Wexford GAA 2009

Nail on head there Bandage in respect of extra defender etc. That works for a year at club level (a new tactic i mean). It will only last a couple of games at IC. Even last year in Wexfords best performaces some of the actual one-on-one defending was very poor, theyā€™ll have to work on that, especially as i see these rules becoming more or less all going through to championship.
Forwards are nearly as good as anyone on their day i would say.

What other teams are in Division 2 of the NHL with Wexford:
Offaly
Laois
Antrim
Westmeath
Carlow?
Down?
?

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]We got embarrassingly destroyed by Armagh today.

We were playing with a gale behind us in the first half but conceded two goals inside the first five minutes to Ryan Henderson. He ended with a personally tally of 4-3! My brother told me heā€™d been impressive in the McKenna Cup and to keep an eye out for him but I wasnā€™t expecting that.

We stormed into the game then and turned a 2-3 to 0-3 deficit into a 2-8 to 2-3 half time lead. David Fogarty got a smashing goal after a pinpoint pass from Colm Morris sent him bursting through. Paddy Colfer then got an opportunist goal - he intercepted an attempted pass from the 'keeper, shrugged off a tackle and deftly lobbed the ball into the net from 25 yards. Ciarn Lyng and Shane Cullen got a couple of nice scores from play and we had something to defend.

But they came out and scored 1-7 without reply in the first 14 minutes of the second half and our capitulation was like the Leinster Final last year and quite shambolic really. PJ Banville cracked an effort off the cross bar at 2-8 to 2-4 when clean through and that was that for us.

Stephen Kernan came on for Ronan Clarke (yellow card just before half time) and he was excellent and kicked some good scores. They had sprung a surprise at the start by including Aaron Kernan despite Crossmaglen still being involved in the club championship and he marauded forward for a few points also.

We have a fairly potent set of forwards but our defence has proven not to be good enough and we need to sort that out. We started with Collie Byrne playing that sweeper role and Eric Bradley (as exlusively revealed by cailinlochgarman on Private Mail) as full back, with Forde on the bench.

Armagh were expecting it and Aaron Kernan pushed upfield and onto our sweeper and he got loads of ball. So we reverted to a more orthodox set-up and were basically destroyed in the end. I think the Wexicans on here will know that some of the defenders that were tried out are never going to be intercounty class and they were well and truly taken to school.

The management were very slow to take any action and Ryanā€™s going to have to come up with the personnel and system to prevent us from being picked apart so easily. We still won a fair share of possession in the second half against the wind but we didnā€™t use the ball well and their forwards, along with the supporting cast of midfielders and half backs, were far too much for our defence.

I was pretty disappointed with our effort and commitment in the second half to be honest. Brendan Doyle and Paddy Colfer worked hard, as did Collie Byrne actually, and Lyng and Cullen were decent enough. There was a fair sprinkling of average and poor performances though. Diarmuid Kinsella made his return too after being away for the last few years.[/quote]

Second season syndrome maybe Bandage. Ive never been impressed by the majority of the Wexford defenders. Their man marking skills leave a lot to be desired. The likes of Colm Morris, Wallace and Niall Murphy are routinely destroyed at Croke Park. Think Wexford need a massive performance next time out or the season could peter out even before it truly begins. Getting players back to inter county level after a few years out is no easy task either.

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]Weā€™ve named our team for Sunday. Largely experienced but a very experimental half back line.

That forward line would be pretty sexual if Red Barry was available and in there ahead of Collie Byrne.

Looking forward to seeing Shane Cullen lead the attack.

I presume Phil Wallace has still to make a decision on whether to return or not.

Adrian Morrissey is ruled out because of Kilmacud Crokes commitments and thereā€™s the odd injury such as David Murphy.

