US Politics II To Trump or not to Trump

You’re not right to say it’s Trumps America no matter how you spin it.

This is Trump and his white supremacists America no matter how much you’d like to turn a blind eye to it

Big bad Don is sending in the National Guard off the back of this

Dear Lord. He commits first degree murder in front of their eyes, they let him walk on by and now he’s fled the state. Only in Trumps America

Darwin awards for the lads trying to fight a fella with a gun. Looks like a war zone there. The place is fucked.

Your ignorance of the way US law enforcement operates is astounding, almost as bad as your banned sidekick. Leftist nutters need to decide whether they want no police on the streets, or police on the streets. I guess it’s no police on the streets when cities are being burned down, but call 911 when a rioter gets shot. Anyway, you’ll be pleased to know the suspect is in custody.

Try and educate yourself, you are an embarrassment to my beloved Galway.

Christ not you again

It was utopia before trump got elected. Perfect racial harmony, cumbaya and all that.

But then Russia totally changed the country with a few memes and it’s now up to Joe biden to save it. He’s never been in a position of power before so deserves the chance.

You watch a video where a white supremacist walks away free from committing multiple first degree murders and then flees the state and you’re response is to engage in a tirade against innocent old me?
Bizarre carryon it’s almost as if you feel nothing for those poor victims

Which City was burned down?

I have very little sympathy for scumbags mate, the scumbags destroying a city for the past three night or the scumbags out hunting them last night.

Agree - the narrative however that this sort of thing only happens in Trumps America bates Banagher

I don’t remember any other President actively supporting White Supremacists. Do you?

FT.com

The writer was opposition research counsel for George H W Bush’s 1988 campaign

So much for the Republicans as the party of Abraham Lincoln. The party he made synonymous with his name has morphed into a modern iteration of the Confederate States of America, the rival nation created by the South when it seceded after his election. Faced with a raging pandemic, President Donald Trump has reiterated that governors should bear the burden of battling coronavirus.

The White House is the backdrop for a reality show, with the national government playing backstop to the states. At the same time, the Confederate flag has emerged as a symbol of pro-Trump, “liberate the state” sentiment. Alexander Stephens, vice-president of the Confederacy, must be smiling in his grave. Back in 1861, Mr Stephens summed up the Confederacy’s attitude towards government: “If Charleston harbour needs improvement, let the commerce of Charleston bear the burden,” he said in his Cornerstone speech. By his view, governmental responsibility resided locally.

Race and slavery were the Confederacy’s paramount concerns. The “cornerstone” of the Confederacy rested upon the “great truth” that “the negro is not equal to the white man; that slavery — subordination to the superior race — is his natural and normal condition”. It wasn’t simply about states’ rights, as some have argued. For Mr Trump, the Confederacy and race have always lurked close to the surface. During his 2016 presidential campaign, he reluctantly distanced himself from the endorsement of David Duke, a former leader of the Ku Klux Klan. In the aftermath of a 2017 white supremacist rally in Charlottesville, Virginia, Mr Trump defended the “very fine people” on both sides. The president even heaped praise upon Robert E Lee, the defeated Confederate general. As if on cue, during the 2016 election a Russian troll factory organised pro-Confederate flag rallies and claimed that the civil war was “not about slavery”. As for Mr Trump’s picks for the US federal judiciary, they have refused to say whether Brown v Board of Education, the Supreme Court’s 1954 decision that struck down government-sanctioned racial segregation as unconstitutional, is binding law.

Neomi Rao, who replaced Brett Kavanaugh as an intermediate appellate judge, prevaricated when confronted by the issue. Ms Rao told a senate committee that “Brown is a really important precedent” but declined to affirm the decision’s validity. For more than half a century the Republican party has assiduously reconfigured itself into the party of the South and of white Americans. Barry Goldwater’s failed presidential run was fuelled in part by his opposition to the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Richard Nixon’s successful presidential bids were anchored to a “southern strategy”.

Against this backdrop, Stuart Stevens, a Mississippi native and a veteran Republican strategist, goes so far as to contend in his forthcoming book, It Was All A Lie, that “there is nothing strange or unexpected about Donald Trump. He is the logical conclusion of what the Republican party became over the last 50 or so years”. He adds that Mr Trump isn’t an aberration but rather “the Republican party in a purified form”. Perhaps. But then, perhaps not. Polls report a continued migration of suburban voters and college graduates away from the Republican party.

Mr Trump’s brand of racially-tinged populism has gained sway in the rural Midwest, the cradle of the party and a backbone of the Union Army during the civil war. At a minimum, the optics of the Confederate flag have emerged as a problem for Republicans. In a recent post to a private Facebook group, Brian Westrate, the treasurer of the Wisconsin Republican party, implored protesters not to bring Confederate flags or semi-automatic weapons to a scheduled anti-stay at home demonstration. Apparently, he did not want to give the mainstream media “the opportunity to paint us as racists or extremists”.

Tellingly, Mr Westrate also sought to disassociate the Confederacy from slavery, adding in the post: “I well understand that the Confederacy was more about states’ rights than slavery.” Apparently, the Cornerstone speech was something to be ignored or forgotten like Friday night tiki-torch marches or lynchings.

For the record, the party of Lincoln was born in Ripon, Wisconsin. Those days are now long gone.

Nice
What brought the protesters onto the streets I wonder?
You had very little sympathy for George Floyd too iirc

It’s almost as incredible as the narrative that racism came to America in the last four years.

Joe Biden in 1977 opposing desegregation “Unless we do something about this, my children are going to grow up in a jungle”. If Trump said that.

Joe Biden in 2007 on Obama “You’ve got the first mainstream African American who is bright, articulate and clean”". Obviously never heard of MLK.

Joe Biden in 2019 “poor kids are just as bright and talented as white kids”. Yes Joe, all poor kids are black and brown.

Joe Biden supported segregationists.

So, you cannot distinguish between peaceful protests and rioting and burning down buildings? Even Joe Biden can make that distinction mate.

George Floyd was murdered mate and those responsible are going on trial. Doesn’t take away from the fact that he was a scumbag himself who broke into a woman’s home and held a loaded gun against her pregnant stomach.

Did they suddenly decide to hit the streets for a bit of craic or what? Usually it takes something to get people out in the streets in anger. Wonder what it in the name of Trumps America it might have been?

Trump’s America? You don’t remember Ferguson? Much worse than we have seen for the past three nights and went on for months, only ended after a little girl had her head blown off by a scumbag shooting into her house.

You’re exposing your true colors here, supporting scumbags. It is the single issue that could swing the election to Trump, leftist nutters who want to see it all burn down, even though the majority of those impacted are the poor and disadvantaged.

Coming from you that’s actually quite funny
Trumpa America is a nation on fire. If you’re happy with that then I just really don’t know what to say.