Waterford Hurling (now incorporating intermediate football) 2013 and subsequent years

Is Gleeson suspended as a result of today?

Two yellows so no.

They might be better off with him suspended to be honest.

But either way, it’s out of Waterford’s hands.

Derek will need to send some morale boosting texts to the lads.

is there some kind of a thing if you are send off twice in a season on 2 yellows , a suspension arises? is Aussie in that situ?

Good point well made. Be an easy one to get off though. He did sod all to get that second yellow.

It’s the Tipperary lads who’s morale that Derek needs to build up over the next week.

Clare beat Waterford by 8 it’s possible

Clare will field the reserves next week presumably? They’ll need all the recovery time they can get after today before they next face a vengeful Limerick in 3 weeks time.

SMS would be an expensive format for Derek to do that you’d think.

He’ll need to send a lot of texts after today

He’s organizing a barbecue.

A novena might be more appropriate

You could probably pretty much draw a line under the Minor/U 21 winning team of 2013 & 16 at this stage in terms of winning the Big One. Bar Ozzie really, they’re not up to it. They didn’t even get a Munster title out of them.

Mind you judging by underage performances of Waterford for the last number of years, there isn’t exactly a conveyor belt coming through.

Derek has a job on tomorrow evening

We’ve been poor enough in the first two games, but the expectation was we were holding something in reserve. Well that was blown away today. It was just flat. The most galling thing is Cork out fought us. We didn’t stand up and got punished accordingly.
Hard to see where we go from here.

Cahill fairly threw his players under the bus in his post match interview. Granted a certain amount of truth in what he has to say but his own input needs a bit of scrutiny too. They’ve looked so flat and overtrained. He should also maybe have had a read of the manual about Waterford teams dealing with a bit of hype and expectation.

Stephen Bennett was brutal today.

Stephen Bennett is a winter hurler unfortunately. And a poor free taker.

The Boy Wonder, Patrick Fitzgerald will probably be along next year to save the day and take the frees. If he needs another year, there’s always Pauric Mahoney to take the frees.

Did not see that LC interview but true point.

The carry on out of Derek McGrath after the league, relatedly, was beyond inane. You would wonder whether the same man is plain stupid or just does not want Waterford to win unless he is at the helm. But there is a massive tendency within the city, more broadly, to get carried away completely on the slightest pretext. While I well understand the county has been starved of success, and like many outsiders I really like to see them doing well, there comes a point where people need to learn not to keep making the same mistake. McGrath really should have known better. No wonder he has to keep reading those shite self help books, because he is clearly not over endowed with brains and cop on.

Today’s defeat sickened me – and I am 30 miles up the road, removed. Austin Gleeson did some truly wonderful hurling. Then… The same mistake.