From RTE:[/quote]

philly wallace is back for another year. after todayā€™s performance he is badly needed

Laois are our other opponents in the hurling Puke. The scheduleā€™s a bit random in that weā€™re at home to all four Leinster teams, with three long away trips to Kerry, Antrim and Down. Away to Kerry first up next weekend! We were meant to be in Tipperary to play them in a challenge today but it was rained/flooded off.

I was listening to Jason Ryan on South East Radio and he said he was disappointed with our tackling, distribution and dig. That pretty much sums it up but losing the opening league game, albeit very heavily, isnā€™t cause for panic.

Weā€™re relatively weak defensively at full strength so it was always going to be a struggle without Wallace, Niall and David Murphy and Adrian Morrissey. We gave some lads a chance today and it didnā€™t work out but itā€™s a case of dusting ourselves down and getting on with it. Iā€™m sure some of the other squad players will get a chance in Clones on Sunday week.

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]We were meant to be in Tipperary to play them in a challenge today but it was rained/flooded off.

Hang your head in shame bandage, your knowledge of wexford hurling is shockingā€¦the match was supposed to be on in Danesfort county kilkennyā€¦Home of Paddy and Richie Hoganā€¦

For shame:p

[quote=ā€œThe Pukeā€]Hang your head in shame bandage, your knowledge of wexford hurling is shockingā€¦the match was supposed to be on in Danesfort county kilkennyā€¦Home of Paddy and Richie Hoganā€¦

For shame:p[/quote]

I stand corrected so Puke. I was told by one of the players that we were meant to be playing them somewhere in ā€˜boggerlandā€™ so I made the jump and assumed he was referring to Tipp. I was warned before about assuming so I wonā€™t assume again.

bandage i heard at friday night wexford we meant to be starting playing 7 rows of 2 playersā€¦ did this happen at the startā€¦ also how did Graeme Molloy play only got feedback from few of the club lads so interested to hear an outside view seeing as other commitments unfortunately kept the abod away from the game

CLG, that didnā€™t happen - I donā€™t see how our defence could have positioned themselves like that as itā€™s up to us to mark the Armagh forwards and they were a traditional six.

We started like this:
-------Masterson,--------
Malone, Bradley, G Murphy,
--------C Byrne----------
Molloy, A Doyle, Morris,
ā€”Fogarty, B Doyle,ā€”
Deely, Colfer, Banville,
-----Lyng, Cullen.-----

I made our scorers to be:
Lyng (0-4, 0-2F), Colfer (1-1), Cullen (0-3, 0-1F), Fogarty (1-0), Kinsella (0-1).

Yer man Henderson took Gary Murphy for 3-3 before Conor Murphy was brought on. Kinsella came on for Deely, but he got his point in the first half when on as a blood sub for Colfer. Forde came on for Banville, Paddy Byrne came on for Lyng and Dylan Kehoe for Fogarty.

Molloy was alright - pretty average, I suppose. Coughed up a bit of ball in the tackle but made a few decent forays forward at times. Mixed distribution too.

How was Doyle at 6 Bandage? Think heā€™s too small for that position myself but Ryan seems to like them there.

Any performances to take encouragement from?

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]Laois are our other opponents in the hurling Puke. The scheduleā€™s a bit random in that weā€™re at home to all four Leinster teams, with three long away trips to Kerry, Antrim and Down. Away to Kerry first up next weekend! We were meant to be in Tipperary to play them in a challenge today but it was rained/flooded off.

I was listening to Jason Ryan on South East Radio and he said he was disappointed with our tackling, distribution and dig. That pretty much sums it up but losing the opening league game, albeit very heavily, isnā€™t cause for panic.

Weā€™re relatively weak defensively at full strength so it was always going to be a struggle without Wallace, Niall and David Murphy and Adrian Morrissey. We gave some lads a chance today and it didnā€™t work out but itā€™s a case of dusting ourselves down and getting on with it. Iā€™m sure some of the other squad players will get a chance in Clones on Sunday week.[/quote]

Perspective is always needed for most counties at this time of the year. Its probably good for counties who havenā€™t had any recent success to get a big excited, drum up a bit of interest, but other than that its foolish.
Some debut for that Armagh lad. Would i be correct insaying its a fairly protestant name? Henderson?

