Vigilante Groups/Community Policing

We had a few cornerboys there in Tour about two or so years ago getting up to all sort of messing around the place. They’d be moving temporary traffic lights, breaking flower pots, messing with sign posts etc. Real scumbag stuff. No such problems anymore after they were all culled.

they would just fuck them in a bog hole and leave them there

Vigilantes threaten to kill drug dealers

Leaflets which have been distributed across Cork threatening to kill drug dealers by “lethal force”.

Garda have been made aware of the leaflets warning of consequences for people who continue to deal drugs.

The leaflets, distributed in the past week throughout the city and county, have been linked to the dissident republican group, the 32-County Sovereign Movement.

Leaflets were distributed at the weekend in pubs throughout Cork including in Passage West and Cobh.

The warning states: There will be no more individual warnings or knocks on the door. This is your warning and if you continue to deal drugs then you will be held accountable for your actions by lethal force.

The issue was raised at a Joint Policing Committee (JPC) meeting in Passage West on Monday night.

A garda source confirmed that the matter was under investigation and being taken seriously but added that the weekend incident was not an isolated one.

Passage West Town Councillor Clive Murphy was present when leaflets were distributed in a bar in the town over the weekend.

He said: No-one really took much notice at the time because there was a birthday celebration going on.

A lot of people read the leaflets and were fairly shocked and people are still talking about it locally.

Cllr Murphy was one of the members of the JPC meeting on Monday and raised the issue when the group were discussing local policing.

JPC chairman Cllr Dave OByrne said: You cannot combat crime with crime. If people are looking to work against drugs in communities that is great but it has to be done within the law.

Senator Jerry Buttimer echoed the concerns of local councillors and said: We cannot have private groups terrorising people like this. Garda are the law enforcement agency and we cannot allow vigilantes to govern people.

A fairly strong over-reaction to a few students in CIT smoking a few doobies i’d have thought.

Who in their right mind would distribute these “leaflets” anyway?

If you don’t deal drugs you’ve nothing to fear. Why is Councillor Clive Murphy so worried about this? That’s the question I’m asking myself.

what happens if there is a whitey bulgar type character giving info to the vigilantes??..informing on others and the filling the void himself…

Its always been the provos that kept Heroin out of Cork, they went to sleep and the dealers got a march on them. They needed some scare tactcis, this is it.
I think it will work, cos they will hurt at least one guy, of that i’m fairly sure.

Heard of some good vigilantism in the west Limerick area this week. A local hood has been sent packing to England, but not before getting a nice trimming first :clap: :clap:

Did they stampede a heard of Limousin weanlings over him Runty?

Not quite SS**. Don’t want to say too much on it but they will think twice about their future behaviour.

To paraphrase the words of the Rt Honourable Bobby Sands MP, “everyone has his or her part to play”. :clap:

Scum out, peace in.

[quote=“The Runt”]Vigilantes threaten to kill drug dealers

Leaflets which have been distributed across Cork threatening to kill drug dealers by “lethal force”.

Garda have been made aware of the leaflets warning of consequences for people who continue to deal drugs.

The leaflets, distributed in the past week throughout the city and county, have been linked to the dissident republican group, the 32-County Sovereign Movement.

Leaflets were distributed at the weekend in pubs throughout Cork including in Passage West and Cobh.

The warning states: “There will be no more individual warnings or knocks on the door. This is your warning and if you continue to deal drugs then you will be held accountable for your actions by lethal force.”

The issue was raised at a Joint Policing Committee (JPC) meeting in Passage West on Monday night.

A garda source confirmed that the matter was under investigation and being taken seriously but added that the weekend incident was not an isolated one.

Passage West Town Councillor Clive Murphy was present when leaflets were distributed in a bar in the town over the weekend.

He said: “No-one really took much notice at the time because there was a birthday celebration going on.

“A lot of people read the leaflets and were fairly shocked and people are still talking about it locally.”

Cllr Murphy was one of the members of the JPC meeting on Monday and raised the issue when the group were discussing local policing.

JPC chairman Cllr Dave O’Byrne said: “You cannot combat crime with crime. If people are looking to work against drugs in communities that is great but it has to be done within the law.”

