Uk Affairs - Sterling is taking a Pounding

A lot too image provoking. Iā€™d imagine Vines is wallowing in contrived offence.

Thereā€™s so much there, its almost impossible to come up with a favourite running through.

This one paragraph probably stung her the most

I do not hate you, Adrian Chiles, for making me think more than is strictly necessary about your cock. Neither do I blame Kath Viner, the editor of a proud liberal newspaper thatā€™s recently celebrated its two hundredth anniversary of speaking truth fearlessly unto power, for assisting you in this matter ā€” much in the way that a skilful farmer moves in to help a lumbering bull, as it attempts to insert its vast cock into a cowā€™s cunt. I prefer to think of you both as some more egalitarian version of Prince Charles and Camilla Parker-Bowles-that-was: he fervently desiring to be her tampon ā€“ she, happily compliant in this arresting scenario. True, their love-talk was exposed by a phone-hacker, while yours required the willing involvement of scores ā€“ perhaps hundreds ā€“ of Guardian staffers, but the end result is the same: a certain timeless whimsicality attaches to the notion of your very fleshly attachment.

Heā€™s trending on twitter and the mob are very angry.

Heā€™s a strange creature is will self. That reads like an article @malarkey would fever dream up after three days on the top shelf.

Isnā€™t he the same madser that said he smoked heroin in No10 or on the government jet?

My thoughts exactly

Heā€™s another typical upper class British smartarse blowhard.

Thatā€™s a strange article, I had to stop reading half way through as I myself was beginging to spend too much time thinking about Adrian Chiles cock

Not a sentence I ever thought Iā€™d write

The paedophile brother of TV presenter Phillip Schofield has been jailed for 12 years after being convicted of child sex offences.

Timothy Schofield, 54, was convicted of 11 sexual offences involving a child between October 2016 and October 2019, including two of sexual activity with a child, after a trial at Exeter Crown Court in April.

Schofield, a civilian police worker from Bath, Somerset, told the jury while giving evidence that he had watched pornography with the boy who he insisted was over the age of 16 at the time.

He claimed they had masturbated while sitting apart and denied performing sexual acts on the teenager.

However, the jury found Schofield guilty on all counts with a majority of 10-2 after more than five-and-a-half hours of deliberation.

Philip and Holly have had an interesting row.

In other news, apparently hatt mancock had a great bit of an interview with John Sopel today.

I hate myself for asking but what is actually going there?

Iā€™d better PM

ill take one on it

Seems to be made up row to boost viewing figures

Two whole centuries of corruption and catamites and caving to the barbarians at the border. Luckily, ITV doesnā€™t face such grave problems.

I had to Google catamite to be frank but should have guessed given recent stories about Philip, and his brother of course.

Philip is knobbing Hollyā€™s fella?

Google ā€˜Phillip Schofield Matthew McGreevyā€™.

The whole thing, inevitably, involves squaring the circle of brand with the triangle of (possibly criminal) scandal. HW needs to position herself in light of this scandal speeding down the tracks.

By pretty much all accounts, PS is far from a pleasant fellow.

@Tassotti has finally had enough

Ah nowā€¦ I am either far too untalented or far too talented to write such utter tripe (although I also think Adrian Chilesā€™ columns are an embarassment).

As it happens, I detest Will Self and his ā€˜writingā€™. He started off as a Martin Amis arselicker and deteriorated from that height. Typical of WSā€™ vacuity: probably the most intensely felt section of his addiction-focused memoir comes when he describes the disappointment of not getting a First at Oxford.

I have heard people who know or have met WS say he is an absolute gobshite, the preening a mantle for the mediocrity. WS is a chronic narcissist, the type of person who thinks being rude to social ā€˜inferiorsā€™, such as bookshop workers or waitresses, represents a form of intelligence. You can always make out the type, the sort of person for whom prominence of any sort means a swiftly embraced license to be obnoxious. These people crave attention and limelight because they are an empty vessel. This sort of personā€™s true talent? Sycophancy around gullible influentials.

Mark Lawson, whom I once met, is another example. He radiated gobshite. Same craic with Terry Eagleton. I remember a prominent academic telling me about going with TE on a lecture tour in the US during the 1980s. Said academic was astonished by TEā€™s casual rudeness to restaurant workers.

WSā€™ merits as a writer got well nailed by Luther Self, his son: ā€œheā€™s a novelist who hasnā€™t sold any of his last two books so he assumes that the whole medium is dyingā€. Enough said.

I infer, on latest WS effort, this story. Not long ago, WS used to have the run of The Guardian. Now Rob Doyle, another awful writer, gets many of those gigs. The in for WS with The Guardian came via Deborah Orr, his wife, who had worked there. DO got cancer and WS seemingly had no sympathy or empathy for her plight because her illness leached attention from him. So they fell out, quite spectacularly.

The Daily Mail reductio on this tangle:

DOā€™s friends and former colleagues in The Guardian clearly took against WSā€™ doings. His byline has been notably absent from those pages since January 2020. So this column in The New European finds an easy reductio: ā€œWHERE IS MY FIX OF ATTENTION (EVEN THOUGH I AM A MISANTHROPE AND ESPECIALLY BECAUSE I AM A MISANTHROPE)?ā€