Wexford GAA 2012

Shore and Tierney were poor on the night but they are new to this level so it would be unfair to write them off completely. I don’t think they are ready to start a championship match but the experience they got during the league will help their development.

Corner back has been our main problem for years as we struggle to produce out and out defenders, players who are happy to just keep a corner forward quiet. We have had to play lads in the full back line who are more comfortable as wing backs. Their natural instinct is to go forward and, combined with our attacking wing backs, it means there is too much space in front of our goal. If it wasn’t for Graeme Molloy, who is our most important player, we would be in real trouble.

The other problem on Saturday night was the work rate of the forwards. Too many of them switch off when they lose possession and Longford were able to launch attacks from the back too easily in the first half. A lot of the first half scores came from them coming out of defence at pace.

Not sure about that O’Regan rumour but Ryan was giving him instructions with about 5 mins left and it looked like he was going to be brought on. I don’t know why there was a change of plan but it didn’t make much sense to bring on Conor Carthy in the last minute when we needed a goal.

minor footballers were well beaten by Carlow in the replay last night. truly awful viewing. really really poor showing in all aspects, from tactics to general play and ability.

Wexford hurlers have suffered a setback following the news that Tomas Waters could be sidelined for the year.

Waters missed all the national hurling league campaign after he had surgery on a hip injury and it was expected that he would return before the championship.

However, it has now been revealed that the St Martin’s clubman needs another operation on his other hip, which will see him miss out on the rest of the campaign.

The loss of Waters is a massive one to Wexford manager Liam Dunne as he prepares his side for the Leinster championship.

No it’s not, he’s shite.

Where’s that taken from Runt? He won’t be much of a loss to be fair as he’s more of a timber merchant than a hurler.

That’s unfair Mac, he’s more of a ‘frontal charge without the hurl’ merchant.

Always runs the risk of picking up a straight red.

Well that will save the county board money on hurls.

Fuckin hell, Liam O’Neill has gone way down in my estimation after reading this

Ex-chairman handed new role
03 May 2012
Former Wexford county board chairman Ger Doyle has been appointed on a high ranking committee by GAA President Liam O’Neill.

Doyle will form part of the National Presentation and Awards committee as a number of Wexford GAA officials were handed positions on the recently formed committees.

Such well known GAA personalities as Michael Martin, Sheamus Howlin, Derek Kent, Dickie Murphy, John Meyler and Majorie McDonald have all been appointed to positions.

Jobs for the boys. Surprised Mick Kinsella wasn’t picked either. Also, what in the name a jaysus is a National Presentation and Awards committee?

Like I said on another thread, 32 committees! :lol:

We can already write off the new President as a bit of a simpleton.

Not really bothered about that injury news.

“National Presentation and Awards committee”

The fact he was elected unopposed is more galling.

MINOR HURLING: Dublin 1-8 Wexford 0-8 at half time.

Is this knock-out now or what? Wexford were 7 down early on.

There should be a back door.

We beat Offaly in the last game and they’re still in it. Think there may not be another chance at this stage though.

Extra time to be played.

Dublin 1-13 Wexford 0-16 at full time.

Went ahead by 3 at one stage and they levelled. Went ahead again in last minute but they equalised in injury time.

Full Time (aet): Wexford 0-22 Dublin 1-17.

Bravo young team. :clap:

Congrats, some shock, highly rated Dublin team.

Semi-Final after the Leaving Cert. Don’t know who we’re playing. Any ideas lads?

After reviewing the absolutely shocking Leinster GAA fixtures page for this competition it would appear that the Duds are still in.

http://leinster.gaa…=10&compID=7385

Today was a quarter final of sorts with the winners going through to the semi finals and the losers having another go.

The website gives no indication of who we’ll be playing in the semi final although after yesterday’s embarrassing electronic media performance my confidence is badly shaken and I may have gotten this completely wrong.

Let us know what you think when you get back from mass Bando.

Half Time from Bellefield: Buffers Alley 0-12 Faythe Harriers 0-6. A big ask now for the aristocrats of Wexford hurling. Getting nothing out of the forwards. Richie Kehoe having a powerful game at centre back.