Fowler. It strikes me as lavishing him with ridiculous faint/feint (never get the spelling of that one right) praise and implies he didn’t have the ability of someone like Fowler but made up for it through attitude and sheer hard work.
Have any of these people ever watched Larsson play?! Finishing quality, unnatural aerial prowess for a player of his size, vision, control and touch, cuteness and craft and strength combined with unbelievable character and mental strength. If Fowler had even half of those attributes his career might not have been effectively over by the time he was 27.
At Larsson’s peak he was winning European Golden Boots. Fowler couldn’t get into the England team during his 3-year golden period. Larsson’s excelled at domestic, European club and international level for a decade and a half and overcome two horrific leg breaks. Fowler’s barely kicked his arse since doing his cruciate knee ligaments 7 or 8 years ago.
Fowler’s main achievements are solely at domestic league level. Larsson was voted Sweden’s greatest ever player a couple of years ago, he’s scored more goals in European club competition than any other player for any other British club and has scored bucketloads of goals in domestic leagues over a far, far greater timespan than Fowler. He’s won leagues in different countries and a Champions League too.
BY any sane reasoning Larsson is streets ahead of a flash in the pan like Fowler. Talk about believing in the Sky Sports hype but despite that I’m flabbergasted that anyone would deem Fowler a better player. I’d compare Fowler to someone like Marco Di Vaoi in Italy - had a couple of excellent domestic goalscoring seasons but has a suspect temperament and reverted to mediocrity and has never achieved anything of note at European club or international level. Larsson, on the other hand, is one of the best strikers of his generation.[/quote]
I dealt with all those points already…a shite league, scoring against second rate teams…his real honours were won as a journey man making minimal appearances… internationally he has had no competition for his spot…However, i never knew he was ‘Swedens’ greatest ever player. How can i argue against that!!!
We may be Celtic fundamentalists but ye lot are mentalists.
Fowler:
3 years of good English league performances.
Larsson:
Years of domestic excellence in Sweden, Holland, Scotland and Spain.
A plethora of goals at European club level.
An outstanding international career.
Larsson beats him emphatically under the domestic heading and Fowler doesn’t even provide any competition of note at European club ir international level.
Seriously lads, wake up.
I’ve also read one of the most ridiculously misinfirmed posts ever on here on this thread tonight. Laughable in the extreme.
You reiterate the scoring against second rate opposition point yet conveniently ignore that Larsson has scored more goals in European club competition than any other player for any other British club.
Fowler has a shit record at European club and international level yet you’re backing him because he scored some crackers against Coventry and Southampton and the likes 13 years ago.
Clown! The funny thing is you probably believe what you’re typing.
[quote=“Bandage”]We may be Celtic fundamentalists but ye lot are mentalists.
Fowler:
3 years of good English league performances.
Larsson:
Years of domestic excellence in Sweden, Holland, Scotland and Spain.
A plethora of goals at European club level.
An outstanding international career.
Larsson beats him emphatically under the domestic heading and Fowler doesn’t even provide any competition of note at European club ir international level.
Seriously lads, wake up.
