Wedding Etiquette

Unusual one for me on the weddings lads.

Was recently at a stag where the numbers were small, the wedding invites come out today and for some unknown reason there are a couple of plus ones going whilst the rest have been ignored.
Some of the women not invited would know the bride and groom for years.

Like I would slightly understand if it was one of those massive stags and it wasnt possible to invite everyone’s missus.

Have ye ever encountered such a situation?

I think you’re giving the Mirror a lot of credit there. I read it as clickbait and nothing else

That’s my point, clickbait for the mirror readers

Small venue with a cap on numbers? Are the plus ones invited only wives/fiancees as opposed to partners? Seems strange enough (unless it was a legitimate mistake and they forgot to finish writing them all?)

I have magnets and soap gifts made for everyone… and I have so much left. Nyx made spell jars and we were up until 2:30 this morning trying to make this enjoyable for everyone,” they said.

“Most of my money was spent on things for the guests… and almost no one showed. Looking at our magnets makes me bawl… I can’t even use my custom-made soap samples because that makes me cry too"

Tighten them

It’s made up

Halve the wedding present. Have the craic with the lads and don’t over think it

That’s another thing, we are engaged, some of the others aren’t.
Some of the extras not invited are, some have kids. Miffed by the whole thing now but look it will be a good day regardless.

First and only wedding of 2023 tomorrow. Went for a handy warm up tonight :pint:

Christmas weddings are fucking mighty

Shook

CSO statistical release for 2023 weddings

Marriages 2023
Number of Marriages

20,513 opposite-sex marriages
324 Male same-sex marriages
322 Female same-sex marriages

Average Age of Opposite-Sex Weddings

Male: 37.7
Female: 35.8

Average Age of Same-Sex Weddings

Male: 40.8
Female: 38.0

Most popular Forms of Ceremony for Opposite-Sex Marriage

7,256 (35%) Roman Catholic Ceremonies
6,474 (32%) Civil Ceremonies

Most popular day to wed

Friday: 7,419 ceremonies

Least popular day to wed

Sunday: 714 ceremonies

Most popular month to wed

August: 2,653 ceremonies

Least popular month to wed

January: 665 ceremonies

That’s a surprisingly old average age !

I know no lesbians.

The civil ceremonies catching up.

That’s why we will have population collapse.

I’d hazard it’s also a reason why we are seeing a rise in autism diagnosis.

I’m taken aback that August is the most popular month. I’d have guessed September.

I can introduce you to some.

It was 27 for men and 25 for women in 1982.

Was at a posh wedding in London a few weeks ago, mixed English/Irish clientele with a free bar. I was talking to one of the organisers during the week and they said there was 19 extra bottles of champagne ordered by various tables during the evening. I said what do you expect giving the Irish a free bar…only to be stunned when they said it was the tans in attendance who did the damage. They went buck ape when they found out it was free😀