only in Clare would folk get politicians involved to get themselves registered as born âon the roadsideâ
Whitstable mum in custard shortage
http://www.thisiskent.co.uk/news/Whitstable-mum-custard-shortage/article-845364-detail/article.html
Whitstable mum in custard shortage
A MUM of three is dis-custard after a hunt for the dessert sauce in the town proved fruitless.
Keen baker Jules Serkin, 43, of West Cliff, Whitstable, needed a tin of custard powder to top off her apple and blackcurrant crumble.
But she was left with a sour taste in her mouth after getting no joy in either Co-ops at Oxford Street and Canterbury Road, and in Somerfield, in the High Street.
Even a trek to Tankertonâs Tesco Express - a corner shop version of its superstores - was wasted.
âI try to support my local businesses, but in the end I had to resort to going to one of the big supermarkets to get what I needed,â said Jules, a holiday rental company director.
I feel very sad that I canât seem to get basic stuff from my high street, and am driven to go online.
"Custard is a staple product on my shopping list and I cannot understand why it should be so hard to find.
"An assistant in Somerfield said theyâd had other shoppers asking for tins of custard, but it hadnât been in stock since the shop was refurbished.
"And in the Co-ops I was just greeted with an empty shelf where it should be, and no idea when they might be getting it in.
"I am upset because it seems these shops cannot order a product that customers are demanding as it doesnât seem to fit in with what they are selling.
"I had to resort to buying sachets which cost only a few pence less than a tin, and donât go very far at all. If I buy a tin, it goes in my pantry and will last me quite a few crumbles.
"Iâm making an apple and blackcurrant crumble and, as I am trying to eat healthily can control what I put into the custard, like skimmed milk.
"With the sachets, there are all sorts of ingredients and additives - and you just add water to make it.
âItâs very convenient, but not as good as the real thing. Custard should be a lovely comfort, nice and thick.â
Mrs Serkin finally managed to find a tin of own brand custard powder in a Co-op, a few days after her initial hunt, but not her beloved Birdâs.
Spokesman for Somerfield Pete Williams said: "Somerfield in Whitstable High Street underwent a major investment last April to upgrade and improve the store for local customers.
"We pride ourselves on our customer service and ability to meet their needs.
"We are a bit perplexed about your readerâs trouble in finding custard in the store. It offers a variety of custards including: tinned, fresh, cartons and in powdered form.
"Today (Monday March 23) it has both Somerfield own brand tinned custard and tinned custard made by Ambrosia. The store stocks Somerfield Instand Custard Mix - to which you simply add water.
âRegrettably the store does not have sufficient space to stock the larger tins of classic Birdâs Custard Powder - to which you add milk and sugar to make your custard.â
A Co-operative Group spokesman said: "We are sorry to hear a customer is unhappy with our custard range in Whitstable.
"Our smaller convenience store in Canterbury Road has only ever sold sachets of Birdâs custard powder.
"The Oxford Street store did stock Birdâs tinned custard until recently but the product was withdrawn following thorough analysis of product sales across our range.
âThis store does however, sell The Co-operativeâs own brand of tinned custard powder and we would be pleased to offer this customer a free sample to try.â
- Somerfield is to become Budgens from May 11 - but all 33 jobs are safe, said Mr Williams. It has been forced to sell to ensure competition as Somerfield is now owned by the Co-op, which has two stores nearby.
Pimp paid prostitute with chicken nuggets
A man who pimped a 16-year-old schoolgirl paid her with chicken nuggets for having sex with men, a court has been told.
Ronald Vikash Gander, 27, and his 16-year-old girlfriend devised a plan to prostitute a teenage girl so they could afford the weekly $1,050 rent on a serviced inner-Brisbane apartment, the Brisbane District Court was told on Monday.
The court was told the girl made $4,500 for having sex with five middle-aged men in June last year.
Gander and his girlfriend used the money for living expenses and paid the girl nothing except for the occasional box of chicken nuggets.
The court was told Ganderâs girlfriend - who cannot be named - threatened the student, who had run away from home, with eviction if she didnât continue having sex with clients to earn her keep.
