Travel agents and airlines: Cunts

Heā€™s some chancer to be fair. He gives himself a pat on the back for continuing to pay cabin crew and pilots who are likely on 0 hour contracts. And says theyā€™ve kept all staff in employment. Yet 2 mins earlier he says they only have 25% of their refund staff working due to lock downs. You couldnā€™t make it up.

And called Branson out for the cunt he is

He seems to have it in for Branson for some reason. Beyond just business I mean

A pair of malignant cunts

Oā€™Leary should stripped of his passport. He was flying them in by the plane load from Milan and Bulgaria during the crisis. He brought disease into Ireland.

I think he said he only had 25% of them in cos thatā€™s all he could safely have in due to social distancing

Thereā€™s a great thing now called the Internet which means people can work from outside the office. He mustnā€™t know much about it

Maybe he doesnā€™t have the capacity.

Iā€™m not defending MOL but I genuinely hope he and his industry pulls through this.

Governments wonā€™t let them all fail. Itā€™ll be uncomfortable for a while.

The refund jargon is obvious just to protect his cash flow. Heā€™s doing nothing illegal but just drawing the shite out of it so people change flights rather than take money back. Sure heā€™d be mad not to take that approach if he can

So long as I can go to Europe for 20 quid we are laughing

Everyone else is going down the voucher route, so Ryanair may as well too. Theyā€™ve just shot themselves in the foot a bit by offering cash refunds initially. Vouchers are fairly limited time-frame wise as well (1 year), Iceland Air are 3 years and Aer Lingus are 5 years.

Topflight advertising skiing holidays in Austria in the Indo today.

Meanwhile on the front page of the Times a farmer from Tipperary is suing an Austrian resort for catching the virus.

Have holiday booked to Croatia the end of June through a travel agent for 4 adults and 3 kids. Have already paid 3k off and now the travel agent is looking for the balance. They said if I donā€™t pay balance that Iā€™ve broken contract and have no claim recourse. I have no intention of going at this stage. What would ye suggest I do?

Jaysus. Thatā€™s a bad beat. Tweet Conor Pope?

Is it a package. Flights and accommodation

If it is then you can cancel now and get money back.

you want to cancel

Under the EU Directive on Package Travel and Linked Travel Arrangements, you have the right to cancel your booking for free, before the start of the holiday, in the event of unavoidable and extraordinary circumstances. This includes disease or serious conditions at the destination.

The Government has published advice on your right to cancel due to extraordinary circumstances resulting from COVID-19.

At present, the following cancellation rights apply:

• Package holidays due to start before 29 May ā€“ you are entitled to a full refund without paying a termination fee. Travel organisers can offer a refund by means of a credit note or vouchers but you do not have to accept this and can insist on getting a full refund.
  • Package holidays due to start after 29 May ā€“ you are still entitled to cancel your booking and get a refund but you may have to pay a termination fee to the travel organiser.
  • P ackage holidays due to start after 29 May that are already cancelled by the travel organiser - you are entitled to a full refund without paying a termination fee to the travel orga

You still thinking of your cruise @Fagan_ODowd

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2020/apr/30/no-end-in-sight-100000-crew-on-cruise-ships-stranded-at-sea-coronavirus

That brings back happy memories. I had a lovely cruise on the MSC Seaview.

I had flights booked next month but BA has now cancelled them. I booked them through an agent via skyscanner and the agent says they are charging a 50 euro admin fee per cancellation as per their terms, any way out of this?

Aer Lingus are offering vouchers plus 10%.

Anyone planning a descent on the Med this Summer, Spain in particular as they have now committed to no Quarantine procedures from July.
Ireland will be under serious pressure to relax or remove the quarantine restrictions on international travelers by July also but if not do we have a back door via UK airports or is the ease of travel in that regard only one way i.e. Ireland to UK only non quarantine?