Stephen Banvilleâs suspension has made me seethe somewhat. I donât know exactly what he did - I didnât spot it at the game - but the TV cameras obviously picked something up given the referee went back and looked at it again. Iâm told he âlashed outâ with his hand and shoved a lad over - maybe he should have been sent off, as I say, I donât know.
But Iâm pissed off at the complete arbitrary nature of the suspension. They just seem to have randomly decided to clamp down on a few incidents from the games in Thurles. Is it merely because these games were televised? Iâd find it fair enough if there was a rugby football style citing commissioner at every game in the league and championship and there was consistency in dishing out suspensions across the board.
But I donât believe thatâs the case - is it? As a result, teams who get featured on TV will have more chance of picking up suspensions. Itâs a load of bollox. And youâd think these cunts would be able to finally put through âmatchâ bans. Eddie Brennan and Hugh Maloney are banned for a month but wonât miss any inter-county games, while Banville misses our game against Offaly as the gameâs on a Saturday evening and his ban isnât up until midnight that night.
Itâs a complete mess, make-it-up-as-you-go-along type system. Liam OâNeillâs trying to make a push to be the next President by being the man to solve indiscipline in the association - fook him.
Good to see the administrators in Wexford donât understand what basis theyâre appealing Banvilleâs suspension on. Joke all round. From todayâs Irish Independent:
Wexford plan to appeal Banville ban
Tuesday May 12 2009
WEXFORD are set to appeal a retrospective four-week ban received by forward Stephen Banville in the Division 2 NHL final, which rules him out of their championship opener against Offaly on May 30.
Banville was only ticked during the League final for an off-the-ball incident but the Central Competitions Control Committee (CCCC) has since decided it merited a red card and recommended he gets a four-week suspension for it.
It looks as if the ban will rule him out of their Leinster opener by just five hours, although Wexford county secretary Margaret Doyle admitted that they are not entirely sure of the correct interpretation of Rule 146 and will seek clarification from Croke Park.
The suspension seems likely to rule Banville out because both the NHL and the Leinster SH championship are classified as âthe same levelâ (senior inter-county) and such suspensions apply âin the same code (hurling) and the same levelâ.
The CCCC also retrospectively proposed similar suspensions for Tipperaryâs Hugh Maloney and Kilkennyâs Eddie Brennan last week arising from the Division 1 NHL final, but both will be unaffected because their championship openers fall after their four-week bans have ended.
Elsewhere, Aisake O hAilpin has put himself in contention for a Munster championship role with the Cork senior hurlers after figuring prominently for them in a challenge-game victory over Dublin last weekend.
O hAilpin, who returned home last winter after a spell playing Aussie Rules, has already lined out for the senior footballers in the later stages of the NFL but his impact at full-forward for the hurlers indicates he could yet play a role for them this summer.
[quote=âBandageâ]
Itâs a complete mess, make-it-up-as-you-go-along type system. Liam OâNeillâs trying to make a push to be the next President by being the man to solve indiscipline in the association - fook him.[/QUOTE]
Shame on you bandage for criticising someone who is trying to sort out the inherent violence in this great Association. Men like O Neill are patriots and do this for themselves, not some hidden agenda.
Once O Neill has all this sorted out, it will also allow NCC to spend more time with his newborn, and not have to trawl the internet kindly informing us all about it.
[quote=âmyboyblueâ]Shame on you bandage for criticising someone who is trying to sort out the inherent violence in this great Association. Men like O Neill are patriots and do this for themselves, not some hidden agenda.
Once O Neill has all this sorted out, it will also allow NCC to spend more time with his newborn, and not have to trawl the internet kindly informing us all about it.
Think about others for once.[/QUOTE]
Apologies for my criticism of Liam OâNeill, MBB. I now look back and regret my above post and I want to clarify that I do not think that there is a group of gombeen suits in the upper echelons of the GAA all vying for the Presidential job so they can get 3-yearsâ leave from their job and free carvery dinners every day.
Gombeen, what a beautiful word. Neatly sums up the clowns that run the GGA.
Bandage comhgairdeas for your neat summing up of the Banville fiasco. Its almost as if weâve discussed the situation. OâNeill is clearly trying to keep his name among the king makers for his next tilt at the presidency in 2 years time. Well he should fuck right off and leave well enough alone. The new rules that he tried to steam roll through lost, now get over it and jog on. Players were, according to that most reliable of sources, the GPA, 80% against the new rules. But as Liam pointed out at the time, we donât listen to outsiders.
Anyhow, the league final Div 1 was a tremendous spectacle. Please god let there be more of it this summer. There wonât a problem with spectator apathy then. But Liam ainât happy coz there were too many hurls broken. Boo hoo.
Now another gombeen. Christy Cooney. Christy was on Sunday Sport with Jackie and Con. Now I thought that before this interview Christy was just a boring, conservative Cork cunt. Now I think he is a complete and utter fool with his head stuck in the sand. The occasion of his interview was to mark La na gClub. Christy was asked by Con about the serious and potentially crippling issue of delayed club câships over the summer months. Club players are becoming pissed off. What ya gonna do about it? Christy replied something about the SRC but he didnât know or didnât want to know. He just wanted to tell us all how great the GAA is. And all these great clubs and be jaysus 400,000 people out with their clubs today. Ok, so its la na gclub. What will we do for the day? Hmmm, first letâs ban club matches and take another Sunday out of the calender. Idiots. Oh but letâs not apply it to Kilkenny. No bother so.
Iâve tried to find the latest SRC publication on the Gaa website but canât - could be my lack of IT skills. I could do with a good laugh before I go to bed.
And recently he said (in the indo I think) that admission prices will stay the same for 09, and theyâll monitor the situation. Will you please drop the prices you gormless fools? Even a token gesture would show that you are living in the real world. People are broke and attendances are dropping off wildly. Look at the âsacredâ Munster hurling c ship, thousands of empty seats until the final. Fooking hell but sure who cares because Croker will be full in September.
[quote=âAppendageâ]Is that a trick questoin Mac? Only you are the lad who told you could really answer that.
Iâm going 50/50.
Yes you did hear it?[/QUOTE]
Good lad, good lad. Iâll rephrase it ye smart cunt - Is it true that the Wexford footballers struggled to beat London, in London the weekend just gone?
[quote=âAppendageâ]Gombeen, what a beautiful word. Neatly sums up the clowns that run the GGA.
Bandage comhgairdeas for your neat summing up of the Banville fiasco. Its almost as if weâve discussed the situation. OâNeill is clearly trying to keep his name among the king makers for his next tilt at the presidency in 2 years time. Well he should fuck right off and leave well enough alone. The new rules that he tried to steam roll through lost, now get over it and jog on. Players were, according to that most reliable of sources, the GPA, 80% against the new rules. But as Liam pointed out at the time, we donât listen to outsiders.
Anyhow, the league final Div 1 was a tremendous spectacle. Please god let there be more of it this summer. There wonât a problem with spectator apathy then. But Liam ainât happy coz there were too many hurls broken. Boo hoo.
Now another gombeen. Christy Cooney. Christy was on Sunday Sport with Jackie and Con. Now I thought that before this interview Christy was just a boring, conservative Cork cunt. Now I think he is a complete and utter fool with his head stuck in the sand. The occasion of his interview was to mark La na gClub. Christy was asked by Con about the serious and potentially crippling issue of delayed club câships over the summer months. Club players are becoming pissed off. What ya gonna do about it? Christy replied something about the SRC but he didnât know or didnât want to know. He just wanted to tell us all how great the GAA is. And all these great clubs and be jaysus 400,000 people out with their clubs today. Ok, so its la na gclub. What will we do for the day? Hmmm, first letâs ban club matches and take another Sunday out of the calender. Idiots. Oh but letâs not apply it to Kilkenny. No bother so.
Iâve tried to find the latest SRC publication on the Gaa website but canât - could be my lack of IT skills. I could do with a good laugh before I go to bed.
And recently he said (in the indo I think) that admission prices will stay the same for 09, and theyâll monitor the situation. Will you please drop the prices you gormless fools? Even a token gesture would show that you are living in the real world. People are broke and attendances are dropping off wildly. Look at the âsacredâ Munster hurling c ship, thousands of empty seats until the final. Fooking hell but sure who cares because Croker will be full in September.
Some lad on the Wexford Supporters site is saying that Banville may get off on a technicality as the referee mistakenly had the incident written down as happening in the Offaly v Antrim game.
âIt was frustrating knowing that I could have been playing, especially with the lads getting beaten by a point or two by Wexford when we should have beaten them out the gate the first day.â
Dublin must be the most arrogant shower of cnuts playing the game at the minute. From what I saw of that game the Dubs detroyed Wexico in the first half and completely shit themselves in the second period, so much so that it was basically Wexfordâs to lose at the end. The same bull shit from them in 07. Gifted 3 goals and still couldnât win it.
As an aside, Colm Keyes refers to young players like Liam Ryan in the article, who must be 30 by now. He also recently referred to David Franks as having not played in the league game between Wexico and Biffos in April in Wexico Park. If Keyes had bothered his fat hole to find out he wouldâve known that Franks tore his hamstring at the end of the game when all 5 goals had gone in.
Pedantic I know but all these cunts have to do all day is produce a couple of hundred words, they may as well get it accurate.
âIt was frustrating knowing that I could have been playing, especially with the lads getting beaten by a point or two by Wexford when we should have beaten them out the gate the first day.â
Dublin must be the most arrogant shower of cnuts playing the game at the minute. From what I saw of that game the Dubs detroyed Wexico in the first half and completely shit themselves in the second period, so much so that it was basically Wexfordâs to lose at the end. The same bull shit from them in 07. Gifted 3 goals and still couldnât win it.
As an aside, Colm Keyes refers to young players like Liam Ryan in the article, who must be 30 by now. He also recently referred to David Franks as having not played in the league game between Wexico and Biffos in April in Wexico Park. If Keyes had bothered his fat hole to find out he wouldâve known that Franks tore his hamstring at the end of the game when all 5 goals had gone in.
Pedantic I know but all these cunts have to do all day is produce a couple of hundred words, they may as well get it accurate.[/QUOTE]
the state of sports journalism is dire Appendage, and as you say, they have nothing to do all day but write up these reports, the least they can do is check their facts.
The Dublin point is certainly a valid one too. Wexford gave them a great chance of winning last year, and they couldnt do it. And as you say, the year before we gave away 3 soft goals and the game should have been out of sight when we were 7 or 8 up and rory clean thru on goal and was blatently pulled down for a penalty but wasnt given. Its time for Dublin to either shit or get off the pot, Iâm getting sick of hearing how they are the second best team in Leinster and how they will make the breakthru. With the standard Wexford and Offaly are at, they should be doing it or have done it already.
Ouch, unintentional and me slagging off C Keyes for his mistake. Oh the irony.
Yes, there is a lot of anger there. But there is a lot to get angry about.
The Dublin thing is gas, a couple of Leinster minor and U21 wins and theyâre all set for world domination. They have talked themselves into this mythical second best team in Leinster yet they have done nothing to prove it. And were it not for scoring difference they wouldâve been in Division 2 this year as well.
Stephen Banvilleâs retrospective red card has now been retrospectively downgraded to a retrospective yellow card in a retrospective manner. As a result, heâs free to line out against Offaly on Saturday week.