Wexford GAA 2009

This could be the 6th time in a row to beat the Royals I think.
Iā€™d steer clear though WTB. Not going great guns at all.

Counsel are playing Castlecomer in Nowlan Park tomorrow at 1.30. Cant go myself as the league games are starting back up again at home, but should be a good game.

Gā€™wan the boys in blue. Good Counsel are Leinster Senior hurling Champions! Pity they lost the football final 2 weeks ago to make the double, but good to see them rebound from that.

Thatā€™s a boost for Wexford hurling. I wonā€™t congratulate Good Counsel though. :smiley:

I see Cork have beaten Laois comfortably enough tonight and Armagh scraped a win in Enniskillen. The leagueā€™s taken shape now and Cork, Monaghan and Kildare look to be stronger than everyone else. Armagh are missing their Crossmaglen contingent but they wonā€™t be in the relegation shake up after their win tonight.

That leaves ourselves on 0 points and Laois, Meath and Fermanagh on 2 points apiece. Weā€™re playing all these 3 at home, and with Cork away our other remaining fixture, it basically means that weā€™ll need to win all three home games to stay up, I reckon.

Weā€™re looking to be in really bad shape this season and were apparently fairly inept today. It finished 0-10 to 0-7 to Meath and we were 0-5 to 0-3 down at half time. Meath donā€™t appear to be up to much this season either so the form lines would suggest weā€™re considerably off the pace given we lost our other 3 games by an average of 12 points. Weā€™re more or less certain to get relegated now, which is disappointing, but whatā€™s more concerning is the manner of the defeats and how we seem to be going backwards.

Is it a bit of second season syndrome Bandageā€¦Were they missing many today and has there been much new blood added to the panel?

Thats a fair result, must be some talent down there considering that leinster schools at the top level would be a high standard. Would ye be expecting a good Minor team this year?

Weā€™ve been missing 3 or 4 players but itā€™s disappointing that weā€™ve been so far off the pace. Every team gets injuries and we havenā€™t adapted nearly well enough. Forde was only fit enough to come off the bench today, despite being named in the starting line-up, and heā€™s only started one of the 4 games. Redmond Barryā€™s our main playmaker and heā€™s going to be absent for the entire league campaign. Adrian Morrissey is tied up with Kilmacud Crokes and David Murphy, the centre back, has been out with a knee injury. Philip Wallace only came back in last week too. Weā€™ve tried out 2 or 3 players but none of them have stood out in losing teams, as youā€™d expect.

Thems the breaks I supposeā€¦Thanks for sharing your thoughts bandage, I wouldnā€™t pay too much heed to the rest of the wexican lads on here, they strike me as being fair weather fans:cool:

especially art foley

All very good players in fairness. You take out Colm Cooper, Marc Oā€™ Se, Declan Oā€™ Sullivan and Aidan the diver out of Kerry and theyā€™d struggle as well. I wouldnā€™t loose the faith. Wexford looked like a good championship team last year, and thats what matters really.

I didnt go into the game today myself, was after doing some coaching around noon an it was such a nice day out I didnt want to spoil it by going into the park so I went off for a jog around the Hook. Think I made the right choice anyway! From what I had heard of it, they started poor enough playing against the breeze, but came more back into it and missed a couple of very good goal chances. 2 points down with the wind behind them, and it seemed like they didnt win enough ball around the middle, coupled with the forwards inept display kicking something like 15 wides. PJ missed an awful chance for goal by all accounts too. As bad and all as it was, it was an improvement on the last couple of games, but depends on where Meath are. A game certainly they could have won tho.

WRT the counsel setup Caoimhaoin, I think there is about 6/7 on the starting team eligible for county minor this year in Wexford, but a lot on the panel are too. The only thing is, the majority are from the New Ross district, and would often in past years be overlooked as it is by far the weakest hurling area in the county. The last couple of underage teams tho have bucked that trend and have had a good few Ross lads involved, but our problem is when they progress from underage. Only one club from Ross plays senior, and only another 2 are intermediate. The other 7 clubs where a lot of these players are from are Junior, but nearly every club is senior football, and all players are dual players so chances are youā€™d see them in football rather than hurling.

