Transfer Window - Summer 2008

Anyone hear anything recently about Doyle and Hunt leaving Reading?

Both were linked to Sunderland recently and Doyle was linked to Fulhum earlier on in the summer.

Vital that Doyle, in particular, gets back into the Premiership.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Anyone hear anything recently about Doyle and Hunt leaving Reading?

Both were linked to Sunderland recently and Doyle was linked to Fulhum earlier on in the summer.

Vital that Doyle, in particular, gets back into the Premiership.[/quote]

I’d be surprised to see Sunderland in for an Irish player.

[quote=“Bandage”]Mancini has joined Inter for 12.5m from Roma. A tricky customer but looks inconsistent at times - what do you make of this NCC?

Ronaldinho is apparently flying into Milan tonight to finalise his move there.

Wayne Bridge has signed a new deal with Chelsea - I thought he might go elsewhere.

Yer man Engelaar, the Dutch midfielder, has followed his coach from FC Twente to Schalke for 6m.[/quote]

think he is a very good player. a loss for Roma, I thought he & the prince of Rome had never gotten on - interested to se who will replace him

Ivan Campo looks set to return to Spain with Real Sociedad following his release from the Reebok Stadium… How was this one missed lads ??

you really dont like Roy Keane or Sunderland do you Bandage? I remember you slating him big style over on AFR as well. Not much of a soccer fan to be honest but as a Cork man I obviosuly have a fair bit of interest in the keane story and would be delighted to see Sunderland doing well.

Are you concerned it might dilute some of the Irish Celtic support (not being smart here genuine question)

[quote=“dancarter”]you really dont like Roy Keane or Sunderland do you Bandage? I remember you slating him big style over on AFR as well. Not much of a soccer fan to be honest but as a Cork man I obviosuly have a fair bit of interest in the keane story and would be delighted to see Sunderland doing well.

Are you concerned it might dilute some of the Irish Celtic support (not being smart here genuine question)[/quote]

I wasn’t having a go at Keane or Sunderland with that comment dan. I was just being a bit sarcastic given the plethora of Irish players he’s signed so far and continues to be linked with. I liked Keane a lot as a player and I thought he was selfless and gave everything of himself to the team so that was why I was annoyed when he went to Celtic as he knew himself he was clearly past it, wasn’t able for it and has admitted as much since.

I resented him using Celtic as a retirement home just so he could satisfy his own personal ambition to have played with Celtic during his career. I also didn’t like him fannying around for weeks that summer saying he would only decide on his future after his holiday. The club needed to make their signing plans and we could have done with him letting us know earlier.

I’m not pushed about Sunderland diluting the Celtic support either. I would venture that it’s a fad and the majority of Irish people who ‘follow’ Sunderland are moreso ‘following’ Keane and when he moves on then so will they. It’s akin to 12-year old Japanese girls following Beckham rather than Manchester United, Real Madrid or whoever he plays with. That type of football fan would be the antithesis of most Celtic supporters, who are all consumed by the club first and foremost, and so they’re no loss in my opinion.

The newbie Sunderland supporteres over here are idiots. This was discussed in length before. Populist shite

Keane however is, and will continue to be a legend, irregardless of SundIreland.

Ronaldinho to sign for AC Milan

Ronaldinho is set to bid farewell to Barcelona
Manchester City have lost out to Italian side AC Milan in the race to sign Barcelona playmaker Ronaldinho.

“AC Milan and Barcelona have reached an agreement in principle over the transfer of Ronaldinho,” the Serie A club said on their website.

“The player will be in Milan on Wednesday to undergo a medical and sign a contract that will keep him at Milan until 30 June 2011.”

City had reportedly bid 25.5m for the 28-year-old Brazilian.

Manchester City boss Mark Hughes believes they should be given credit for launching their bold move to bring the Brazil superstar to the Premier League.

He said: ?I think we have shown a willingness to bring Ronaldinho here and should be complemented for that. In the end though it will be the player?s decision.?

Italian newspaper Gazzetta dello Sport reported on its website that Milan will pay Spanish side Barcelona just 14.6m for his services, with the figure likely to be increased by performance-related bonuses.

606: DEBATE
It is clear his heart lies with Milan rather than Manchester

BBC Sport’s Phil McNulty

Milan chief executive Adriano Galliani has been in Barcelona for talks with the club and the player for two days.

The two-time Fifa World Player of the Year’s time at Barcelona effectively came to an end in June when new manager Pep Guardiola announced the playmaker was surplus to requirements.

Nevertheless, the Catalans were not prepared to release Ronaldinho to join Dunga’s Brazil squad for next month’s Beijing Olympics.

City will be disappointed at their failure to pull off what would have been a major coup, despite the heavy financial and footballing risks involved in completing the deal.

But their determined effort to sign Ronaldinho has offered a clear indication of the financial muscle available to new boss Hughes from owner Dr Thaksin Shinawatra.

Reports suggest that Ronaldo’s negotiating team were ultimately uinimpressed by a financial package from City that was heavily weighted with clauses relating to performance, success and marketing.

City had also hoped their signing on Ronaldinho’s fellow countryman Jo in a deal that could eventually be worth 19m would have been a signal of their intent and lured him to Eastlands, but he has decided to move to Milan.

Ronaldinho helped Barcelona win back-to-back Spanish league titles (2004-05, 2005-06) and the Champions League in 2006, but failed to cement a regular place in the starting XI last season because of injury and fitness issues.

Part of me is happy to see this. As a City fan I’d love to see him at our Club, but I doubt we would get out of him what Milan will be able to. I love the Dinho, one of the greatest players I’ve ever seen. Milan is a fantastic Club to get the best out of players some feel are past their sell by date. Here’s hoping we see more bits of magic like the one that still gives Pascal Cygan nightmares.