From RTE, christ theyā€™re brutal

Wexford 2-09 Armagh 4-16

Ryan Henderson (4-03) scored 15 points for Armagh in a six-goal thriller at Wexford Park as the visitors won by 13 points.

A brace of Henderson goals ensured Armagh took a 2-13 to 2-08 interval lead with goals from Paddy Colfer and Eoin Fogarty keeping Wexford in touch.

Wexford failed to up their game on the restart with just one second half point.

The absence of the Crossmaglen contingent Armagh mattered little as Henderson added his third and fourth goals.

I reckon itā€™s a name thatā€™s common enough for both religions. He plays with the excellently named Clann ireann though. He was on their All Ireland winning U-21 team four years ago so Iā€™m surprised he hasnā€™t come through before now.

Doyle was another one of those who was average enough Mac. He was tidy on the ball for the most part but they were careering up the middle in the second half. I like a centre back in football to put lads on their arses in such instances but they were too strong for us.

Nothing much to take encouragement from. Shane Cullen was decent in spells and Paddy Colfer was good.

As I mentioned before, we were winning 2-8 to 2-3 at half time so that aspect of their report is bollox too, as well as the Eoin Fogarty part. I was settling the Vbookie bets earlier and using the RTE website to get the results and the thought struck me that they might very well be incorrect.

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]CLG, that didnā€™t happen - I donā€™t see how our defence could have positioned themselves like that as itā€™s up to us to mark the Armagh forwards and they were a traditional six.

We started like this:
-------Masterson,--------
Malone, Bradley, G Murphy,
--------C Byrne----------
Molloy, A Doyle, Morris,
ā€”Fogarty, B Doyle,ā€”
Deely, Colfer, Banville,
-----Lyng, Cullen.-----

I made our scorers to be:
Lyng (0-4, 0-2F), Colfer (1-1), Cullen (0-3, 0-1F), Fogarty (1-0), Kinsella (0-1).

Yer man Henderson took Gary Murphy for 3-3 before Conor Murphy was brought on. Kinsella came on for Deely, but he got his point in the first half when on as a blood sub for Colfer. Forde came on for Banville, Paddy Byrne came on for Lyng and Dylan Kehoe for Fogarty.

Molloy was alright - pretty average, I suppose. Coughed up a bit of ball in the tackle but made a few decent forays forward at times. Mixed distribution too.[/quote]

Is that guy Byrne a clever footballer, good link, passer of the ball etc, because he needs to be. That role behind the No.6 has been sussed by some teams, but the it can work if the guy is very clever. I have seen crafty corner forwards doing a good job, but the athletic half forwards being useless and just getting in the way more than anything. Another centre back (or plays there with his club) is also a good option for this position, with an athletic attacking No.6 holding the regular position. Takes up alot of time at training and everyone needs to be totally commited to that kind of gameplan.

i would say collie byrne is non of the aboveā€¦average club footballerā€¦probably get a bench position for championship team of year if luckyā€¦ i was thinking myself it would be pretty hard to line out like that alrite

Thatā€™s the thing. I wouldnā€™t regard Collie Byrne as a particularly clever player. Heā€™s a forager and a workhouse and will run all day. I take your point that you need someone who reads the game well for the role but it seems we picked Collie 'cos he has the engine to track all across the pitch and throughout our half of the field. Someone playing the role successfully might not necessarily expend a load of energy - just hold the middle around 30 yards out and then make short, sharp bursts to cut out passes and to cover runners on either side.

Common mistake made. I made it myself for most of a season a few years ago. We had a very weak full back line and good forwards, with two county players playing inside. Seemed an easy option to play a runner at corner forward and bring him back. Never really worked to be honest.

Sports Savers is the new sponsor

who?:confused: