Wexford GAA 2009

[quote=“Paul Codd”]

:wink:

should be a great weekend in town and the park

[quote=“Paul Codd”]

Class. Do you know which one of them answered the phone?

Menapian, agree totally on the point about using the provincial venues. It’s a pity they weren’t more progressive as it should have been pushed along years ago.

1981 - that’s mad alright. I was born that autumn so my initial impression/estimate/guess about no senior intercounty championship game involving us being held there in my lifetime was correct.

Didn’t recognise the voice actualy.

Could be a cracking evening - it’s the Saturday of the bank holiday weekend too. Poses lots of new quandries though - like where to go for prematch pints??? Browne’s of Bishopswater maybe?

[quote=“Paul Codd”]

Is it fixed for the Saturday evening? That would be swell. Last senior Saturday evening action, as far as I recall, was the qualifier football game against the Biffs in 2004 when Forde scored 2-10 or whatever. We pissed them off at half time too by parading the Leinster hurling cup having beaten them in the final the Sunday before. I recall getting absolutely pissed afterwards in the sadly now closed and defunct Finnegan’s - fook you recession. Let’s list the various pub options; that’s a negative about the park - it’s away from the town centre and there’s fook all pubs close by.

I may well hit Wexford town for my second ever night out down there after the game. Beats booking into some random B&B in Kilkenny or Carlow.

Aye-twill be my second ever night out on the lash in Wexford town too.
Their dialect is undecipherable down there and they are an uneducated, unsavoury but innocuous sort of folk but it will be all part of the experience on championship hurling night. The locals should fit right in with the Biffo’s that travel down.

The Phoenix - is that still about?

Bandage’s guide to potenial drinking venues near Wexford Park:

1. Browne’s of Bishopswater - across the road from Larry O’Gorman’s homeplace, a walk up two hills to the park. A traditional local.

2. Distillery Bar in Bishopswater - an extra few hundred yards down from Browne’s. Another traditional local and venue for boxing homecoming party for Billy Walsh last summer. Wexford jersey painted on front wall. A pub with a Sarsfields presence.

3. Jack Bailey’s (formerly The Phoenix) in St Aidan’s Shopping Centre - you should never trust a pub that’s part of a shopping centre. But I’d hardly call a newsagent, a pharmacy, a supermarket, a barber’s, a bookie’s and a pub a shopping centre. Full of undesirables but a walk up one hill to the park.

4. Culleton’s of Whitemil Road - beside my old primary school at Kennedy Park and probably the closest pub to the park. I would fear for my life in there.

5. Gaynor’s at the top of Hill Street - another traditional local and a St John’s Volunteers watering hole. A ten minute walk up to the park. Not a bad spot.

6. McGee’s / The Wexford Arms - down the road from Gaynor’s. Never been in there but another traditional local and meant to be a decent spot.

7. Whitford House Hotel - on the very outskirts of the town but it’s actually only a twenty minute walk from there into the park. More salubrious surroundings and offers beer garden potential if it’s a sunny summer evening. You could do worse than to dump the car there and get pissed for the afternoon before strolling into the park.

After that, you’re more or less talking about pubs down town or on the quayfront.

Fook, I’m looking forward to this game now.

Jesus I didn’t think this kind of banter went on in GAA threads, I nearly want to go now.

been in culletons a few times as girls live nearby … and not as bad as you saw bandage although i tended to drink as quick as possible anytime in there…

i reckon it’ll be a post match celebration(hopefully) in the crown and early into stores to avoid the 45 min queue

Bonner names his first Model selection

Wexfords new hurling manager Colm Bonnar and his selectors have named a strong team for their first competitive game against UCD in the opening round of the Walsh Cup on Sunday next.

Richie Kehoe is included following his return from the USA. Anthony OConnell (Rathnure) gets a run at corner back while Toms Waters (St. Martins) and Nicky Kirwan (Oulart-the-Ballagh) are also included following good performances in the closing stages of the local championship.

Otherwise, many of the regular faces are included as the new management set about settling on a panel for the NHL which commences next month with an away game to Kerry.

Wexford (Walsh Cup v UCD) - Dermot Flynn (Rathnure), Brendan OLeary (Rathnure), Richie Kehoe (Faythe-Harriers), Anthony OConnell (Rathnure), Michael Jacob (Oulart-the-Ballagh), David OConnor (St. Annes), Ciarn Kenny (Buffers Alley), David Redmond (Oulart-the-Ballagh), Colm Farrell (HWH Bunclody), Stephen Doyle (Oulart-the-Ballagh), Toms Waters (St. Martins), Diarmuid Lyng (St. Martins), Rory Jacob (Oulart-the-Ballagh), Stephen Banville (Shelmaliers), Nicky Kirwan (Oulart-the-Ballagh)

No many new faces there

[quote=“Bandage”]Bandage’s guide to potenial drinking venues near Wexford Park:

1. Browne’s of Bishopswater - across the road from Larry O’Gorman’s homeplace, a walk up two hills to the park. A traditional local.