[quote=“Bandage”]I wasn’t having a go at Keane or Sunderland with that comment dan. I was just being a bit sarcastic given the plethora of Irish players he’s signed so far and continues to be linked with. I liked Keane a lot as a player and I thought he was selfless and gave everything of himself to the team so that was why I was annoyed when he went to Celtic as he knew himself he was clearly past it, wasn’t able for it and has admitted as much since.

I resented him using Celtic as a retirement home just so he could satisfy his own personal ambition to have played with Celtic during his career. I also didn’t like him fannying around for weeks that summer saying he would only decide on his future after his holiday. The club needed to make their signing plans and we could have done with him letting us know earlier.

I’m not pushed about Sunderland diluting the Celtic support either. I would venture that it’s a fad and the majority of Irish people who ‘follow’ Sunderland are moreso ‘following’ Keane and when he moves on then so will they. It’s akin to 12-year old Japanese girls following Beckham rather than Manchester United, Real Madrid or whoever he plays with. That type of football fan would be the antithesis of most Celtic supporters, who are all consumed by the club first and foremost, and so they’re no loss in my opinion.[/quote]

yep agreed its total bollcks seeing fellas wearing sunderland jerseys now

kow plenty fellas who went to college over there and follow them as a result, they reckon the locals are sick about the bandwagoners

They’re not sick about the money though I bet, fuck them, with one comes the other.

[quote=“Bandage”]I wasn’t having a go at Keane or Sunderland with that comment dan. I was just being a bit sarcastic given the plethora of Irish players he’s signed so far and continues to be linked with. I liked Keane a lot as a player and I thought he was selfless and gave everything of himself to the team so that was why I was annoyed when he went to Celtic as he knew himself he was clearly past it, wasn’t able for it and has admitted as much since.

I’m not pushed about Sunderland diluting the Celtic support either. I would venture that it’s a fad and the majority of Irish people who ‘follow’ Sunderland are moreso ‘following’ Keane and when he moves on then so will they. It’s akin to 12-year old Japanese girls following Beckham rather than Manchester United, Real Madrid or whoever he plays with. That type of football fan would be the antithesis of most Celtic supporters, who are all consumed by the club first and foremost, and so they’re no loss in my opinion.[/quote]

Interesting you say that…while he hardly set the world a light up there he did canter through the biggest game of the season with the whole rangers midfield firmly planted in his back pocket in Ibrox…absolutely lorded it albeit with a gammy hip…also a lot of the younger celtic players have since said it was great to have him there and he had a huge influence on them with regards training and preparing for matches…i’m not a huge fan of his to be honest but he is such an intense character that he wanted to play for celtic and nothing would stop him and when he couldn’t physically do it anymore he quit…i don’t think you could accuse the man of using celtic as a retirement home its not his style…I’d actually love to see celtic buy a footballing centre half…i think they haven’t had one for years even in martin o’neill era…Celtic will dominate most teams in scotland and its disheartening to see macmanus and Caldwell just hoofing the ball up the field until one works out.

the antithesis of most Celtic supporters

That’s absolute bollocks in fairness. For every Celtic fan like the ones on here who actually go to games, there are 15 arseholes who buy the shirt as a republican totem, have never been to Glasgow, and can barely name 5 Celtic players. So whatever about yourself and your mates who are “all-consumed” (an amusing phrase) by the club, don’t fool yourself that the same applies to “most” Celtic “supporters”.

he ran around temple bar dressed as a leprechuan - what a cunt

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]the antithesis of most Celtic supporters

That’s absolute bollocks in fairness. For every Celtic fan like the ones on here who actually go to games, there are 15 arseholes who buy the shirt as a republican totem, have never been to Glasgow, and can barely name 5 Celtic players. So whatever about yourself and your mates who are “all-consumed” (an amusing phrase) by the club, don’t fool yourself that the same applies to “most” Celtic “supporters”.[/quote]

That’s the whole point. I don’t regard someone who only knows 5 Celtic players as a supporter of the club to begin with. When I’m talking about Celtic supporters being all-consumed by the club (what’s funny about that?) I’m talking about people who actively support the team.

That’s absolute bollocks in fairness. For every Celtic fan like the ones on here who actually go to games, there are 15 arseholes who buy the shirt as a republican totem, have never been to Glasgow, and can barely name 5 Celtic players. So whatever about yourself and your mates who are “all-consumed” (an amusing phrase) by the club, don’t fool yourself that the same applies to “most” Celtic “supporters”.[/quote]

whats this opinion based on?I know that Celtic have huge amounts of season ticket holders from Ireland (& in fact id say most of the Celtic fans here have got 1 or have owned 1 at some stage) .They have a lot more irish season ticket holders than any other british club(uts maybe an exception but i dounbt it) so im not sure what you are basing that on.
How would Celtics support in ireland differ from the barstoolers that follow utd & never go to games

Id say if you did a poll on this forum alone you would find that the Celtic fans tend to travel over a lot more than LFC fans & UTD fans & im sure this would apply across the board

I’ve fallen around Temple Bar pissed as a newt and looking like a fucking tool. What did I get for it? Nothing?

What did Keane get for that?

A bagfull of cash.

Good on him.

be careful sledge that is idiot of the month talk

[quote=“myboyblue”]I’ve fallen around Temple Bar pissed as a newt and looking like a fucking tool. What did I get for it? Nothing?

What did Keane get for that?

A bagfull of cash.

Good on him.[/quote]

did you dress as a leprechaun?

are you minted already?

Still hurting dan?