Wexford GAA 2009

[quote=“KIB man”]Good jesus what a hiding. Kildare are awful muck.

Dublin to win leinster is 5/4. Price should be 1/2[/quote]

We need Peter O’Dwyer back-badly

:smiley: Now that lad was muck

Depressing day down in Newbridge alright. Could be my last away trip of the season. Some of the stuff was fuckin junior standard. Though Andreas Doyle, Colfer and Wallace tried hard and Eric was good in patches, but as for the rest…

We have an awful tail on that panel, some of them lads are average enough club players never mind intercounty. We just cant afford to be missing the likes of Matty,Red, Morrisey and Murphy. Division fucking 3 here we come.

Possibly one of the worst performances I’ve ever seen from the footballers. It was like a flashback to 2001/2002 the way they were playing. In the first half at one point we were about 20m out and I counted something like 7 or 8 handpasses from lads in scoreable positions before the ball eventually made its way to either Cullen or Flynn who took a shot that landed into the keepers hands. None of the forwards wanted to take on shooting themselves.

As Bandage aluded to we just completely self destructed at the end of the first half. Kildare led by 6 points to 3 and then scored 1-4 without reply. At least 1-3 of this was indirectly related to Collie Byrne. Bandage has mentioned the free he took. Masterson landed 3 kickouts in a row down on top of Collie, his man jumped up unchallenged, skated up the field and Kildare got a point.

John Doyle must have scored 7 or 8 frees which shows our indiscipline. PJ Banville got a yellow card for the Kildare keepers theatrics. Phillip Wallace got a yellow right at the end. We seemed to give away a huge amount of frees all over the pitch.

To make matters worse we had an extra man for about 20-25 mins. Can’t remember which player but one of the Kildare lads got a straight red for standing on one of the Wexford backs. It was fairly similar to what happened Mattie in 2006.

I wouldnt even take as much positives as some of the other lads did.

Mastersons kicking was fairly useless. Could have possibly done better for the second goal.

Walsh got the complete run around from Doyle. Every time Doyle got the ball you knew he’d score or get fouled. Wallace was alright going forward but got the run around at the back. Carter was alright but didnt really see much of him. Would prefer Malone back there.

Didnt think Doyle was as good as what the lads said. He’s coming on but still a long way off whats needed. Malone wasn’t great. Think he’d be better in the corner. Morris, like Wallace was ok going forward but found wanting defensively.

Bradley give an honest effort but seemed unfit. Would say the same about Fogarty.

Flynn was pretty useless. Paddy Colfer was annoymous but got a great point from the sideline in the second half. Collie Byrnes biggest mistake was walking out onto the pitch at the start of the game.

Lyng was quiet but got 1 or 2 lovely points in the second half. Cullen carried a lot of ball but didnt really get anywhere. Banville didnt do a lot and was yellow carded after about 20 mins.

Jason Murphy was brought on for Banville and then taken off again with about 20 mins left! The other subs used were Diarmuid Kinsella who needs another few months training. Graham Molloy who came on in the forwards even though I thought he was a back. Niall Murphy (for Morris) who looks about a stone overweight. There was 1 or 2 more lads brought on but cant remember who they were now. Fogarty, Byrne, Flynn, Murphy and Morris were the lads who came off from what I remember.

I can safely say that he is a far better player than the likes of Boccy Doyle.

Peter is a fantastic club player and always give his all.

[quote=“KIB man”]I can safely say that he is a far better player than the likes of Boccy Doyle.

Peter is a fantastic club player and always give his all.[/quote]

How many All Ireland championship matches in Croke Park did Peter O’Dwyer win man of the match in?!

Ah mac, motm awards? I dont know much about this argument between yourself and KIB man, but MOTM awards are a pile of scutter.

Look at the question mark closely followed by the exclamation point after my sentence MBB and it might enlighten you a bit more

Nope, you’ll have to explain that one a little further. Does the exclamation mark after the question mark mean you were not being serious?

Yes, yes it does

Ah grand so. Just checking there.

Djimi Traore has a Champions League medal.

And fair play to him. So does Jonathan Greening. Whats your point? :stuck_out_tongue:

every dog has its day

GRAEME Molloy plays in the forwards usually with the club…

Sorry CLG, thought I remembered him playing in the backs with Wexford previously. Back in 2006 maybe against Meath?

ya for wexford he had previously played wing back mainly … he club he has mainly played wing forward … or this year he started corner forward often and came out as a 3rd midfielder with Boccy and Emmett Dunning

Good Counsel College(New Ross) 3-19
Birr Community School 1-14

I went to this at Nowlan Park on Saturday,good win for GCC over Leinster favourites Birr CS who were trailing for the entire game,GCC went in 0-11 to 0-07 ahead at the break and should have been further ahead.With around 10 minutes left they were still 4 points up but were struggling to hold on to that lead,a position they should never have been in,goalkeeper Keiran Kehoe let in a soft goal a few minutes before this and deadly corner forward Ger Aylward struck for goal twice when tapping the ball over was the sensible option,two late goals by MOTM Horeswood man Declan Murphy put a flattering look on the scorebaord for them,Murphy,who scored 2-5 all from play and Ger Aylward who hit 1-3 were the outstanding players on view,others who starred for GCC were Walter Walsh(0-2,Matt O Hanlon when moved to midfield,Alan Nolan,Ian Duggan,freetaker James Cassin and Joe Lyng.Birr were very dissapointing mainly up front where they looked toothless with only centre back B Harding,wing back B Murphy who was class scoring 0-3 from play and centre forward C Hogan hurling well on the day,the big Offaly crowd at the game were expecting better id say.Id be fairly familiar with Castlecomer CS hurlers and id reckon GCC should beat them, this ML O Hanlon will be back for the next game,never seen him play but im told hes good,Colm Foran will start at corner back too,he came on and well,they need them because they are carrying one or two fellas.GCCs big problem is that they dont appear to have a centre back,Matt O Hanlon was poor in it but excelled when moved to midfield,Joe Lyng was poor there too but hurled very well at wing back,small corner back Ian Duggan finished the game ther,hes surely too small for CB,they need to sort this.Centre forward position doesnt look settled with them either,they definitely have the class to go on and win Leinster however,id expect them to do so.

[quote=“KIB man”]Good jesus what a hiding. Kildare are awful muck.

They are no Waterford anyway, have ye played Kilkenny yet, should make for an intersting match

:D, good job there is no division five thats all I’ll say on the matter.