Judge Marshall Irwin described the prostitution offences as âsordidâ.
âThe girl was used as if she was a piece of meat ⌠and your conduct can properly be described as that of a sleaze merchant,â Judge Irwin said.
Gander pleaded guilty on Monday to one count each of procuring prostitution with a circumstance of aggravation and knowingly participating in the provision of prostitution with a circumstance of aggravation.
The court was told he had a substantial criminal history of dishonesty offences, and that he was on parole when he committed these offences.
Gander was jailed for six years in 2004 for 15 charges relating to an attempt to pull off a multi-million dollar fraud involving the sale of a Brisbane high-rise building.
That sentence was reduced to five years in 2005 by the Court of Appeal, and Gander was released in 2007.
Judge Irwin sentenced Gander to two and a half yearsâ jail, to be suspended after nine months, for the latest offence.
[SIZE=â3â]A PE teacher is facing disciplinary action after appearing in a range of âcompletely inappropriateâ poses on a modelling website[/SIZE]
Natasha Gray, who was voted the UKâs sexiest teacher on a television show in 2002, was shown in one photograph wearing a thong while lying on her front on a bed.
Ben Slade, headteacher of Manor Community College in Cambridge, said the pictures of the head of physical education should not have been published.
âThey were completely inappropriate for somebody who is a teacher,â he said.
âThey were absolutely not pornographic but do you want to see your teacher in that way? Probably not.â
Mr Slade said he had ordered the immediate removal of the portfolio of âabout eightâ photographs from the website iModel.com after he became aware of them.
He said they featured Miss Gray, who is in her early 30s, in a range of poses, including one âlying on a bed on her front in a thongâ.
âIâm not the sort of person who will accept totally inappropriate behaviour by a member of staff,â said Mr Slade.
âIâm in consultation with our personnel department and with the local authority in relation to further action.â
He said Miss Gray had not been suspended but added he felt âlet downâ by her actions.
âWeâre trying to improve things here. Results have gone up considerably in the last two years - from 32% achieving 5 A-C grades at GCSE to 50%,â Mr Slade said.
âIâm extremely disappointed that this member of staff has let us down.â
picture of the teacher
http://l.yimg.com/i/i/uk/hp/teach.jpg
http://www.russiatoday.com/s/obj/2009-04-14/rapper.858.jpg
http://www.themoscowtimes.com/article/1292/42/376242.htm
Hair Stylist Keeps Armed Robber as Sex Slave
15 April 2009
In what is either the weirdest Russian crime story of the year so far or a new low in yellow crime journalism, a female hair stylist in the Kaluga region is suspected of holding an armed robber in captivity as a sex slave for two days after he unsuccessfully tried to knock over her beauty salon.
Attentive Crime Watch readers will need little more than the first paragraph of this post to understand that this bizarre saga was relayed by the intrepid crime hacks over at the web site Life.ru, which, together with newspaper Tvoi Den, is setting the bar extremely high for sensationalist scoops.
According to Life.ru, the events unfolded on the evening of March 14 as the stylist was wrapping up her shift at the salon in the Kaluga region town of Meshchovsk.
The robber, a 32-year-old man identified by Life.ru as âViktor,â burst into the salon at around 5 p.m. waving a pistol and ordered all of the stylists and clients to hit the floor and toss him their money.
At this point, 28-year-old Olga, whom Life.ru describes as a âdelicateâ girl trained in martial arts, was apparently still standing when she offered to hand over her cash. But when Viktor tried to accept her contribution, Olga surprised him with a quick punch to the chest, knocking the wind out of him before she flipped him to the ground.
Olga proceeded to tie Viktor up with a hair-dryer cord, gagged him and dragged him into a storage room.
Curiously, Life.ru reports, Olga instructed the others to keep working, telling them that the police would soon arrive.
But this feel-good moment for the good guy proved ephemeral. Things soon turned ugly, according to Life.ru.
The police did not come. And after the other stylists and clients went home for the evening, Olga told Viktor to âtake off his underwearâ and, with apologies to John Cougar Mellencamp, let her do as she pleases, lest she call the cops, Life.ru said.
She tied him to the radiator with handcuffs covered in frilly pink fabric, gave him some Viagra and had her way with him several times over the next 48 hours. When she finally let him go on the evening of March 16, Viktor had been âsqueezed like a lemon,â Life.ru reported.
First, he went to the hospital to have his injured genitals treated; then he went to police and filed a complaint asking that Olga be brought up on criminal charges for committing âactions of a sexual natureâ that left him with injured sexual organs, according to a copy of the complaint posted on Life.ru.
Olga was apparently incensed when she learned of the complaint. She had, after all, even tried to be nice to her purported captive.
âWhat a jerk,â Life.ru quoted her as saying. âYeah, there were a few times. But I bought him new jeans, gave him food and drink, and gave him 1,000 rubles when he left.â
The following day, Olga filed a complaint with police, asking that Viktor be charged in the salon robbery. Life.ru posted a copy of her statement as well.
âI donât know whatâs going to happen now,â the web site quoted a local police officer as saying. âWe could put both of them behind bars: him for robbery, her for rape and assault.â
Iâm exhausted.
just came across this there now
http://uk.news.yahoo.com/blog/editors_corner/article/26357/
Strangest lawsuit ever?
Tue Apr 21 01:28PM
I see a lot of strange news stories in this job and this one, which was featured recently in a German newspaper, is up there with the strangest.
A judge in Stuttgart, Germany, is currently trying to decide on a lawsuit in which a man hired his neighbour to impregnate his wife.
It gets weirder.
Demetrius Soupolos, 29, and his former beauty queen wife, Traute, were very keen to have a child together, but Demetrius was Sterile so they began to seek out other possible options.
The option the couple eventually decided on was to hire their neighbour Frank Maus, 34, to impregnate Traute.
Maus, who was already married with two children agreed to do the job for the fee of 2,000. For three evenings a week for the next six months, a total of 72 different times, Maus tried to impregnate Traute.
When his own wife objected, Maus explained that he was âonly doing it for the money.â
After the unsuccessful six-month period Soupolos insisted that Maus take a medical examination. The doctor concluded that Maus was also sterile, which forced his wife into admitting that their two children did not belong to him.
Soupolos is now suing Maus in an effort to get his money back. Mausâ argument is that he did not guarantee conception, only that he would try his hardest.
No Foal No Fee should surely come into play here.
fair play to yer man banging her every week, and getting paid for it too!
For some reason I tend to ignore this thread but that was a mistake. Some of those stories are cracking.
Ex beauty queen to boot!
Funny that. theres some threads I wouldnât really be looking into much and one or two probably never, the fair city thread being a prime example. God only knows what goes on in there
Wrestling one for me.
Also the Home and Away one.
[quote=âfarmerinthecityâ]Wrestling one for me.
Also the Home and Away one.[/QUOTE]
Anything to do with scotland or its football type threads are usually shite
Agree with that but sssssssshhhhhhhhh.
Yeah once I realised a good while ago that the stalker thread was about Home and Away (anyone have any decent real-life stalker stories btw?) I never click into it anymore.
The music one deteriorated rapidly once Farmer began firing in shitloads of songs from oblique bands, irrespective of the songsâ quality, to show off his music knowledge. Music snob that he is. I only click into it the odd time now in the hope of seeing an old Stone Roses classic or something.
Or a bit of Richie Kavanagh
Well I started the thread so I can put in what I like.
I also take umbridge with the fact that the songs were of a poor quality. In fact I would hazard a guess that you didnât even listen to half of them but just decided that when you didnât recognise the name that you wouldnât bother listen to it.
Sad really.
[quote=âfarmerinthecityâ]Well I started the thread so I can put in what I like.
I also take umbridge with the fact that the songs were of a poor quality. In fact I would hazard a guess that you didnât even listen to half of them but just decided that when you didnât hear of the name that you wouldnât bother listen to it.
Sad really.[/QUOTE]
In fairness I just had a look there and some are pretty shite.
Iâll try and get the ball rolling there again now
Bandageâs sister claimed I privately emailed her when I, in fact, never did such a thing.
Reverse stalking if you like.