I’ve also read one of the most ridiculously misinfirmed posts ever on here on this thread tonight. Laughable in the extreme.[/quote]
Ha ha, Scotland,holland,sweden!! get out of it… he made 32 appearences in Spain, most of them off the bench. Domestic excellence my arse. He has scored a handful of CL goals, the rest were UEFA cup. A poor mans solskjaer
[quote=“ChocolateMice”]Ha ha, Scotland,holland,swedn!! get out of it… he made 32 appearences in Spain, most of them off the bench. Domestic excellence my arse. e has scored a handful of CL goals, the rest were UEFA cup. A poor mans solskjaer[/QUOTE
yeah , dutch football was terrible in 94/95 when Henrik played there - who can remember how bad that ajax team were .and if memory serves me correct a sweedish team knocked tha champions of england out that year( this is when fowler was in his prime) you are a sky sports marketing mans dream
for the record i never said that fowler was the better player but in his peak (early twenties) he was every bit as good as larsson or any other striker at that time…but larsson did it over a 12 year period and has consistantly produced…never said that larsson lacked finishing ability etc but if fowler had his work rate and heart he would have been an exceptional player…also i have praised larsson on this forum before for being an excellent link man and an extremely intelligent footballer…
so don’t tar me with the same brush as others…i think everything i have said above is correct and if ye were to take off your celtic caps ye would agree…yes or no…
i think it is also worth noting that if jorge cadet or van hooijdoink(or however you spell it) had stayed at celtic as long as lkarsson they too probably wouldd have scored as many goals…
“With Henrik leaving us at the end of the season this club is losing a great scorer, no question. But I am also losing a great friend. Henrik was my idol and now that I am playing next to him it is fantastic.”
Ronaldinho.
“People always talk about Ronaldinho, Eto’o, Giuly and everything, but I didn’t see them today—I saw Henrik Larsson. He came on—he changed the game, that is what killed the game. Sometimes you talk about Ronaldinho and Eto’o and people like that; you need to talk about the proper footballer who made the difference, and that was Henrik Larsson tonight.”
Thierry Henry.
The above quotes from team-mates and opponents would suggest he was more than a bit part, journeyman player. I’d tend to take Ronaldinho’s and Henry’s points above your own - it’s called making a difference son.
Larsson’s scored in 3 separate World Cups, 2 European Championships. 36 international goals in total yet you mock the Sweden’s greatest ever player tag. If Sweden are as poor as you imply then his goalscoring feats in a moderate team are even more impressive.
How many fingers do you have on your hands by the way?
[quote=“The Puke”]for the record i never said that fowler was the better player but in his peak (early twenties) he was every bit as good as larsson or any other striker at that time…but larsson did it over a 12 year period and has consistantly produced…never said that larsson lacked finishing ability etc but if fowler had his work rate and heart he would have been an exceptional player…also i have praised larsson on this forum before for being an excellent link man and an extremely intelligent footballer…
so don’t tar me with the same brush as others…i think everything i have said above is correct and if ye were to take off your celtic caps ye would agree…yes or no…[/quote]
it is fair enough to a certain extent,
my point though is that english football fans tend to be very arrogant- look how they expect to win every tournament they enter,fans of the bigger clubs in england are like this & i say uniquely Irish fans of english teams take on these characteristics - when fowler was at his peak the EPL wasnt that good- resuls in europe prove this but for some reason irish fans of epl teams take on this english insularism
The above quotes from team-mates and opponents would suggest he was more than a bit part, journeyman player. I’d tend to take Ronaldinho’s and Henry’s points above your own - it’s called making a difference son.
Larsson’s scored in 3 separate World Cups, 2 European Championships. 36 international goals in total yet you mock the Sweden’s greatest ever player tag. If Sweden are as poor as you imply then his goalscoring feats in a moderate team are even more impressive.
How many fingers do you have on your hands by the way?
I don’t think you’re all that well.[/quote]
Sorry Bandage !! i was only Ball hopping !! 10 fingers, 10 toes…
thats a question i have wondered about- all 3 i loved when playing for Celtic - pierre was a very good player as was jorge - who knows,there all round game wasnt as good
pity we missed out on a pierre henrik up front & thom & di canio on the wing by a few seasns
pierre did very well after he left Celtic while Jorge career ebbed out
van hooijdoink was an exceptional footballer but just too much of a loose cannon…just shows how good he was when he was in dutch squads when the likes of bergkamp kluivert overmars etc were all in there prime…
he had a stunning free kick - the Gala fans loved him & he is a feyenord legend- coming back to knock the huns out of europe was the icing on the cake-
mccann should have offered him more than 7k a week (although his homeless comment was out of order) he gets a hard time for being a prick but i was impressed that he came back for burns funeral