Would it be unfair to say that Leinster Football is less competitive then Leinster Hurling at present?

was going to head into the park myself aswell but i was out in wexford last nite and after spinning home from the girls house this morning for training and wasnt finished till half oneā€¦

i heard alrite that there was 2 or 3 missed goal chances where players were one on one with keeperā€¦ PJs been one another by Andreas doyle and not sure otherwiseā€¦ what was the team that started bandage

Did you head to the match bandage or watch celtic? Wouldnā€™t blame you if you did the later. It was turgid stuff today. The backs werenā€™t too bad but we had zero threat going forward (with the exception of Lyng). Really poor and depressing to watch, we must have had about 5 goal chances and couldnā€™t finish any of them. Matty came on near the end but it was too late to make a difference. Meath are fairly muck all the same, no way they should be beating us in Wexford Park. Was thinking of heading down to Cork next week but i think iā€™ll give it a miss now.

Masterson
Carter Wallace Walshe
Doyle Murphy Morris
Boccy Bradley
Cullen Colfer Fogarty
Lyng Malone Banville

We were against the wind in the first half so malone played as an extra defender

No, I watched Celtic. To be honest, I had no intention of going today given it was a cup final.

And it wasnt a championship game in Croker, even that wasnt enough for ya last year, foam hand merchant :wink:

Dan bandage went to belfast to watch a division 2 NHL matchā€¦He deserves our respectā€¦I repeat division 2!

On the footballers current form i couldnā€™t really blame you.

Disappointing stuff today. Honestly dont know whats gone wrong. This is the type of game we would have won last year. The Meath backs were rubbish and we hit 15 wides and missed at least 4 clear cut goal chances. 2 points from play and forwards who are afraid to shoot. We scored 8 points last week and 7 points this week. Its fairly obvious our forwards arenā€™t up to scratch. The forwards that have come in this year havenā€™t stepped up to the mark. Shane Cullen is a reliable free taker but hasnā€™t contributed a lot from open play yet. Diarmuid Kinsella looks about 2 months away from being close to fit.

We started off playing like we did against Down and Armagh with 7 backs and 5 forwards. The forwards didnt do enough running off the ball to compensate for the lack of an extra man. Against a strong wind it seemed like a decent idea but didnt work. The inside forwards had to come too deep for the ball and then there was no running off the ball. The team donā€™t seem to have a lot of confidence at the moment.

David Fogarty was winning a lot of ball in midfield but then was taken off and Meath went to town on us in the middle. Mattie came on, touched the ball 3 times and hit 3 wides. Ciaran Lyng looked the only forward capable of scoring from play. Tommy Howlin was brought on at half time for David Walsh and played full forward. Think he touched the ball 3 times as well.

Masterson - much improved from last week. Kicking was good and commanded his area well. Made a good save at the end of the first half.

Walsh - didnt really do much. Think he was marking Stephen Bray. Taken off at half time and replaced by Tommy Howlin.

Wallace - Solid enough. Good to have him back and himself and Murphy gave the team a solid spine.

Carter - have seen this lad twice now. Donā€™t think heā€™s better than the other options and will probably lose out when Adrian Morrissey comes back. Still, didnt do much wrong.

Morris - Usual performance going forward and was better defensively than against Kildare.

Murphy - Good to have him back. Showed his importance to the team by the fact that they only conceded 10 points this week. Vital he stays fit for the rest of the season as no-one else is good enough to play there.

Malone - Looked out on his feet at the end. Was quieter than some of the other backs. Looks like he could do with a rest for a week or 2 to re-energise him.

A Doyle - was impressed by him. He did very well and looked more comfortable at wing back. The best of the new players introduced this season.

Boccy - Won a lot of ball at midfield and was a usual performance from him.

Bradley - Was all over the pitch in the first half before disappearing in the second half. Was yellow carded and replaced by Diarmuid Kinsella.

Cullen - Scored 3 points from frees I think. Not the same player as he was 3/4 years ago. Still think thereā€™s more to come from him.

Colfer - Did alright in the first half. Always showed for the ball but not enough. Heā€™ll do well to retain his place when everyone is available. Think Mattie came on for him.

Fogarty - Our midfield went out of it the minute he was taken off. Broke a decent amout of ball and made a good nuisance of himself. Replaced by Collie Byrne who was yellow carded and replaced by Adrian Flynn.

Lyng - The only forward who looked like scoring. Reliable from frees and he scored our only 2 points from play. Think he scored 3 frees as well. Needs better forwards around him.

Banville - worked hard but too often ran aimlessly into the corner with the ball rather than towards the goal. Good workrate but dont ever remember him attempting to shoot.