Senator Jerry Buttimer echoed the concerns of local councillors and said: “We cannot have private groups terrorising people like this. Garda are the law enforcement agency and we cannot allow vigilantes to govern people.”[/QUOTE]

27/01/2010 - 14:03:47
A group claiming to be the Real IRA has declared it was responsible for the murder of Gerard Staunton in the Cork suburb of Wilton last week.

Superintendent Charlie Barry, who is heading up the investigation, said they were following a number of lines of enquiry and any new information would be factored into the investigation.

He also revealed that a shot hit the rear seat of the car where two children of Mr Staunton’s partner were sitting at the time of the killing and that they could have been killed.

A statement has been given to Cork’s Evening Echo newspaper by a group claiming to be the 32 County Sovereignty Movement, which states that the Real IRA killed Mr Staunton and threatened further action against drug dealers.

The move follows the gangland-style execution of Gerard ‘Topper’ Staunton at Westlawn estate on the Sarsfield Road at 7.50pm last Wednesday.

The statement given to the Evening Echo reads: “In our last statement, we warned drug dealers to cease their activities, but despite several individuals stopping following lengthy interrogation by ourselves, there were those who chose to continue.

“We warned them that our actions would speak louder than a thousand words and last week was testament to that.”

It goes on to say that although targeting drug dealers is not the group’s priority, “on this occasion our hand was forced.”

Senior garda investigating the case say they are treating the statement seriously and it is forming part of their investigation. However, they point out that various groups may falsely claim that they carried out particular actions.

Leaflets were distributed throughout Cork last September attributed to the Real IRA, threatening to kill drug dealers.

42-year-old Mr Staunton, who had a criminal conviction for drug offences, was shot once in front of his partner and his partner’s children.

In a chilling warning, the statement received by the Evening Echo warns of further violence: “For those who still have a chance to stop today, we ask you to embrace this opportunity or run the risk of suffering the same fate.

“This was not a one-off and we would like to reiterate that we will strike when we are ready and not when it is expected of us.

“When we do strike, it is not vigilante or gangland activity but military action.”

An appeal for further information from the public was aired on RT’s One’s ‘CrimeCall’ programme last night.

Superintendent Charlie Barry said on ‘CrimeCall’ that shots were fired and that one of the shots entered the rear of the seat of the car where two children were seated and that they could have been killed.

Garda are also asking a blonde woman, aged 25-35 with shoulder-length hair, seen near the crime scene at the time of the incident to come forward.

No-one has been arrested for the murder to date.

Detectives have interviewed the partner of Mr Staunton as well as carrying out house-to-house enquiries and releasing information about the killing in the hope of receiving clues from the public.

An incident room has been set up in Togher Garda Station and can be contacted on (021) 4947129.

Anyone concerned about drug dealing in their area is urged to report it to the confidential Dial to Stop Drug Dealing on 1800-220220.

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/claim-real-ira-killed-corkman-443702.html#ixzz0dpUg4nqq

Take back the city for yourself tonight
Or I’ll take back the city for me
Take back the city for yourself tonight
Whoa

[quote=“The Dunph”]A fairly strong over-reaction to a few students in CIT smoking a few doobies i’d have thought.

Who in their right mind would distribute these “leaflets” anyway?[/QUOTE]

why CIT Dunph?
it’s a long way from Passage or Cobh.

This was common enough knowledge. It was even common enough that it was going to happen before it did happen.

Up Da Ra in a big way for getting rid of this guy, he is absolutely no loss to society.

He was also married to one of the infamous O’ Flynns, ironically back in the day a well known republican family.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]This was common enough knowledge. It was even common enough that it was going to happen before it did happen.

Up Da Ra in a big way for getting rid of this guy, he is absolutely no loss to society.

He was also married to one of the infamous O’ Flynns, ironically back in the day a well known republican family.[/QUOTE]

The Ra are gas for that sort of thing

Fair play to them for striking “when we are ready”, only makes sense I suppose.

The infamous Continuity Direct Action Against Drugs is back and back with a bang. It’s a shame they don’t add to the mayhem in Limerick, they’d be an intriguing third force in the mix if they got physical down there. They’d probably be badly outgunned on Shannonside though in fairness.

Conor Wallace, a boxer from Down on national team is the latest to be stung on one of those online group paedophile pages. He has released a statement saying he wasn’t arrested and has been set up

Where did you see that? Is it same group that nabbed the RTE fella in Leeds?