2. Distillery Bar in Bishopswater - an extra few hundred yards down from Browne’s. Another traditional local and venue for boxing homecoming party for Billy Walsh last summer. Wexford jersey painted on front wall. A pub with a Sarsfields presence.

3. Jack Bailey’s (formerly The Phoenix) in St Aidan’s Shopping Centre - you should never trust a pub that’s part of a shopping centre. But I’d hardly call a newsagent, a pharmacy, a supermarket, a barber’s, a bookie’s and a pub a shopping centre. Full of undesirables but a walk up one hill to the park.

4. Culleton’s of Whitemil Road - beside my old primary school at Kennedy Park and probably the closest pub to the park. I would fear for my life in there.

5. Gaynor’s at the top of Hill Street - another traditional local and a St John’s Volunteers watering hole. A ten minute walk up to the park. Not a bad spot.

6. McGee’s / The Wexford Arms - down the road from Gaynor’s. Never been in there but another traditional local and meant to be a decent spot.

7. Whitford House Hotel - on the very outskirts of the town but it’s actually only a twenty minute walk from there into the park. More salubrious surroundings and offers beer garden potential if it’s a sunny summer evening. You could do worse than to dump the car there and get pissed for the afternoon before strolling into the park.

After that, you’re more or less talking about pubs down town or on the quayfront.

Fook, I’m looking forward to this game now.[/quote]

Im assuming number 6 is Jim McGees?,a great spot for a late or early drink,stayed in the rooms above on 2 different stags,bare basic accomodation with no breakfast or anything that way,got up at 8.15am one Sunday morning to discover that hed left the B&B door open,thought this was very lax security until i noticed a steady stream of traffic coming up the stairs and out onto a flat roof leading to a fire escape from the pub,at around 9am there was 25 people there apart from my group,an hour later the place was alive,the best attended early house ive ever seen without doubt.Grand big pub but a tough eneogh crowd in there,at the same time there wouldnt much danger of any trouble starting with Jim behind the bar,hes a big man whos well able to use himself…

1. Gaynor’s at the top of Hill Street - another traditional local and a St John’s Volunteers watering hole. A ten minute walk up to the park. Not a bad spot.

2. McGee’s / The Wexford Arms - down the road from Gaynor’s. Never been in there but another traditional local and meant to be a decent spot.

3. Whitford House Hotel - on the very outskirts of the town but it’s actually only a twenty minute walk from there into the park. More salubrious surroundings and offers beer garden potential if it’s a sunny summer evening. You could do worse than to dump the car there and get pissed for the afternoon before strolling into the park.

Fook, I’m looking forward to this game now.[/quote]

They still remember you from school? What club are you again, Clonard?

1. Jack Bailey’s (formerly The Phoenix) in St Aidan’s Shopping Centre - you should never trust a pub that’s part of a shopping centre. But I’d hardly call a newsagent, a pharmacy, a supermarket, a barber’s, a bookie’s and a pub a shopping centre. Full of undesirables but a walk up one hill to the park.

2. Culleton’s of Whitemil Road - beside my old primary school at Kennedy Park and probably the closest pub to the park. I would fear for my life in there.

No. 3 used to be seriously dodgy when it was The Phoenix. Lots of dodgy regulars from around the corner on Talbot Green.

If I’m right in my assumption that No. 4 used to be The Mayflower, then you are right to fear for your life if the same clientele frequent there! Though I remember going there after a Leinster SFC game there against westmeath in the mid-90’s and it was almost deserted on a Sunday afternoon.

Apparently, the rough element used to go there after bingo nights in Clonard church/community centre. :smiley:

Yep Menapian, Culleton’s = The Mayflower. That’s my area of Wexford town and them’s mean places alright!

As for Sunday’s team, Bonnar invited 25 lads into the panel before Christmas - most of them from last year’s panel and there were a few others I mentioned a while back on the thread like Antony O’Connell, Mossy Waters, and Nicky Kirwan now obviously too.

He was apparently looking to use these district trial games to fill the remaining 5 or so spots on the panel but I’m not sure how worthwhile they’re proving to be having seen some of the team line-ups. The Wexford District team that played the weekend before last was terribly weak for example and I guess lots of people mustn’t have bothered going forward for it.

The result is that Sunday’s team only has a few ‘new’ lads. Richie Kehoe is a wing back though - we may need a new full back but Richie has always done his best hurling from the half back line where he can drive forward onto the ball. He’s just not suited to full back where it requires more discipline.

[quote=“Bandage”]Yep Menapian, Culleton’s = The Mayflower. That’s my area of Wexford town and them’s mean places alright!

Shows you how long I’ve been living outside of Wexford that I still refer to it as The Mayflower!

Might be a good spot for a TFK pre or post match pissup on the day we play the Biffs.

[quote=“Paul Codd”]

Nice one:)

Looking forward to this already

just reading the match reports in standard today and going into the last weekend of district games the New Ross District the weakest district in the county for hurling is on top of the table

Have you seen the line-ups?

Wexford District have a lad from a Junior D club playing centre back.

I wonder what the fook Bonnar thought of some of the lads playing.